Slow loading times? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Support & Suggestions If you need tech support post your question here or site suggestions too.

Slow loading times?

Old 05-27-2008, 08:38 PM
  #1  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default Slow loading times?

Has anyone else experienced long wait times for pages to load up? For me it is

D O G ...... S L O W ......

Other sites load fast, and I'm on broadband....
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 08:45 PM
  #2  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Mine have been loading fine.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:03 AM
  #3  
Airhead
Redneck Member
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntsville AL.
Posts: 5,624
Default

I think mine have been loading well.....
Airhead is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:09 AM
  #4  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

What OS are you using again Dave?

I am browsing on both FF and IE7 and while FF is noticeably faster, IE seems to be loading normally.
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:11 AM
  #5  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Well, FF is NATURALLY faster.....

FWIW, mine is browsing fast.....
gfdengine204 is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:00 AM
  #6  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,603
Default

Mine have been slow in loading. Compared to that other site, RCG, WattFlyer is about 1/3 the speed, and that is with all their ads. I am using IE7 and am on broadband also. I thought it was just the increased use here.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:35 AM
  #7  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,603
Default

I just did a little survey.

From the time I click on the link in the email until the thread loads on WattFlyer takes between 13 to 15 seconds. RCG takes around 3 seconds for the same deal.

Checked it several times.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:41 AM
  #8  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

I just logged in on FF and man is it a lot faster. I thought IE was plenty fast but FF is almost instantaneous. The screen resolution quality is not as good on FF for some reason though.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:21 AM
  #9  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Ill have Dan take a look.
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:30 AM
  #10  
HeliG
T-Rex Pilot
 
HeliG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 1,366
Default

I thought things were slow and then when I loaded this thread I knew for sure...

SSSSSSSSSSLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWW.
HeliG is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 06:08 AM
  #11  
Kosh
Super Contributor
 
Kosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bothell, Washington (by Seattle)
Posts: 3,445
Default

Works normal on my end with a DSL line and I'm looking at about a 1.5 second load time.
Kosh is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 06:46 AM
  #12  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Wow Mike! Mess with my mind!

You changed the thread.

I'm using IE7 right now, seems whenever you do a system upgrade it makes me slow. Lets see if ghomer has the same symptoms. Weird that I get it all the time.

Does location have anything to do with this? Ghomer is only a few hours from me...
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 06:59 PM
  #13  
admin
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,281
Default

can you do a traceroute to www.wattflyer.com to see if it is network related?
admin is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:09 PM
  #14  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

admin::Mine just got twice as fast in the last few days, did ya fix something,? or just trick it out ?? thanks for the "boost" bub, stevePS admin a funny screen name, HaHaa ( just yank'in your chain)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	crash.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	15.9 KB
ID:	67388  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:17 PM
  #15  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
Wow Mike! Mess with my mind!

You changed the thread.

I'm using IE7 right now, seems whenever you do a system upgrade it makes me slow. Lets see if ghomer has the same symptoms. Weird that I get it all the time.

Does location have anything to do with this? Ghomer is only a few hours from me...
Sorry about that. I wanted to get it in the SS forum for more attention.

Dave,
Can you load the homepage http://www.wattflyer.com and then scroll to the very bottom of the page. It should give you a Page loaded message and tell what time and how many queries it took
I.e
Page generated in 0.16734 seconds with 66 queries (1 queries for uncached templates) [Server Loads: 0.42 0.46 : 0.52]
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:46 PM
  #16  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Page generated in 0.62828 seconds with 22 queries
.6 seconds seems quite fast, but it loads with almost the entire page and hangs out for awhile at the end. Whatever the last few things that get loaded is what stalls my pc (IMO).
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:49 PM
  #17  
Biplane Murphy
2 Wings, Twice The Fun
 
Biplane Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California High Desert
Posts: 4,534
Default

Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
Wow Mike! Mess with my mind!

You changed the thread.

I'm using IE7 right now, seems whenever you do a system upgrade it makes me slow. Lets see if ghomer has the same symptoms. Weird that I get it all the time.

Does location have anything to do with this? Ghomer is only a few hours from me...
I hear "Yawn...Iowa" has the slowest Broadband in the country.........
Biplane Murphy is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 09:39 PM
  #18  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

We run our internet through the barbed wire fences. Doesnt everybody?
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:25 PM
  #19  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
We run our internet through the barbed wire fences. Doesnt everybody?
I filter mine through a spaghetti colander
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:31 AM
  #20  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,603
Default

Here in Oklahoma we call it Bob Wahr. Mine is still slow and RCG is still fast.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:46 PM
  #21  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

I have tested extensively with IE 6 and 7 and dont have the lag that you guys are experiencing. We will keep testing.

I recorded it below.

recorded load times on IE wmv 5 mb
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:12 PM
  #22  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Mike,

Weird, seems to be working fine now. I didnt change anything here. I tried the 'child of default setting' and that seemed to be a bit laggy than reg default.

Hope that helps-
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:30 PM
  #23  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
Mike,

Weird, seems to be working fine now. I didnt change anything here. I tried the 'child of default setting' and that seemed to be a bit laggy than reg default.

Hope that helps-
Well..now I am thoroughly confused
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:36 PM
  #24  
aviatordave
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
Default

Let me take that back.

My PC was going through an update when I did that, my bad. I tried the child mode again with nothing running and its the same speed as default.

I shouldnt eat lunch and type at the same time.....
aviatordave is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:45 PM
  #25  
gfdengine204
Super Contributor
 
gfdengine204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sandwich, IL
Posts: 9,565
Default

Dave,

Does it run slow only when Icehouse is around?

(Or maybe that would make it seem to run real fast.....hmmmmm)
gfdengine204 is offline  

Quick Reply: Slow loading times?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16990 seconds with 14 queries