Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

EC3 Connectors + 12AWG wire

Old 03-13-2009, 07:39 AM
  #1  
DKNguyen
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 164
Default EC3 Connectors + 12AWG wire

Can anyone tell me if 12AWG wire will properly fit into EC3 connectors? I only see premade assemblies with them that are 13AWG at most. I'm kind of curious why such a strange wire gauge (odd), since most wire gauges are even (ie. 26, 24, 16, 12, 10, 8)
DKNguyen is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:22 PM
  #2  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

I managed to fit 10AWG in an EC3. It was NOT easy. 12AWG is probably possible but have a BIG soldering iron with a big wedge type tip.

Here's a thread on my pain:
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...ight=EC3+Rhino

Also, I really like the knockoff EC3's better than the E-flite EC3's the knockoffs are made of a softer plastic that make it easier to get the bullets in.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=7182
constantCrash is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:27 PM
  #3  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Knock off EC3's?? Good god.

Oh, yes 12GA wire will fit. Be sure to tin both the plugs and the wire to aid in finishing the connection.

I use a Weller soldering station that makes 50W of heat and have had no problems soldering this sort of setup.

I too have done 10GA. Loads of fun. (NOT)

Twmaster is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:32 PM
  #4  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

I'm placing an order for 20 of these. I like Deans, but hate taking them apart. Figure I'll start with 20 (at $1 each, can't resist that) and go from there.
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:41 PM
  #5  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

The real ones are less than $3 a set. I just got my order of 3 sets in from Atlanta Hobby.

Dean's are good connectors but too much work IMHO. No mucking with shrink wrap and simple assembly. I'm changing all my connectors on higher power setups to EC3.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:47 PM
  #6  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
The real ones are less than $3 a set. I just got my order of 3 sets in from Atlanta Hobby.

Dean's are good connectors but too much work IMHO. No mucking with shrink wrap and simple assembly. I'm changing all my connectors on higher power setups to EC3.
Yeah, but you make the big bucks!
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:55 PM
  #7  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

I like the knockoffs better because of the softer plastic. They have a better feel to them. It also doesn't hurt that they are 50 cents per set (HC sells them $1 / pair which when i purchased 10 of them, i ended up with 20 sets of male/female. (this might have been a mistake on their part but for the moment I don't have to worry about connectors.) They are cheap enough that I can use them throwaway. at $3.00 a set i wouldn't do that as i'm not rich.

Sometimes name brand is just a name.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:56 AM
  #8  
DKNguyen
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 164
Default

THe thing that amazes me about Dean's is how the designers expect to solder a wire to a flat solid tab and have it hold.

THe reason I askis because I have a couple 100 foot rolls of 12AWG wire lying around and the my Spektrum RX has EC3s on it. I'm going to use EC5s for the motor driver and power systems, but I was just wondering if I was going to have to chop off the EC3s and replace em.
DKNguyen is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 01:07 AM
  #9  
nzreg
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I like using the EC3 and EC5, but, they are a pain to disconnect. That is until I came up with the idea of using a tapered piece of plastic that slips between the connectors and gently pushes them apart.
nzreg is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 01:49 AM
  #10  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

You can get Bullet or MP Jet Gold Connectors up to 4mm (these will take 120A, and some others to 6mm presumably can cope with more) - a piece of cake to solder these!
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
John-NYC
Batteries & Chargers
4
09-12-2008 04:40 AM
SJB
Power Systems
5
08-23-2008 07:01 PM
diverdon
Power Systems
5
07-15-2008 02:57 PM
PerlAddict
Batteries & Chargers
27
03-22-2008 05:53 AM
cloud-9
Foamies
17
12-31-2007 10:39 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: EC3 Connectors + 12AWG wire


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12873 seconds with 12 queries