General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Spruce Goose Foamie scratch build

Old 09-11-2014, 01:15 AM
MononkBen

Default Spruce Goose Foamie scratch build

OK... This is a crazy idea from a 54 years old RC newbie... Building a 60 inches wingspan RC Spruce Goose foamie from insulation foam purchased at Home-Depot...

I have zero experience in RC building, but I am am a professional electrical engineer... So this is just an engineering mid-life crisis... I should survive this without a divorce...

Somebody suggested that I start a build post, and I think this can be fun... So I will share my learning curve and discoveries, good and bad...

This will be a long project. The model should be almost scale (as much as technically possible), but it may not be a display chef-d'oeuvre.. We shall see...

Right now, I have watched a lot of youtube videos, I read a lot on RC, I have a pair of nice hot wire cut wings, ready to cover with paper, and I am figuring out the motor KVH/Prop/voltage/amp/watt/trust... more to come shortly!

I foresee a long journey... :-)

Last edited by MononkBen; 09-13-2014 at 07:05 AM.
Old 09-11-2014, 01:36 AM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

Brace the wing with a good strong Spar, wood, CF, or it wont be strong enough, a Tapered I Beam made with bass wood will be good and strong, epoxy it in place, a slow stick fuselage will work too, or a square piece of square aluminum tube at least 40" long.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-GWS-Slow...p2054897.l4275
Old 09-11-2014, 02:53 AM
Brner
AMA16634

Subscribed.....good luck with your build...please keep us posted and don't be afraid to ask questions.....
Old 09-11-2014, 02:56 AM
MononkBen

here we go... first, the plan I am using is one everybody interested in the Spruce Goose have seen... I expanded this to the right size using a "photo to poster" web application... Print and put pieces together to have a scale size template.