General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Joystick for Phoenix Simulator

Old 12-09-2016, 09:21 PM
  #1  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,231
Default Joystick for Phoenix Simulator

Hey if you read my RC Joystick thread I made I had a pleasant surprise. I have always wanted to use a Joystick on Phoenix RC Sim, but as you may know that is not possible until now. At least for me anyway. My RC Joystick I made works perfectly on Phoenix.

I was sitting around playing with my Joystick HaHa and it occurred to me I should be able to use it with Phoenix RC Simulator. So I pulled out some alligator test leads and connected it up. Worked like a charm, all I had to do is calibrate it on Phoenix RC. After testing I just added a 3.5 mm phono Jack on the Joystick and made the connections. That way I just plug into the Joystick base with the Phoenix Converter cable like it was made for it. Come to think of it was made just for that purpose.

If you have Phoenix RC, you know it comes with a USB and Dongle cable that plugs into your plane radio Trainer Port, and the Trainer Port outputs standard RC PPM signal. Exact same thing my Joystick. That Dongle or Black Box on the cable is a PPM to USB converter. Uses the same microcontroller I am using. Unfortunately Phoenix RC was smart enough to uses a proprietary USB protocol that is not compatible with Windows, Mac or whatever you got USB drivers. That is why you cannot use USB Joystick. But I can now.
dereckbc is offline  
Old 12-09-2016, 10:04 PM
  #2  
Mogg2112
Coming in hot!
 
Mogg2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 56
Default

Interesting. I guess my only question is why would you want to use a joystick for an RC simulator that's meant for training to fly model aircraft with a handheld transmitter? Aren't the user interfaces between an actual flight simulatorand an RC flight simulator completely different?
Mogg2112 is offline  
Old 12-09-2016, 11:04 PM
  #3  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,231
Default

Well you have to look at the other thread to connect the dots. I made an RC Joystick so I do not have to use 2 Thumb Joysticks on the plane radio. So much easier and more accurate than what any Radio Thumbsticks can do. I use a 3-Axis Joystick plugged into the Radio Trainer Port. So I use the same Joystick I practice with on Phoenix RC Simulator as I fly with at the field.
dereckbc is offline  
Old 12-10-2016, 02:27 AM
  #4  
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,237
Default

Hi Dereck. I added to your other thread but I think I should have done it here.
I should bring it over here but , being a computer klutz, have no idea how to do it.
Maybe you could move it here or leave it on the other thread if you like.
flypaper 2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dereckbc
General Electric Discussions
29
11-11-2017 07:52 PM
dereckbc
General Electric Discussions
5
08-10-2014 11:08 PM
Barrymore
Beginners
10
06-13-2013 01:11 PM
andrew.box
Beginners
19
03-14-2013 12:44 AM
donovan604
Flight Simulators
21
05-16-2011 05:36 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Joystick for Phoenix Simulator


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09114 seconds with 9 queries