Electric Ducted Fan Jets Discuss electric ducted fan jets here including setup tips, power systems, flying techniques, etc.

Phase 3 ef-16 questions

Old 11-28-2008, 04:09 AM
  #151  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

*Rider
Don't underestimate yourself or let this plane intimidate you because it's a jet
This airframe has excellent flying qualities and can fly slow with no problems if built stock..
It makes a great jet trainer
If you can handle flying with ailerons on a low wing plane you will have no problems with this one
Jeeez I think I just talked myself into buying another! =)
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 05:33 AM
  #152  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Congrats on the maiden!!

That and all this chatter has motivated me to get back to my build.

I have the motor mounted in the fan but it needs more balancing and testing.

I have been working on doing the py mods to the tail. Kind of a pain but it sure looks necessary.

Pics attached.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4734 (Medium).JPG
Views:	114
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	85001   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4735 (Medium).JPG
Views:	137
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	85002   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4737 (Medium).JPG
Views:	146
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	85003   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4738 (Medium).JPG
Views:	129
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	85004  
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 05:49 AM
  #153  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

Larry
You are now my new best friend!
I need to know what adapter you used to mount that fan to that motor!
I have had a set of these fans slated for a twin for 6 months but cannot find an adapter for HET motors
I am using 6 blade fans though
Any help is greatly appreciated my friend!
Thanks!
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:05 AM
  #154  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,145
Default

Cory, why six bladed fans? Won't that require more power/bigger batteries=more weight?

Larry, I just silked the airframe, to include the tail areas where the tailerons slide in. I checked it after the flight and she was right as rain. the silk really helps with reinforcement and allows a little give too. I might do the ply mods to the other kits I get if I go with the HET upgrades.
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:27 AM
  #155  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
Larry
You are now my new best friend!
I need to know what adapter you used to mount that fan to that motor!
I have had a set of these fans slated for a twin for 6 months but cannot find an adapter for HET motors
I am using 6 blade fans though
Any help is greatly appreciated my friend!
Thanks!
Oh oh :o

I am not at all sure where I got them! They were in my box of misc motor adaptors!

I will look thru some of my old reciepts and see if I can figure it out..... brb...
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:31 AM
  #156  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

Mike
Actually no
The HET motors are specifically designed to run in HET fans which are 70MM I am putting them in a smaller fan (64MM) so I get the increased thrust and still be able to stay well below the motors threshold
I figured if I didn't like the power or speed of the six bladers I can always cut them down to three and rebalance
At least that is my plan of attack so far
Now if I can just find out what adapter Larry is using!
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:35 AM
  #157  
*rider
Always Fixing Something
 
*rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 286
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
*Rider
Don't underestimate yourself or let this plane intimidate you because it's a jet
This airframe has excellent flying qualities and can fly slow with no problems if built stock..
It makes a great jet trainer
If you can handle flying with ailerons on a low wing plane you will have no problems with this one
Jeeez I think I just talked myself into buying another! =)
Thanks for the encouragement! I will build it stock, I have a dx6i so I will need to understand the programming required but I'm confident I can get it done. My only aileron plane at the moment is my stock pz t-28 but I do well with it so good to know the ef-16 can be flown at a pace I may be able to handle.

I will check the build thread for info & advice I have a bunch of hxt900's I think these will fit and I have several 1800-2200 mAh 3s1p's and a spare ar6100 so I think I have everything I need to complete...?...thnx as always!

*rider
*rider is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:35 AM
  #158  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

Larry
No need to go thru that trouble
If you can take the adapter off and snap a pic of it from the side that would be perfect!
Is it a standard prop adpter collet type?
Thanks for the help!
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:56 AM
  #159  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,145
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
Mike
Actually no
The HET motors are specifically designed to run in HET fans which are 70MM I am putting them in a smaller fan (64MM) so I get the increased thrust and still be able to stay well below the motors threshold
I figured if I didn't like the power or speed of the six bladers I can always cut them down to three and rebalance
At least that is my plan of attack so far
Now if I can just find out what adapter Larry is using!
Sounds like a plan to me. Good luck man.
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:56 AM
  #160  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
Larry
No need to go thru that trouble
If you can take the adapter off and snap a pic of it from the side that would be perfect!
Is it a standard prop adpter collet type?
Thanks for the help!
Yes, they are the standard 3.2mm collet type. Most likely they came from Todds models or possibly AirCraft World. I bought several from each place. I am leaning towards Todds because I bought several from him so I must have liked them

Pics in a sec...
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:59 AM
  #161  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,145
Default

Rider, this plane is awesome friend. Just make sure you balance her at the cheater holes on the wings and giver her about 5 clicks of up elevator trim (you may need more to trim her out in the air). I also recommend setting dual rates! I maidened mine on high rates, and she wasn't that bad, but I'm used to EDFs.

If you get this plane we'll walk you through step by step friend! If you need any help with setting up your radio, just let me know. I fly with a DX7. HobbyPeople has the Phase 3 F-16 on sale right now for $99.99 with free shipping!! Sorry but you can't beat that anywhere. Good luck friend!

Mike
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 08:00 AM
  #162  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Here you go. I am pretty sure the long ones are from AirCraft and the short ones from Todds. Im using the short one in the SF fan.

The prop shaft portion is 5mm and fits the SF fans snugly.

By the way - here is a link to Todds if you're not familiar with them.

http://www.toddsmodels.com/
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4749 (Medium).JPG
Views:	118
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	85017  
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 02:06 PM
  #163  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

Larry
Perfect!
I don't know why I didn't think of using regular prop adapters before?
I actually found one in my stash that works but is a tad too long. But now I know what to look for
Way to think outside the box man!
Thanks a lot!
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:27 PM
  #164  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
Larry
You are now my new best friend!
I need to know what adapter you used to mount that fan to that motor!
I have had a set of these fans slated for a twin for 6 months but cannot find an adapter for HET motors
I am using 6 blade fans though
Any help is greatly appreciated my friend!
Thanks!
Almost forgot, TheDon did some testing on those fans and found that the 6 blade version drew significantly more amps for very little extra thrust. He recommends the 3 blade version for that reason.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 10:03 PM
  #165  
USMC_VTOL_Mech
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale Ca
Posts: 187
Default

Larry
Those tests were done spinning that fan with a little dinky motor
I am using a man size motor!
LOL =)
My friend flew the PH3 F-16 on a 3W like you have but he used a 6904 fan
Flew very very well and pretty peppy for a 3 cell set-up
USMC_VTOL_Mech is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:35 AM
  #166  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Originally Posted by USMC_VTOL_Mech View Post
Larry
Those tests were done spinning that fan with a little dinky motor
I am using a man size motor!
LOL =)
My friend flew the PH3 F-16 on a 3W like you have but he used a 6904 fan
Flew very very well and pretty peppy for a 3 cell set-up
LOL! Real men need BLADES I guess

Im going to be running it on 6S with the 3 blade fan. Should be somewhere in the 500 watt range - I think.

I made some more progress. I cant fly a plane that doesnt have rudder, so the F16 is getting modded for that.

I want to keep it as streamlined as possible so I decided to bury the rudder servo and have no exposed linkages. Its working out pretty well so far. I'll fill in around the servo before painting so its all hidden.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4750 (Medium).JPG
Views:	145
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	85135   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4751 (Medium).JPG
Views:	145
Size:	55.8 KB
ID:	85136   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4752 (Medium).JPG
Views:	141
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	85137  
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:36 AM
  #167  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,145
Default

Larry, good luck with the rudder mod friend. Me personally, she doesn't need it, but I like the way you have that servo in there...NICE.
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:02 AM
  #168  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

The plane may not need it, but I sure do

I took up heli's for a few years and thats when I really learned to use the left stick. Now I cant function without it! I cant stand to fly any plane unless it has a functional rudder. If it doesnt come with one - I add it. If it cant be added - I dont buy it.

Its one of the reasons I dont fly wings.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:07 PM
  #169  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,145
Default

Originally Posted by Larry3215 View Post
The plane may not need it, but I sure do

I took up heli's for a few years and thats when I really learned to use the left stick. Now I cant function without it! I cant stand to fly any plane unless it has a functional rudder. If it doesnt come with one - I add it. If it cant be added - I dont buy it.

Its one of the reasons I dont fly wings.
Makes plenty sense to me friend. Here's a video I got from a flycam one II that I mounted on the F-16 yesterday.
[media]http://www.vimeo.com/2382891[/media]
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:37 PM
  #170  
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,657
Default

Originally Posted by Larry3215 View Post
The plane may not need it, but I sure do

I took up heli's for a few years and thats when I really learned to use the left stick. Now I cant function without it! I cant stand to fly any plane unless it has a functional rudder. If it doesnt come with one - I add it. If it cant be added - I dont buy it.

Its one of the reasons I dont fly wings.
I hope you don't mind if I "steal" your rudder mod. After flying mine for a few months I've always felt it was missing a little something. That something is the rudder. Its fine without it ,but I think it will be much better with it.
newjak is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:43 PM
  #171  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Help yourself. I get most of my best ideas the same way
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:47 PM
  #172  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

By the way, the only thing thats really important in connecting the servo to the surface this way is to be sure the hinge line is exactly through the center of the servo shaft and that the shaft is in-line with the hinge line. The servo arm needs to be at right angles to the hinge line - which it will be if the hinge line extends down through the servo shaft in a straight line.

Hope that made sense!

Just tried mine out after everything is dry and it works perfectly
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:53 PM
  #173  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

This picture ilustrates what I was talking about.

The angle of the photo exaggerates the error, but it shows the servo shaft being slightly off from the hinge line and the servo arm not 90 degrees to the hinge line.

It was taken after the first cut on the hole in the foam. I made adjustments to get the servo lined up much better befor gluing it in place.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4752 (Medium)2.JPG
Views:	129
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	85261  
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 09:22 PM
  #174  
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hey, I'm wearing out the "thanks" button! That picture is worth more than 1000 words. Thanks........ again.
newjak is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:29 PM
  #175  
ih8nixon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 80
Default

Just tried to maiden mine and found out about 30ft out from launch that one of pieces of servo tape I used did not hold. The plane spiraled and went in nose first. The nose of the plane is the only part that seems to have really suffered damage.

I have one more question, I assume that since it feels like the foam under the fiberglass is broken I will have to cut through the fiberglass and epoxy the foam underneath back together and put a fiberglass patch over the area I cut through. Is this correct?
ih8nixon is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15269 seconds with 22 queries