RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Which manufacturers make 2.4ghz (Spektrum) radios?

Old 04-19-2008, 04:05 AM
  #1  
d&mrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
d&mrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: southern ca
Posts: 459
Default Which manufacturers make 2.4ghz (Spektrum) radios?

I am trying to find the best deal I can on one of these radios, so I need more options. Thanks in advance.
d&mrc is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 04:11 AM
  #2  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,753
Default

Spektrum
JR
Futaba
Airtronics

That I am aware of.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 04:38 AM
  #3  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

But Spektrum is the best!
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 04:58 AM
  #4  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,753
Default

I agree... But only because I have 4 of them, 2 6's and 2 7's.:o
firemanbill is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:31 AM
  #5  
d&mrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
d&mrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: southern ca
Posts: 459
Default

what do you need that many radios for!
d&mrc is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:34 AM
  #6  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,753
Default

Well I count my boys stuff too I guess. We each had a 6 and when I got my big Waco I got a 7 for it. Found a deal on another used 7 so I got it for my boy to move up to as well.

One of these days I'll get around to selling the 6's, don't need them anymore.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:43 AM
  #7  
idealhobbies
Super Contributor
 
idealhobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milford, Delaware
Posts: 1,564
Default

Bill, you ever do let go of your DX6's let me know. I'll need one for my son in the future.
idealhobbies is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 04:23 PM
  #8  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,753
Default

I will bud.

We are probably going to clear out some stuff after we get back from SEFF. Just have not had the time to reprogram the old stuff into the new radios to retire them yet.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:25 PM
  #9  
d&mrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
d&mrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: southern ca
Posts: 459
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Well I count my boys stuff too I guess. We each had a 6 and when I got my big Waco I got a 7 for it. Found a deal on another used 7 so I got it for my boy to move up to as well.

One of these days I'll get around to selling the 6's, don't need them anymore.
I may just want one of those when you do sell them.
d&mrc is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 06:08 PM
  #10  
Sparky Paul
Super Contributor
 
Sparky Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,116
Default

Some of the toy helicopters are arriving with 2.4 stuff.
Walkera, for one, but the usual Walkera stuff is so lacking in quality I'd not expect much from it.
Sparky Paul is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 07:03 PM
  #11  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Spektrum
JR
Futaba
Airtronics

That I am aware of.
You can add: xtremepowersystems to the list.
simibill is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 07:22 PM
  #12  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

an Assan (chinese from hobbycity)
constantCrash is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 08:52 PM
  #13  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,753
Default

Originally Posted by simibill View Post
You can add: xtremepowersystems to the list.

Do they make actual radios or just the modules for existing radios?
firemanbill is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:12 PM
  #14  
CyberPilot
Family's newest pilots
 
CyberPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yorba Linda CA
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Do they make actual radios or just the modules for existing radios?

Just modules currently but the rumor is that they are working on manufacturing their own radios as well.

On the list above, if you count JR & Specktrum as 2 then you may want to add IFS to the list as well. Graupner licensed XPS in Europe.

Dave
CyberPilot is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 05:04 PM
  #15  
electrictomato
Singapore is NOT in China
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 17
Default

Originally Posted by simibill View Post
You can add: xtremepowersystems to the list.

XPS works on existing radios, i.e. they are modules to futaba, jr, mpx, etc....

btw mpx also coming up with 2.4!
electrictomato is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:43 AM
  #16  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

d&mrc
Just a note of caution here. From what I can find out on the Internet, Spektrum/JR produced the majority of the radios out there. Next is Futaba. My equipment is all Spektrum. Both DX7 transmitters (One is a spare) and all 5 receivers have been flawless. One even went through a crash of a very unstable model, the radio came through without a scratch.

Before buying into any other radio brands, especially if you are going to be flying expensive models, run a search for problems on the other radio manufacturers. Could save you some grief.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 06:01 AM
  #17  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

I trust my Airtronics more than my Spektrum.

I have never had a problem with either, but with Airtronics working down to 3v on the receiver, your servo's will go dead before you lose signal.
TDisaster is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 03:23 PM
  #18  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

I like the look of the Airtronics system (LCD on top) but they only offer 1 receiver (8 channel) and it's $99.00.

Spektrum and Assan have the best selection of receivers right now. If i wasn't already on Spektrum I'd seriously look into Assan as I don't fly any really expensive planes and probably never will, so I hate paying $70 per receiver. But then again horizon's warrenty and service is unparalleled. ugh choices.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:11 PM
  #19  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Originally Posted by constantCrash View Post
I like the look of the Airtronics system (LCD on top) but they only offer 1 receiver (8 channel) and it's $99.00.

Spektrum and Assan have the best selection of receivers right now. If i wasn't already on Spektrum I'd seriously look into Assan as I don't fly any really expensive planes and probably never will, so I hate paying $70 per receiver. But then again horizon's warrenty and service is unparalleled. ugh choices.
They have 3 right now.
A 7ch for 70$
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/468520.asp

An 8ch for 90$
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/468524.asp

And a 10ch for 160$
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/468534.asp

Prices are comparable to Spektrum. Word is they are coming out with smaller receivers, and they shouldbe in the 50$ range.
TDisaster is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:15 PM
  #20  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

I'm still patently waiting for spektrum to come out with a 4-5 channel ultralight reciever (like the AR6300) that works on 1s. The AR6400 almost does it, but they put the servos on it which doesn't work when you want to build a micro heli.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:23 PM
  #21  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

I've checked my 5 Spectrum receivers, they all quit around 3.2 VDC on my variable power supply. (Yours may vary )
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:55 PM
  #22  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

Yes, the quit at ~3.2 but they won't boot up (as i understand it) until 5 volt is given. Can you test this for me?
constantCrash is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 06:30 PM
  #23  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

ConstantCrash
Yes, the quit at ~3.2 but they won't boot up (as i understand it) until 5 volt is given. Can you test this for me?

Boy, it's nice to be retired!

Note that ALL of my Spektrum receivers were sent in to Horizon Hobby to have the latest software installed in December 2008. All I paid for was shipping to Horizon, they prepaid the receivers return shipment back to my house.

I took one of my updated Spektrum AR7000 receivers, and connected it to my variable power supply. Voltage was measured with a Fluke 87V multimeter (accuracy +/- 0.05%)

The receiver shut down at 3.134 VDC. At this point, the receiver "LED" started flashing, indicating that its input voltage had sagged below the safe limit. And, when the voltage was increased above 3.134 VDC, the receiver immediately re-booted it self with no noticeable delay.

Note that Spectrums receiver software programming has been updated to continuously flash, if it ever has its input voltage drop below 3.2 VDC requiring a re-boot. The receiver works normally, just the LED has been programmed to flash. Both the receiver and transmitter must be shut off and turned back on to clear the flashing LED.

Next, I switched off the power to the receiver, and increased the DC voltage on my power supply to 3.19 VDC. When the receiver was switched back on, it immediately "connected" by indicating a solid LED indication. And, all servo's worked properly at 3.19 VDC. I repeated this test about 10 times, it connected properly every time at 3.19 VDC.

FYI, the servos are all Hitec HS425BB units. These servos are really sluggish at 3.19 VDC! If you are running your receiver on a four cell NiHyd pack, and it has dropped to 3.19 VDC, that receiver battery is either to small or its DEAD DEAD DEAD!

Note that this is based on a sample of one Spectrum receiver, others could vary a little bit. (My old work history of 44 years as a senior electronics technician kicks in here. )

Hope this helps!
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:13 PM
  #24  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Ahh ok. That's good to hear. Thanks for taking the time to post that.

I've never flown on that low voltage, nor intend to, so I should be fine.

Nice to know I have two solid systems .
TDisaster is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 09:48 PM
  #25  
KeninAZ
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 558
Default

Originally Posted by d&mrc View Post
what do you need that many radios for!
Haven't you heard that the guy (or gal~let's be politically correct here) that dies with the most toys wins!
KeninAZ is offline  

Quick Reply: Which manufacturers make 2.4ghz (Spektrum) radios?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14626 seconds with 12 queries