General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Safe Select Will Not Turn On

Old 04-11-2019, 07:27 PM
  #1  
garyp1029
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 184
Default Safe Select Will Not Turn On

I have a Conscendo with Safe Select (SS). The stock AR636A binded to my old DX6i and the SS worked with no problems. I recently bought a new DX6 and find that the Conscendo will bind to it BUT the SS does not work---that is, after binding with SS ON the control surfaces all function, but they do not move when the plane is rotated or tilted to test the system. When binding with SS ON I get the 3 flat tones, but not the 2 ascending tones. I have talked and worked extensively with HH. They sent a new, but DIFFERENT, receiver---an AR636 (not the original AR636A), and I CAREFULLY installed it, but the problem persists. They say the problem can't be the DX6 or the ESC, so they want the plane returned for analysis (the box no longer exists). I have even tried binding to my old DX6i (with which SS originally worked), and SS doesn't work with it!!! Does anyone have a suggestion which might solve this problem??? Thanks. Gary
garyp1029 is offline  
Old 04-12-2019, 01:09 AM
  #2  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,854
Default

If the problem has persists after changing both the TX and the Rx then by deduction there must be something wrong with the ESC. The different tones are suspicious.
My suggestion would be to test it using another ESC. It could be a small one as you are only testing Rx and servos..
quorneng is offline  
Old 04-12-2019, 08:38 PM
  #3  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 2,027
Default

Hook up the Rx with a simple battery instead of the ESC, that way you bypass all the possible problems with it.
I usually setup a plane with a battery, so that I have a stable voltage and can,'t have any problems with a prop.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 08-06-2019, 03:43 PM
  #4  
c.sitas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 54
Default

Wild, That's a very good safety tip. Could really save some finger from nicks.We tend to live in a careless world.
c.sitas is offline  
Old 08-06-2019, 10:04 PM
  #5  
xSOSxHawkens
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Default

You have to manually re-bind the safe selection switch each time you re-bind to a new controller.

If the plane cant determine which switch to use it will turn on Safe by default, but it *only* works once the planes motor is armed. If when powered on you are getting two sets of control waggles then SAFE is on, and if you turn the motor on for a second then back off you should see the surfaces work right when tilted.

If you only have a single set of waggles then you have likely bound in the Non-Safe mode and have safe turned off. Check the manual and re-bind in Safe enabled.

If you know you are on SAFE enabled, then check the instructions and there should be some that involve holding the sticks specially and then flipping the safe select switch 5 times to bind it to that specific switch on the controller.
xSOSxHawkens is offline  
Old 08-09-2019, 09:08 PM
  #6  
Ray10
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Default I agree

Originally Posted by xSOSxHawkens View Post
You have to manually re-bind the safe selection switch each time you re-bind to a new controller.

If the plane cant determine which switch to use it will turn on Safe by default, but it *only* works once the planes motor is armed. If when powered on you are getting two sets of control waggles then SAFE is on, and if you turn the motor on for a second then back off you should see the surfaces work right when tilted.

If you only have a single set of waggles then you have likely bound in the Non-Safe mode and have safe turned off. Check the manual and re-bind in Safe enabled.

If you know you are on SAFE enabled, then check the instructions and there should be some that involve holding the sticks specially and then flipping the safe select switch 5 times to bind it to that specific switch on the controller.
Yes, with the plane bound to the DX6, hold both sticks to the inside bottom, while holding, turn the switch you wish to use on and off 5 times. Beware the props! If successful the plane will waggle a bit. Repeat to change to a different switch, or if that switch did not work.
Ray10 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
confuqua
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
02-14-2019 08:04 PM
Rolling Thunder
Informal Clubs
2931
07-30-2017 06:27 AM
AEAJR
General Electric Discussions
273
01-09-2017 03:23 AM
dereckbc
General Electric Discussions
1
07-20-2013 11:14 PM
schusterjo
General Electric Discussions
0
10-09-2011 04:25 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Safe Select Will Not Turn On


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09092 seconds with 12 queries