WWI Era Discuss all your favorite WWI warbirds here!

great planes fokker

Old 01-11-2009, 05:26 PM
  #1  
builts10
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Question great planes fokker

has anyone ever put a different motor in electrifly's fokker dvII or the dr1. i honestly dont want to spend the money on great planes outrageously priced electronics. does anyone has some suggestions for a motor mount for a alternative motor. great planes has that 3 screw brushless mount but its funny everyone else has a 4 screw mount, seems to me thats where great planes puts you in a corner and it kind of ticks me off. dont they understand not everyone swears by electrifly.
builts10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 05:41 PM
  #2  
dogsheep
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Default

It's easy to make a triangle to fit, with holes for a regular motor. The axi 2212/26 is perfect.
dogsheep is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 05:49 PM
  #3  
powerlines
I AM NO SHOES!!!
 
powerlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mid GA
Posts: 359
Default

LOL.. Or just send the motor to Micro Dan @ gobrushless.com and let him sup it up for yous.... LOL.. That is what I do..
powerlines is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 05:50 PM
  #4  
powerlines
I AM NO SHOES!!!
 
powerlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mid GA
Posts: 359
Default

PLus.. Getting a better battery also gives you way more power... Unless you already have good batteries..
powerlines is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 07:10 PM
  #5  
C130 Load
Member
 
C130 Load's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Formerly Chicago,Now Huntley,Il
Posts: 329
Default

Jeff at HeadsUp could most likely help you also. He sure did for me and others here who told me about him when I was looking for recommendations. He answers e-mail's very quickly.
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/Service
C130 Load is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 09:24 PM
  #6  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

I put a cheap 2410-8y in the GP SE5A. Made a piece of plywood to fit the motor mount and glued that in the plane.
degreen60 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 01:34 PM
  #7  
Percyflyer
Sir Percy
 
Percyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Noblesville, Indiana
Posts: 81
Default alternative motor

You can not use the spider mount that comes with the motor. A new mount comes with the kit. You can drill a 4 hole pattern in the mount that matches your motor, and use any motor. BUT, the motor you chose must be able to run in the reverse mount direction, a lot of motors can't.
There is not enough depth between the firewall and cowl to mount most motors, so be careful in your choice.
Percyflyer is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 01:57 PM
  #8  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

Here is the motor, ESC, and prop I used on my GP SE5A. Cost under $20.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=4857
degreen60 is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 07:13 PM
  #9  
WWI Propnut
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Sir Percy, you are not allowed to give advise, you know this. You are afterall, mearly the comic releif

Here is what I did for thier Fokker DVII, I made a spider shaped motor mount out of 1/8th inch ply, bolted that to the back of my budget (read cheap here) chinese motor and installed four #6 blind nuts on the outer tips. I then used thier spacers and my #6 bolts to mount the engine. This worked exactly right for me. You might need a slightly shorter set of spacers (just cut thiers down) if you have a longer motor housing.

Steve, dont make me warn you again. (ROFL)
WWI Propnut is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:13 PM
  #10  
Percyflyer
Sir Percy
 
Percyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Noblesville, Indiana
Posts: 81
Default

Jeeezzz, I can't hide anywhere!!!!!!!
Percyflyer is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:54 PM
  #11  
dogsheep
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Default

I love the title of this thread-it reminds me of the old joke-that's some Fokker, that Messersmidt!
dogsheep is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:14 PM
  #12  
WWI Ace
triplane test pilot
 
WWI Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 1,600
Default

I bit the bullet and put the little Ammo motor in mine. Flies great!!! Steve
WWI Ace is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 10:18 PM
  #13  
brutus251
"nin caca da manga"
 
brutus251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 135
Default

I just rebuilt my DV11 after a nasty crash and put one of the 28 series motors from Heads Up in it and it flies great. I got the ESC and motor from them for less than the cost of the rimfire motor alone. Jeff is super to deal with and he stands by his products. B
brutus251 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 10:58 PM
  #14  
WWI Ace
triplane test pilot
 
WWI Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 1,600
Default

I flew mine for the first time yesterday with my overpriced Rimfire and it flew great. I really like this little airplane!! Steve
WWI Ace is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 02:37 PM
  #15  
brutus251
"nin caca da manga"
 
brutus251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 135
Default

WWi Ace, youre right that Rimfire motor is great,I have it in my DR1, and my SPAD. Im building the SE 5a now and Im going with another 28 series motor from Heads Up, cash is tight so every little bit helps. B
brutus251 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 02:47 PM
  #16  
brutus251
"nin caca da manga"
 
brutus251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 135
Default

One more thing I forgot, contact Scott at Airland Hobbies,he sells the motor adaptor for the motor. B
brutus251 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 03:40 PM
  #17  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

Originally Posted by brutus251 View Post
Im building the SE 5a now and Im going with another 28 series motor from Heads Up, cash is tight so every little bit helps. B
I have a 2410-8 motor in my SE5A that I got from HobbyCity for $6.95 plus shipping. It will fly on half throtle with 3s lipo and a 9x6 prop. On full throtle it climbs great. I got a 30 amp ESC from Dealextream for under $11.00, free shipping. The second one I received from them was defective, I emailed them, they sent a replacement and told me to keep the defective one too.
degreen60 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Flyer 1
ParkFlyers
41
11-13-2011 04:15 PM
diverdon
Beginners
10
08-07-2008 04:52 AM
pox67
WWI Era
11
02-29-2008 01:52 PM
Cheese_Puddin
Ebay for sale
0
10-21-2007 07:22 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: great planes fokker


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09808 seconds with 13 queries