Have an "Extra Stiffy"-don't like the weight. - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Have an "Extra Stiffy"-don't like the weight.

Old 05-09-2009, 09:01 PM
Sttingcheese

Default Have an "Extra Stiffy"-don't like the weight.

I have an OMP "Extra Stiffy" epp-depron foam plane. I am not allowed to post a link yet but I'm sure you know where to find the plane at ohio model planes.

To me it seems to be very heavy while having too much lift (too little wing loading) at the same time. As a beginner I don't know if that makes much sense. It also feels unstable during my attempts at 3D. It does not have any forgiveness when it falls out of harriers, I think because of its weight. the rudder is not designed all that well and looses center during high speed loops. I think there is simply too much play in it. I am looking for a new ariframe to replace my Stiffy.

I was very excited by the Airfoilz 540 but after reading the manual decided the build is too complicated for me. I have little workspace and I am clumsy with glue. I have also looked at the Superzoom and Flash. They are both a little too pricy.

I would like an airframe that feels lighter than my stiffy but that will allow me to transfer my hardware to it. I have a Hacker A20-20L and x20 pro esc and have both 1350 3s and some 2100 3s packs.