Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

What LiPo for TwinStar II?

Old 07-16-2006, 06:15 AM
  #1  
Virgil Kee
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 84
Default What LiPo for TwinStar II?

Anyone have experience with LiPo's in the TwinStar II? I plan to use the stock motors (Multiplex 6V 400's, 8A max. current ea.). I'm stumped, since the Tower Hobby Tech Notes state that the model weighs 3.3 lbs! (53 oz.) Does this presume a Ni-MH batt. pack? Let me hear from the real world!

Recommendation?

Virg.
Virgil Kee is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 06:53 AM
  #2  
jdetray
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 330
Default

Hi Virg-

The Tower Hobby "Notes From Our Tech Department" for the Twin Star II says:
Battery: 7 or 8-cell flat

That certainly isn't a lipo configuration!

And besides, farther down the Twin Star II web page, Tower recommends two different NiMH packs for the plane.

So yes, the projected weight presumes a NiMH pack.

- Jeff
jdetray is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:33 AM
  #3  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default

My Twin Star is still on the shelf. I don't own a nicad/nmh battery so everything I have is lipo powered.
Probably a 3s1p2200, I know I will have to modify the battery area. That isn't my problem, I want landing gear so till I work that out it will sit on the shelf.

Look at these posts elsr where in the Wattflyer on the Twin Star II:

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...8514#post88514




>
ragbag is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:55 AM
  #4  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Default

I use Electrifly 7 cell flat 3000 Mah NiMh batteries. I put a 2 1/2 " foam block in front of the battery to maintain CG. You can expect 10-15 min flights on that.The neat thing is I also use 2 of these in series to power my Magister, so with 7 batteries I can fly both planes a long time .
jaywalker is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:38 AM
  #5  
stinkweed007
Super Contributor
 
stinkweed007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,160
Default

I used a 11.1v 1600 3c lipo.. kept off the throttle and it worked fine.. that was yesterday
stinkweed007 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 12:46 PM
  #6  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Talking Twinstar 2 Lipos

I use a 2S lipo 4230 Mah Flight Power. I think the 3 cell will shorten the motor life. Also I put in Speed 480 motors and 7X4 props. It will carry 10 oz of camera /xmtr gear very well. I had to add a small lipo for the camera because I was getting horizontal lines on the FPV googles. Hope this helps.
jaywalker is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 09:36 PM
  #7  
Aero Ace Ace
Member
 
Aero Ace Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 182
Default

If you plan on using the stock motors, then avoid using a 3s lipo. A 2s lipo has a little less voltage than a 7 cell, so you might want to try upgrading the props to get a little more thrust.
Aero Ace Ace is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 12:39 AM
  #8  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Default

One reason I fly the TS2 is the abililtiy to land on grass without breaking props. It does a good job hauling cameras etc. I saw a thread on Multiplex "Movie Star" looked like what I need to carry heavier weight but it's been discontinued. I wonder if any other plane would have the cargo space it does ?
Thanks for any info.
jaywalker is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 01:36 AM
  #9  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

3s is fine - if you keep the amps down to 9-10 or so (for decent life). A 2s is about like 6.5 NiMh Cells, so that will work with the stock props well too. Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 12:46 AM
  #10  
everydayflyer
Southern Pride
 
everydayflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 717
Default

Not LiPolys but........................

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5934960/tm.htm
everydayflyer is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:54 PM
  #11  
supi7
TrueRC.com
 
supi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CHI
Posts: 155
Default

2S lipos will be much better power than Nimh can provide. the Voltage under load will be higher then Nimh so it does not matter that 8cell Nimh has higher Voltage. under load it sags lower then the lipo.

2S 3200mAh or 4000mAh pack should run really well. also 2x 2100mAh packs in parallel will do the trick.


Also as everydayflyer suggests LiFePO4 cells would be great and a 3 cell pack would power really nicely.

Dan
TrueRC
supi7 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 04:30 AM
  #12  
Mike Freas
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kaeohe Bay Hawaii
Posts: 989
Default

Hey guys.

I'm thinking about throwing one of these together for MWE this weekend. Plan was to save money off the batt and use the stock motors on a 3s. I know those little 400's don't like 12 volts but I'm not all that worried about long life with them and plan on going brushless in the future. I wanted to know how many amps they pull with the stock props so I know what ESC I need to get. Thanks.
Mike Freas is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 04:52 AM
  #13  
Kosh
Super Contributor
 
Kosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bothell, Washington (by Seattle)
Posts: 3,445
Default

A single 30 amp ESC will cover both motor and I have tested it on mine a few times with 3 cell packs.
Kosh is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 01:58 PM
  #14  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Default

I am using 2S Lipo "Flight Power" and 35 ESC (I can program either type battery in 10 seconds in the field) with 2 Speed 480 7,2V motors. It carrys a lot of camera weight and I get long flights. You can also alternate with the 7 Cell NiMh . I use 7X4 e props and they really move. I'm guessing 60 MPH plus.I converted mine to 7 chn FASST receivers and mix Rudder and Aileron for smooth camera flights. Really a great plane 40 flights no crashes -------Yet !!!!!
jaywalker is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 03:56 PM
  #15  
jaywalker
Sarge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern New Mexico
Posts: 51
Default

That's a 4270 mah lipo.
jaywalker is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:59 AM
  #16  
Smiky
I'd rather be flying...
 
Smiky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Default

I have a 10 year old Twinstar Mk1 and fly it on a 3s A123 pack. It's lighter than the old 2000mAh 8.4V Nicad's I used to have in it and a lot more power!
Smiky is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Aero Ace Ace
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
0
03-27-2008 12:16 AM
sdavismil2000
ParkFlyers
3
03-02-2008 11:22 PM
peterpont
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
0
01-25-2008 10:40 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: What LiPo for TwinStar II?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09894 seconds with 13 queries