Support & Suggestions If you need tech support post your question here or site suggestions too.

non related ads showing up on pages?

Old 07-28-2016, 02:17 PM
  #1  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
Thread Starter
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Question non related ads showing up on pages?

Even though the Bad Idea T-shirt girl is pleasing to look at, what's with the ads now taking over the right side of the screen and even worse in the middle of posts?

I cleared my cachet, even have an add blocker. Don't see the same on RCU or RCG.

Thanks,
Brad
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 07:12 PM
  #2  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

I'm getting Google ad choices in the middle of the page.
dahawk is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 07:41 PM
  #3  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

I've had to stop using my adblocker ... it kept throwing out my login when changing pages.

But lately - I am not seeing the ads INSIDE posts like before ... only occasionally ..

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 10:05 PM
  #4  
tr4252
Member
 
tr4252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 350
Default

I looked at this thread before I signed in Nigel, and there was an ad for Gretsch guitars in the middle of your post above. So I signed in to write a comment, and the ad was gone.

edit; whoops! there's a different ad there now.

Tom
tr4252 is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 02:58 AM
  #5  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,002
Default

I'm using adblocker plus and don't see any ads. Am passing a link to the thread to the IB folks.
Don
Don Sims is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 04:04 AM
  #6  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 2,026
Default

This is the same thing as my post back in Feb.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77102

These ads are really annoying but maybe they help pay for our website costs.

Years ago, a friend had a website, if you went to his site and then clicked on an ad, he would receive 5 or 10 cents, even if you closed the ad immediately. Made him $20-$50 per month
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 08:11 AM
  #7  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Funny thing is - my Win 7 and android tablet do not show the ads inside posts. Only my win 10 machines.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 04:33 PM
  #8  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Nigel,

Interesting observation. I just switched to Win 10 from Win 7 and the sure enough, ads start appearing in posts.

Whatever Win 7 had, they need to put in in Win 10- LOL
dahawk is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 05:06 PM
  #9  
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 2,316
Default

Here's a few links where this issue was discussed "Ad Nauseum"........:

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77082

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76654

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77102

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76344

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76286

Last edited by pizzano; 07-29-2016 at 05:21 PM.
pizzano is offline  
Old 07-29-2016, 06:53 PM
  #10  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

I consider that it will continue 'ad nauseam' until its resolved.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-30-2016, 05:23 PM
  #11  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
Thread Starter
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Oh well, I guess deal with it till it gets corrected.

Nigel, I'm looking at an ad for the Ghost Drone, smack in the middle of your post above.
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 07-30-2016, 05:31 PM
  #12  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Oh NO !! since posting - I now have another horror.

A few times when clicking on a thread link - I've been taken to AliExpress !!

Please Mods ... anything but that PLEASE !!

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 12:50 AM
  #13  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,002
Default

Sorry Nigel, we have no control over what IB does.Wish we could control the ads to banners only like Mark had.
Don Sims is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 01:26 AM
  #14  
tobydogs
love to build!
 
tobydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj usa
Posts: 3,692
Default

I'm getting off easy these day's.....I can read a whole page on any thread and not see any adds until I read the last post of the page. on the post before mine was an add for "Tile" locator devices. All the adds I get target recent searches I'v made. Mostly hobby.
tobydogs is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 06:58 AM
  #15  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Its funny that me tablet doesn't do it. It uses android.

My problem is only basically on Win10.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 06:30 PM
  #16  
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 2,316
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
Its funny that me tablet doesn't do it. It uses android.

My problem is only basically on Win10.

Nigel

When you say "It uses android"......you're referring to it's OS.......(either 4.0 to 4.3 Jelly Bean systems. Newer android's use 4.4 to 5.0 Ginger Bread systems)......not it's web browser software system!

"Traditionally, most Android components have been baked in at the operating system level. This includes the built-in web browser, named “Browser.” Importantly, the Browser itself and the underlying rendering engine are built into the operating system. The browser engine is used in every Android app that uses an embedded web browser, known as a “WebView.”............
"This built-in browser is based on an old version of WebKit, and a serious flaw was recently discovered in it and reported to Google. Google has no way of providing an update directly to Android users to fix this problem. It has to be fixed through an operating system update, which requires device manufacturers and carriers do the work".

"many newer Android devices have shipped with Google Chrome, and users are safe while using Chrome on those devices — but, not while using other apps with embedded web browsers".
The above information was abstracted from both the LG and Samsung tech support websites.........You'll find similar information on nearly all "android" hand held device OS tech sites.
Therefore, most android phone, tablet systems are using some type of Goggle tool, unless the owner has switched to a system like Mozilla Firefox, ect.........but security updates (ie. web browsing malware, add-ware, privacy intrusion applications), for all similar devices are becoming less and less available to the consumers due to the Goggle/Windows dominance to control the advertising and marketing data collection and distribution
pizzano is offline  
Old 07-31-2016, 07:27 PM
  #17  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Your point being ?

My point being that my Android Tablet does not have this advert problem. But my Win 10 machine does.

I do not use Chrome anywhere - I don't like it.

My Tablet uses the built in Browser as part of Android 4.4.

So your point is ?

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 11:32 PM
  #18  
IBobi
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 49
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
Oh NO !! since posting - I now have another horror.

A few times when clicking on a thread link - I've been taken to AliExpress !!

Please Mods ... anything but that PLEASE !!

Nigel
If you have an issue with a particular link going somewhere it shouldn't, it would help a lot to post that thread in here so I can go look.

As to the non relevant ads and the ads in post #1, that's the normal sway of things here.

Again, if there is a particular ad you have an issue with, please post a link and/or screen shot of the whole page and I'll see if I can fix it.
IBobi is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 04:15 AM
  #19  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

I'm now getting vid in the middle of the page:

http://nym1-ib.adnxs.com/click?Urgeh...www.lysol.com/

I agree with Nigel. When I recently upgraded to Win 10 ( big mistake) I started getting these google ads on the pages. But it's only Wattflyer . Doesn't happen anywhere else.
dahawk is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 09:16 AM
  #20  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
If you have an issue with a particular link going somewhere it shouldn't, it would help a lot to post that thread in here so I can go look.

As to the non relevant ads and the ads in post #1, that's the normal sway of things here.

Again, if there is a particular ad you have an issue with, please post a link and/or screen shot of the whole page and I'll see if I can fix it.
I normally use the New posts link and when clicking on the last post icon - occasionally it takes me to AliExpress page.
There's no link to show.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 01:02 PM
  #21  
pd1
Still Learning
 
pd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 4,098
Default

deleted

Last edited by pd1; 08-05-2016 at 03:31 AM.
pd1 is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 01:16 PM
  #22  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Originally Posted by pd1 View Post
I have windows 10 and I haven't seen an ad yet, I also have adblock plus.
Free download:
https://adblockplus.org/
mmm I will look at that - because AdFender keeps logging me OUT of Wattflyer.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 01:17 PM
  #23  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

pd,

I went to that site and it says that ABP is available for Microsoft Edge in beta. How did you get it? I downloaded it for IE but I don't think its doing anything
dahawk is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 02:03 PM
  #24  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Adblock Plus ... tells me I cannot have for MS Edge yet ... so I assume you are using IE ?

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-04-2016, 02:04 PM
  #25  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,311
Default

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
pd,

I went to that site and it says that ABP is available for Microsoft Edge in beta. How did you get it? I downloaded it for IE but I don't think its doing anything
I have same problem .. Beta but no download button ... just tells me to wait for MS Edge version later.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  

Quick Reply: non related ads showing up on pages?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14552 seconds with 9 queries