General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

FPV Plane

Old 03-19-2011, 09:35 PM
  #1  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question FPV Plane

Hey Folks,

Does anyone have this bird, thinking about her for a FPV platform?

I would love to get your feedback/suggestions for the power system as well?

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=15236
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	FPV168.jpg
Views:	341
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	145029  
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 11:01 PM
  #2  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Tell ya what, it meets all the usual FPV requirements such as pusher, big payload, high wing etc. Having trike gear is another bonus.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 03-19-2011, 11:33 PM
  #3  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
Tell ya what, it meets all the usual FPV requirements such as pusher, big payload, high wing etc. Having trike gear is another bonus.
Hi
I agree 100%
Looks like she could be a very nice FPV platform
Take care
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 03:10 AM
  #4  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question imput

Thanks for the imput, how do you feel about as power system?
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 03:21 AM
  #5  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Power for me would depend on AUW (all up weight) expectations. If you are hauling FPV gear with extra batteries, you may need to step up the power a bit.

There are a dozen motor Mfg's out there and all have something that would work for you. Hyperion Z3000 series, Hacker A30 series, and the budget HK motors like the Turnigy 35-36 or an Axi 2814. Add a 40~50 amp controller and you could move any payload.

Looking at the HK website for the plane, they have some pretty good recommendations at the bottom of the page for combos.
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 12:58 AM
  #6  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question RX Receiver Channels

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
Power for me would depend on AUW (all up weight) expectations. If you are hauling FPV gear with extra batteries, you may need to step up the power a bit.

There are a dozen motor Mfg's out there and all have something that would work for you. Hyperion Z3000 series, Hacker A30 series, and the budget HK motors like the Turnigy 35-36 or an Axi 2814. Add a 40~50 amp controller and you could move any payload.

Looking at the HK website for the plane, they have some pretty good recommendations at the bottom of the page for combos.
Thanks again for your imput,..

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, here goes anyway. I am in the process of acquiring the components for FPV, I have a 2.4 Ghz Receiver (9-13v) is there a way to tell how many channels it is, I cannot find any part numbers anywhere on it? it looks like alot of receivers I've seen on other threads.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0389.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	145977
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0390.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	145978
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0392.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	145979
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0393.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	114.7 KB
ID:	145980
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 02:47 AM
  #7  
Wrongway-Feldman
Member
 
Wrongway-Feldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Govan, Saskatchewan
Posts: 936
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
Thanks again for your imput,..

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, here goes anyway. I am in the process of acquiring the components for FPV, I have a 2.4 Ghz Receiver (9-13v) is there a way to tell how many channels it is, I cannot find any part numbers anywhere on it? it looks like alot of receivers I've seen on other threads.

Attachment 145977
Attachment 145978
Attachment 145979
Attachment 145980
I have one of those myself. Its a single frequency analog receiver with fine tune adjustment knob.
As it sits it will receive a clear signal for maybe 100 feet unubstructed.
There is no gain adjust so a high gain antenna is required.
I find it very prone to interference from other 2.4 Ghz devices in particular cordless phones and baby monitors.
Unless you are planing to use a 72Mhz tx/rx that unit will not give you the results you want.
See about picking up a camera receiver combo with a longer wavelength, I grt good results with something in the 800 to 900Mhz range.
Wrongway-Feldman is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 10:57 AM
  #8  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question 72 MHZ

Originally Posted by Wrongway-Feldman View Post
I have one of those myself. Its a single frequency analog receiver with fine tune adjustment knob.
As it sits it will receive a clear signal for maybe 100 feet unubstructed.
There is no gain adjust so a high gain antenna is required.
I find it very prone to interference from other 2.4 Ghz devices in particular cordless phones and baby monitors.
Unless you are planing to use a 72Mhz tx/rx that unit will not give you the results you want.
See about picking up a camera receiver combo with a longer wavelength, I grt good results with something in the 800 to 900Mhz range.
72 MHZ is what I'll be using, will that make a differance?

It is probably the best to go ahead and get one with more channels?more power?

Last edited by FlyingBrick50; 04-06-2011 at 11:45 AM. Reason: add
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 04:08 PM
  #9  
MaxAdventure
AMA 198798
 
MaxAdventure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Mork and Mindy
Posts: 1,110
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
72 MHZ is what I'll be using, will that make a differance?

It is probably the best to go ahead and get one with more channels?more power?
I'd suggest starting with what you have to get the feel of things. There are transmit power limitations by law, more channels don't really matter if you only have one unit working at a time. From what I read, you can double the range with good antennas (rx and tx). try searching for diy fpv antenna on rcg
MaxAdventure is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 05:31 PM
  #10  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question It works

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
Thanks again for your imput,..

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, here goes anyway. I am in the process of acquiring the components for FPV, I have a 2.4 Ghz Receiver (9-13v) is there a way to tell how many channels it is, I cannot find any part numbers anywhere on it? it looks like alot of receivers I've seen on other threads.

Attachment 145977
Attachment 145978
Attachment 145979
Attachment 145980
Well the system works great for about 1 1/2 ft, my antennas suck dirty pond water and I am presently looking to build a decent antenna I've looked around alot for a dyi style! I still not sure what I need even after reading many posts on the subject, a meter is in order I believe to tune the antenna?


FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:07 PM
  #11  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Talking DIY 2.4 Patch Antenna

I can build this patch antenna very simple,...sweet

http://www.rc-cam.com/gp_patch.htm
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:10 PM
  #12  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Here's my thought on it... It looks heavy.

It's a fiberglass copy of the foam version. A plane that is doing VERY well for FPV.

http://www.lowpricerc.com/product_in...roducts_id=981

JMO though.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:13 PM
  #13  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Sorry about the link to the "other" forum, there is just nothing on it on this one.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ight=skywalker
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:18 PM
  #14  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingMonkey View Post
Here's my thought on it... It looks heavy.

It's a fiberglass copy of the foam version. A plane that is doing VERY well for FPV.

http://www.lowpricerc.com/product_in...roducts_id=981

JMO though.
Hi
The one you linked to weighs
Weight with camera equipment loaded: 1300g up to the max of 1800g. (1800g is recommended for best flying experience
the other weighs
Dry Weight: 1300g
This one here is the litest
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=14465
Im going to try one of these for FPV
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=12912
Take care
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:47 PM
  #15  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Default FPV ground station Grounding

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
72 MHZ is what I'll be using, will that make a differance?

It is probably the best to go ahead and get one with more channels?more power?
Does anyone doing fpv ground their setup (Rx on the ground)to the ground?
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 02:02 AM
  #16  
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Default Need advice here too?

I'm looking into getting this http://www.nitroplanes.com/projet-003-rq11.html as my first FPV setup and i'm wondering if the motor i have on hand is too big/small or just right? It calls for a 2835 - 3035 size.

This is the motor i want to put in instead:

http://www.flybrushless.com/motor/view/490

advice?
jap71173 is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 02:25 AM
  #17  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Originally Posted by jap71173 View Post
I'm looking into getting this http://www.nitroplanes.com/projet-003-rq11.html as my first FPV setup and i'm wondering if the motor i have on hand is too big/small or just right? It calls for a 2835 - 3035 size.

This is the motor i want to put in instead:

http://www.flybrushless.com/motor/view/490

advice?
Hi John
This should help you make your decision
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1427862
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 09:22 AM
  #18  
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 584
Default

Heck, if your going to do it then you really need one of these.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ghettopark.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	147399   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ghettopark3.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	202.8 KB
ID:	147400  
starcad is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 04:02 PM
  #19  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
Thread Starter
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thumbs up power system

Originally Posted by starcad View Post
Heck, if your going to do it then you really need one of these.
Love the bird, may I ask what power system your using?
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:49 AM
  #20  
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
Love the bird, may I ask what power system your using?
Sorry I didn't get back to the thread sooner. I'm running a 2814/12 60amp esc on a 3s 2200. Getting around 16 minutes of flight time and a whole lot more it there are thermals around. I carry a GoPro Velcro mounted to the nose along with another 3s 2000 for nose weight to get the balance where I want it. I have to say the Sky Walker rocks. Bang for the buck I don't think you could go wrong with it. A living room cargo bay allows me to fly just about any mission want and adding and deleting components in the belly is extremely easy. I hit a tree ( only one in the park ) and broke the tail off. Repaired in less time than it took to reach for the Kicker. I only wish I had a landing gear on it as I want to take it way out in the desert and get some low level FPV over the cactus when is in bloom.
starcad is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CHELLIE
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2015
05-28-2020 10:50 PM
aviatordave
Aerial Photography
56
12-10-2011 11:14 PM
LipoPilot
Aerial Photography
21
04-27-2011 06:50 AM
gittarpikk
Video Parking lot
0
12-26-2010 01:56 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: FPV Plane


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16162 seconds with 17 queries