Delta & Flying Wings Discuss electric powered delta (flying wing) style aircraft here.

Starting a FPV Flying Wing Racing Club

Old 04-20-2018, 02:30 PM
ThisIsYourKaptainSpeaking

Default Starting a FPV Flying Wing Racing Club

Hi everyone! This is my first post so let me make a quick introduction. I am a middle school student, turning 12 years old this year, and I am nearing the end of 6th grade and moving into 7th. I am planning to start a FPV Flying Wing Racing Club at my school next year, since I think that my school is REALLY lacking a model aviation club. I am currently in the process of racecourse design, since even though our school has a huge field, a lot of it is used for our varsity and junior varsity sports teams. So I have a pretty small chunk of field for my racecourse, and so it's a bit of a challenge to design. I am thinking of employing a "Le Mans" launch system, where the wings are set up on a aerotow, then the pilots run over to their wings and hit release, sending their wings skyward and racing. As for the racing craft themselves, I am thinking of making them a box rule, with some freedom for wing geometry, aerofoil shape, etc. As for power systems, 11.1V LiPos batteries, powering 70mm EDF fans. (EDF fans because otherwise my school principal would be worried of kids cutting their hands on running propellers during a launch, and surely my club would be shut down.) The race wings must be built with one of these three materials; Balsa Wood, Foam Board, and EPP Foam. However, I have no experience designing aircraft with these materials, my only experience with them being balsa kits and Flite Test kits. Help! Grazie Ragazzie! (If you get who says "Grazie Ragazzie" that you get ten points) Hint: It involves racing
Old 04-20-2018, 06:24 PM
formontoya

thanks guys...Vettle.