Brushless motor won't spin - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Brushless Motor Construction Discuss design and construction of custom Brushless motors

Brushless motor won't spin

Old 07-17-2007, 05:58 PM
  #1  
Pconn5
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default Brushless motor won't spin

I just purchased this esc and brushless motor combo.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...9888&rd=1&rd=1
I started everything up and turned the motor on it started spinning fine then all of a sudden i heard a loud grinding noise. I turned it off immediately. It happened again after i tried again. Now the motor won't turn at all it just studders back and forth a little! What could be wrong did i fry something? Also im using a 7.4 volt lipo to power it.
Pconn5 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 07:28 PM
  #2  
cbusse1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Call Jeff

You bought it from Heads Up Rc. The owner, Jeff, is a great guy and he stands behind his products. e-mail him or give him a call and I'm sure he will help you out.
Have you examined the motor closely? There may be something caught in it that is preventing it from turning. These are cheap motors and maybe a screw fell out and got lodged inside somehow. Small metal objects like screws are attracted by the strong magnets inside the motor and I have had some get caught in there while I was mounting the motors to the motor mount.
Take a magnifying glass and get a close look.
Good Luck,
cbusse1 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 08:26 PM
  #3  
Pconn5
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

OK i sent him an email. I checked everything closely and nothing seems to be jammed at all. The esc wont go through the normal start up sequence anymore but everything still has power.

EDIT: He has tested an esc and motor and is going to ship me out the new one and im shipping him back mine. He has amazing customer service!

Last edited by Pconn5; 07-18-2007 at 12:57 AM.
Pconn5 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:37 PM
  #4  
d&mrc
Member
 
d&mrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: southern ca
Posts: 459
Default

I have bought this same motor 3-4 times. I have used it on all my planes, save the new mini ultra stick I just got. My latest one has the sam problem you are describing! But, that esc has been through many crashes, and several planes......
d&mrc is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:01 PM
  #5  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I had something like this happen. Turned out that the little "C" clip that holds the shaft, came off, and the magnets sucked it inside the bell housing. Check in there.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:04 PM
  #6  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

I also had a motor do that once. The thing just sat there and stuttered as you described. I reprogrammed the ESC and all was good.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:26 AM
  #7  
Sky Sharkster
Super Contributor
 
Sky Sharkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,455
Default Check The Wires?

Hello Pconn5, I had a similar problem, turns out it was the wiring. Here's the thread;
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10973
Just another idea!
Ron
Sky Sharkster is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 05:00 PM
  #8  
MTDV
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default

I had a problem with mine also, but I used ESC CC-10 with a home made CDrom motor. The motor could not keep up with the ESC, so it failed at high power climb during take off. This caused the airplane plunged into the lake. I took everything apart and used alcohol to dry them up, reprogrammed the ESC, and everthing went smooth except the lipo had to be replaced (old one died in the water).
MTDV is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 10:46 PM
  #9  
ron_van_sommeren
homo ludens modelisticus
 
ron_van_sommeren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: near Nijmegen, Nederland
Posts: 1,157
Default

MDTV, it's the motor that 'tell's' the controller when to switch.

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
ron_van_sommeren is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 07:22 PM
  #10  
testpilot43
fly it like you stole it.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: mankato mn.
Posts: 5
Default

yep.......just yesterday my rimfire 1000 took a dump on me found out an hour later wire was on with one strand so i solderd it and works perfect now way down deep it was
testpilot43 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Angler-Hi
General RC E-Heli Talk
13
09-17-2008 01:32 AM
punkindrublik
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
2
11-18-2007 05:16 PM
rz22g
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
0
04-16-2007 03:13 PM
punkindrublik
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
10-14-2006 04:03 PM
LT.Smash
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
07-08-2006 12:44 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Brushless motor won't spin


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.06405 seconds with 13 queries