Night Flying Discuss night time aircraft illumination, methods and equipment.

LED STrobe

Old 07-09-2011, 06:52 PM
  #1  
Davethebluessinger
Child of the 60s
Thread Starter
 
Davethebluessinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rugeley, Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 1,080
Default LED STrobe

Just been for a spin on my motorbike and came across this in my local Maplins.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92iEGwNQvb0[/media]It's designed for auto styling use so is 12V but it will run (slower and dimmer ) on 7.4v

Weight is round 5g without wire, the LED is encapsulated in resin so it should be robust!

I've been wanting to fit a strobe on my Swift II Delta wing, so at 8 in wire and screws this seemed OK!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC11698.JPG
Views:	498
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	150589  
Davethebluessinger is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 07:20 PM
  #2  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default

What a great find!! Looking right now to see if I can buy it in USA. I can only find links in the UK. Bright as the Sun! Thanks

have a good one
cr

Found one pretty similar .....

http://www.amazon.com/CIPA-93187-Int...232347&sr=8-26

only one left now!!
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 10:36 PM
  #3  
Davethebluessinger
Child of the 60s
Thread Starter
 
Davethebluessinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rugeley, Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 1,080
Default

They look ideal CR!
Good price for 4 too, there are circuit diagrams on the net to build these LED strobes but sometimes it's better just to buy ready made

Can't wait to get it installed onthe Swift II, might give it a try tomorrow night!
Davethebluessinger is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 10:40 PM
  #4  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default

Originally Posted by Davethebluessinger View Post
They look ideal CR!
Good price for 4 too, there are circuit diagrams on the net to build these LED strobes but sometimes it's better just to buy ready made

Can't wait to get it installed onthe Swift II, might give it a try tomorrow night!
If you can, try to get a video during the day and maybe at night if you can.
As bright as they are in that video in the first post. They are incredibly bright almost so that they would be visible during full sunlight, but pitch black would really be where they would "shine" LOL

....and yeah I like to buy ready made, tad easier.

have a good one
cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 10:50 PM
  #5  
Davethebluessinger
Child of the 60s
Thread Starter
 
Davethebluessinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rugeley, Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 1,080
Default

Will do!
Fingers crossed the wind doesn't ruin things - it was very strong here earlier today.

Just got back from a little field just around the corner where I've been flying my UM P51, what a great little plane she is! Did a little damage to her trying too much too low (as usual) but now she's all fixed up and ready to fly again.
I am totally addicted to flying now, I can't believe it took me so long to find out. I had rc cars and boats when I was younger but no inclination to fly anything!
So glad I discovered Wattflyer too, what a great bunch of folks!
Davethebluessinger is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 11:14 PM
  #6  
DragonWeezel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Default Flight report?

If you can, find a way to aim the Strobe at the plane, and not "out" from it. You'll have much better effect, and not go blind while controlling your investment.
DragonWeezel is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 01:31 AM
  #7  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default

Originally Posted by DragonWeezel View Post
If you can, find a way to aim the Strobe at the plane, and not "out" from it. You'll have much better effect, and not go blind while controlling your investment.
Just me personally, I would if it was regular lights to show the wings better in the dark. But since they are strobes, (also depending on size) I plan to install on wings and use the controller to change to the corresponding wing color. Probably a clearance red or white strobe also on fuse, top or bottom have not decided which.

have a good one
cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 08:06 PM
  #8  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: LED STrobe

Finally got lights, incredibly bright, but a little heavier than I thought. For a 55" a/c shouldnt be too bad, as it is about 5 oz. cant wait too get it installed. Pretty confident that it can be seen very well in full sunlight.
Have a good one
Cr

Sent from my ANdroid using Tapatalk
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:33 PM
  #9  
DragonWeezel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Default

Didn't realize you were going for daytime strobes. Still awaiting pics / vids
DragonWeezel is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:49 PM
  #10  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: LED STrobe

Pics of lightning led made by evo I wanted the lights to be bright enough during the day too litteraly blinding light



Sent from my LS670 using Tapatalk
Hope it works
Cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:52 PM
  #11  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: LED STrobe

4 lights sequence 2 on, 2 off exactly what I wanted
Have a good one
Cr

Sent from my LS670 using Tapatalk
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 08:04 PM
  #12  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: LED STrobe

If you can, find a way to aim the Strobe at the plane, and not "out" from it. You'll have much better effect, and not go blind while controlling your investment.
Like u said these will be mounted inside the fuse and upside down good idea still easy to see and orientation will be easy too
Cr

Sent from my LS670 using Tapatalk
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 11:06 PM
  #13  
aypo
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

"It's designed for auto styling use so is 12V but it will run (slower and dimmer ) on 7.4v"

If you don't mind a little of diy you can use DC/DC converter and power it from basically any voltage source. converters have very high efficiency so there won't be much power lot in that.
it is not hard flying with any kind of strobo anyway?
aypo is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:06 AM
  #14  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by aypo View Post
"It's designed for auto styling use so is 12V but it will run (slower and dimmer ) on 7.4v"

If you don't mind a little of diy you can use DC/DC converter and power it from basically any voltage source. converters have very high efficiency so there won't be much power lot in that.
it is not hard flying with any kind of strobo anyway?
There are a number of different ways to control an LED for flashing on and off. Something like a 555 timer available from Radio Shack, to using a little 8 pin microcontroller to do the same.

The 555's and those microcontrollers all will operate directly from the 5 volts available from your receiver power supply. With a transistor driver, one of these setups can operate a number of LED's in parallel.

If anyone is interested, I could lay out a wiring diagram for a 555 circuit using parts from Radio Shack, to be built on one of those Radio Shack general purpose perf board circuit boards. Places like www.digikey.com have a wide variety of LED's including superbright units.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 11:54 AM
  #15  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Dennis that would be good, the 555 set up is a simple one. Change resistor values to change the the sequences, how easy is that! Would be a good one for folks to practice fairly precise soldering skills.


My old Slow V had a three bank 555 set up on it. Ran left/right wing and fuse lamps in sequence.


But anyhow, back to the original posting. I stumbled on a similar set at Advance Auto. 4 of the Super Bright square LED's, each has a domed clear cover. Comes with an adjustable board. Can adjust strobe speed, alternating or not, and on/off.

Set up to run off 12 volts, so perfect for a 3S lipo. I yanked the board out of the heavy metal box it comes in and it weighs next to nothing.

I got two sets of em. Was simple enough to color the lenses with a permanent marker to give me a red & green for wing tips, and a pair of whites.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	strobes.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	153464  
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 03:19 AM
  #16  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Glacier Girl View Post
Dennis that would be good, the 555 set up is a simple one.
Hi Glacier Girl
Did you want drawings on how to set up a 555 timer? (Looks like you've all ready been there, done that)

The 555 Timer is rated for up to 15 Volts DC, so it could run directly off of a 2 or 3 cell Lipo battery. It's also rated for a 200 Milliampere output. So, assuming a 3 cell LiPo battery, and approx 2 volts DC per LED, you can put about 5 LED's in series in a string. And at about 20 milliamperes each, you can put up to 10 separate strings on the thing.

There would be a little calculation involved for the series resistor required. If wattflyer readers are interested, I could put this info together. (Nothing a 5th grader can't handle!)
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 01:50 AM
  #17  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Dennis, go for it. Would be a nice reference for anyone wanting to do such a set up.

I run my set ups on parallel configurations. Little more involved, connecting resistors to each LED. But at least if one burns out, the rest of the string stays lit.

I usually run mine off an old single lipo cell.
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 10-15-2011, 03:50 AM
  #18  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Glacier Girl View Post
Dennis, go for it. Would be a nice reference for anyone wanting to do such a set up.

I run my set ups on parallel configurations. Little more involved, connecting resistors to each LED. But at least if one burns out, the rest of the string stays lit.

I usually run mine off an old single lipo cell.
Hi Glacier Girl
Take a look!

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64315
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 11-12-2011, 06:45 PM
  #19  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

curious on how those strobe lights are working. here is are little crew flying

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UX4UQwngCqA[/media]
papabatman is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 12:49 AM
  #20  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

A very simple single Led flasher can be made with a Lm3909 chip and a capacitor to run on as little as 1.2 volts. The chips are harder to find than the 555, but operate on lower voltage. I run them directly from the receiver off a spare channel (5v ?).
cjg is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:37 AM
  #21  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by cjg View Post
A very simple single Led flasher can be made with a Lm3909 chip and a capacitor to run on as little as 1.2 volts. The chips are harder to find than the 555, but operate on lower voltage. I run them directly from the receiver off a spare channel (5v ?).
Just a note, the chip can run on low voltage, but it takes a minimum of 1.7 Volts DC to operate the LED. And, you've got to include what ever voltage drop takes place inside the LM3909. (Putting about 1.6 Volts DC or less on an LED will result in no illumination what ever. They stay dark.)

Running the LED and chip on 5 Volts DC with the proper series resistor should work just fine.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 05-12-2015, 04:56 PM
  #22  
sunjimmy
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by Davethebluessinger View Post
Just been for a spin on my motorbike and came across this in my local Maplins.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92iEGwNQvb0[/media]It's designed for auto styling use so is 12V but it will run (slower and dimmer ) on 7.4v

Weight is round 5g without wire, the LED is encapsulated in resin so it should be robust!

I've been wanting to fit a strobe on my Swift II Delta wing, so at 8 in wire and screws this seemed OK!

It would be funny with 12V WS2801 LED pixel module
sunjimmy is offline  
Old 05-12-2015, 04:58 PM
  #23  
sunjimmy
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by Davethebluessinger View Post
Just been for a spin on my motorbike and came across this in my local Maplins.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92iEGwNQvb0[/media]It's designed for auto styling use so is 12V but it will run (slower and dimmer ) on 7.4v

Weight is round 5g without wire, the LED is encapsulated in resin so it should be robust!

I've been wanting to fit a strobe on my Swift II Delta wing, so at 8 in wire and screws this seemed OK!
it would be funny with 12V WS2801 LED pixel module
sunjimmy is offline  
Old 05-12-2015, 09:49 PM
  #24  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Why would that be funny? This isn't poorly disguised spam, is it?
xmech2k is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Dannyrevs
General RC items For Sale and WTB
2
08-10-2011 01:21 AM
motorhome
E-Flite Helicopters
2
07-09-2011 10:19 AM
CrashnBurn09
General Electric Discussions
21
02-18-2011 11:31 PM
bcmedic16
Power Systems
9
02-04-2011 10:54 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: LED STrobe


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11546 seconds with 16 queries