Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Need Lift on Rhythm Bipe

Old 07-21-2008, 02:41 AM
  #1  
mtuhoop24
Member
Thread Starter
 
mtuhoop24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 436
Default Need Lift on Rhythm Bipe

I just bought a Rhythm Bipe from Hobby people. It is great and the weight is perfect. I have a small motor in it with a 3s 11.1v 730 battery. Plane looks great.

The problem is that it won't get off the ground. I have plenty of power. It really scoots across the parking lot. I have at least 1.25" of up elevator but it won't get off the ground.

I have flown it in a head wind and it did take off but the wind was too strong and I had to land it right away. Tonight I went out and it was dead still - no wind. It just zoom across the parking lot at a high rate of speed.

Could I have too much down thrust on the motor? I believe I have the motor mount flush to the bulkhead...........

Any ideas??

Thanks.
mtuhoop24 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:03 AM
  #2  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Mine's the same way... It seems to take quite a bit of space to take off.... I'm sure the 1.25 is a little low for elevator though.... I think Mines like 2inches or so... if you have a computer radio try changing it to as much throw as you can get (without putting 125% on tx... and then putting about 60-70% expo.... I do that with ailerons and rudder too... then setup low rates at say 70% throw with 20% expo...

all else fails, handlaunch it.... if trimmed it should fly great...
SK

Last edited by ministeve2003; 07-21-2008 at 06:07 AM.
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:20 AM
  #3  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

See if you can adjust the gear so you have a little more up attitude when its sitting on the ground. It should take off faster then.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:34 AM
  #4  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by Larry3215 View Post
See if you can adjust the gear so you have a little more up attitude when its sitting on the ground. It should take off faster then.
I was thinking the same thing, when I built mine in the first place I wanted to lower/raise the gear to give more ground clearance but I had issues with it flexing the wing.... I knew I should have just taken the time to fix it the way I wanted...lol
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 02:44 PM
  #5  
mtuhoop24
Member
Thread Starter
 
mtuhoop24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 436
Default

Thanks Guys.......I did adjust the motor mount to get a little more up lift. I think it was pointing down a little too much.

And the biggest revelation in all the post - Hand Launch!!!! I haven't done that with a plane in such a long time it didn't dawn on me!

Perfect. Hopefully if the wind is calm I will give it a try last night. I will let everyone know how it worked!

Thanks.
mtuhoop24 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:24 PM
  #6  
gzsfrk
Community Moderator
 
gzsfrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,253
Default

Just hand launch the thing. It's a 3D flyer, for goodness sakes, and light as a feather.

I swear--some of you guys and your need for RoGs...
gzsfrk is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:42 PM
  #7  
mtuhoop24
Member
Thread Starter
 
mtuhoop24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 436
Default

Yes I got it..............I will do just that!
mtuhoop24 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 02:23 PM
  #8  
mtuhoop24
Member
Thread Starter
 
mtuhoop24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 436
Default

Hand launched the bipe last night and it flew great. Had to trim it a little but once that happened it was great. Wind is a killer. It was very calm but as I got it up a little higher it was slightly scary.

Now I just need to learn some more 3d moves and I will be set!

Thanks for all the help!
mtuhoop24 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 04:06 PM
  #9  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

what kind of trim settings are you using?

my new fav settings are (highest holes out on servo and innermost on control horn) 100% throw rates, with 70% expo, and for low rates 70% throw with 20% expo

anyone got any better setup rates I should try?
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:25 PM
  #10  
mtuhoop24
Member
Thread Starter
 
mtuhoop24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 436
Default

I am using the outermost on both the servo and control horn. I need to move my control horn to the inner most on my elevator and rudder. The ailerons are fine!

I have 100% Throw and 35% exp.
mtuhoop24 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:33 PM
  #11  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
what kind of trim settings are you using?

my new fav settings are (highest holes out on servo and innermost on control horn) 100% throw rates, with 70% expo, and for low rates 70% throw with 20% expo

anyone got any better setup rates I should try?
SK
You need much less expo. I have HUGE throws on some of my 3D stuff and 25% expo at most. The plane must fly mushy as all heck!
TDisaster is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:40 PM
  #12  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

mushy, huh... nope... but I do have just about the max throws you could have, almost...LOL

you ever seen a 48" profile roll 3-4 times a second?

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:42 PM
  #13  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Yup. But I make very small stick movements, so I use little expo, depending on the plane I don't use any. But you must bang the sticks, so to speak .
TDisaster is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:43 PM
  #14  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I used to use no expo, I hated it infact, but then I realized, to compensate for no expo, I wasn't putting high enough rates,
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:44 PM
  #15  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
I used to use no expo, I hated it infact, but then I realized, to compensate for no expo, I wasn't putting high enough rates,
SK
Oh, I have my rates maxed out on every plane I own .
TDisaster is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:45 PM
  #16  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

like I said 70/20 is low rates, thats prob about the same as yours... My 48" profile has those arm extensions....

Course I could still be doing it the wrong way...LOL
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:47 PM
  #17  
TDisaster
Super Contributor
 
TDisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 1,020
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
like I said 70/20 is low rates, thats prob about the same as yours... My 48" profile has those arm extensions....
SK
Whats a low rate?
TDisaster is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
pstrdenver
3D Flying
192
11-21-2009 09:14 PM
aviatordave
Basement Bargains
59
12-01-2008 05:49 PM
neilg.
E-Flite Helicopters
12
08-05-2008 01:40 AM
3D Romeo
Foamies
10
05-25-2008 05:16 AM
quailbird
Aerial Photography
11
07-01-2007 02:08 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Need Lift on Rhythm Bipe


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.12273 seconds with 13 queries