F-27 Stryker - Page 6 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Delta & Flying Wings Discuss electric powered delta (flying wing) style aircraft here.

F-27 Stryker

Old 11-03-2005, 03:54 PM
  #126  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Also, hot motor and esc means excessive amps.
If you are sure about the amp draw, start looking for something like a bad bearing. Would cause a bind , the hotter it gets the worse it gets, so motor is trying to pull more amps. It gets hot, the Esc is delivering more amps, so it gets hot, and since the Esc is pulling so much, unless the pack is above a 10C rating, pack is getting hammered.
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 07:55 AM
  #127  
gsiblini
Electrified
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

My pack is 15C rated and amp draw on the ucando is 15 Amp (different Esc /Motor) . I replaced the ESC yesterday and took the motor apart ; I found that the Bell of the BP was not aligned well so I re-aligned it well and got rid of some vibration it was causing;Then tried to run it again . The same thing happenned this time (Motor started to slow down quickly within a minute) but did not get hot anymore. So I replaced the ESC and all went just fine and power remained steady for few minutes ! I guess there is was problem with the ESC itself alond with the bell being out of alignment ! Thanks a lot .
gsiblini is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:23 PM
  #128  
Duster52
Member
Thread Starter
 
Duster52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Newport, Arkansas
Posts: 138
Default

I have always had trouble hand launching my Stryker. Maybe one out of three would be successful! The remainder either popped off the nose or broke the prop! For fun, I decided to build a "drop away" undercarriage. It is simple and lightweight and works great! So, if you have the same trouble or just want to take off from the ground, this might be the thing for you. I simply soldered pieces of piano wire together and used large spoke type wheels. There are three points on the frame which have 1 1/4 inch spikes pointing up. On the plane, I put three plastic caps (I cut the top out of old CA caps for tapered holes) into the fuse to match the spikes on the frame.

Go to my profile and my homepage and there is a video of it in use. Title: Stryker with drop off wheels"
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	stryker wheels 004.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	3624   Click image for larger version

Name:	stryker wheels 005.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	3625  
Duster52 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 03:55 AM
  #129  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,412
Default

Zagi nut here....

Just want to let you all know that I happen across a "new" Park Zone item for the F-27 Stryker and it's the Press-On 5-X-3 Plastic gray propeller. The outside package indicates for use while using 3-sereis Li-POLY setups.

I have removed my Zagi 400 stock brushed motor and installed the replacement issue 480 brushed motor made for the Park Zone F-27 Stryker and used this new 5 X 3 propeller and measured exactly 12.06 Amps.

The thrust looks very impressive using my 2nd generation Thunder Power 2100mAH, 10C, 3S1P, Li-POLYs but, the morning at the CLub Field will be the real verdict.

Just wanted to let you all know about the new 5X3 propeller! (Part # PKZ1004)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zagi480_2.jpg
Views:	308
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	3801  

Last edited by guapoman2000; 11-12-2005 at 04:17 AM.
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:50 AM
  #130  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

And here's a new one too.
PZ has finally made Stryker fuselage kit. All components except the electrics, and it comes painted like the original.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByC...ProdID=PKZ1270
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 11:30 PM
  #131  
drensa
Crazy Dave
 
drensa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 9
Default

Hi everyone. My buddy Art tells me that people are cutting 4" off of the wings to lighten this bird up and thus speed it up. Has anyone heard of this? BTW ... I've been flying mine now since my last posting on the previous thread page and I even got a "very cool" out of an IMAC nut when he flew it! Dave
drensa is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 02:01 PM
  #132  
rayray
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Duster52,

"Sticks", is that you? Kool wheels.

Ray Ray
rayray is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 10:59 AM
  #133  
Mazin
Creating Havoc as Usual
 
Mazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Default

Ok guys long time... got a astro 020 motor, 20 amp (but will take upto 25) Speed control. Supersized fins and elverions. I have a question. I'm not running lipo and my battery is a PZ 9.6v 1000mah. The motor came with a 5.5x4 prop and I want to go to 6x4 Do you guys think I will over amp my battery. I have used the p-51 batery from PZ ( 10.8 1000 mah) and I have thrashed 2 and my buddy trashe 1. Great flights but it comes down and the batt is just roasting. So i was wondering useing this new motor should I worry? Also is anyone heard of using the astro 020 on a stryker, maybe let me know what to expect. I would love to know what I can look forward to in speed. One last thing could I add a bigger controler than 20 amp to this motor?

Also what new mods have people come up with? I went 2" eveverions made from sign board and some supersized fins.

Last edited by Mazin; 11-19-2005 at 11:22 AM.
Mazin is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 08:56 PM
  #134  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

The cells that PZ sells are good to about 15 AMPs cont. You can push them but as you see they won't take the abuse for long. Try some 4/5th A cells from cheapbaterypacks.com the PZ packs are 2/3rds A cells. GP brand are awsome.

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 01:46 AM
  #135  
hjscm
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

just finished my first striker and it flew preety well. i have a mega 3 turn brushless with 2100 TP prolites and a CC35 spped controller. was dificult the first time i threw it but it made it. love this thing. now i have to read this whole thread for insight.
hjscm is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 11:39 PM
  #136  
Mazin
Creating Havoc as Usual
 
Mazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks... I know I had been really pusshin the pack and it showed but will definiatly got to the higher cont cells. How many do you think I could use? with the control i have it says 20 amp but will handle 25 so if I could do like 22-24 amps I would be thrilled. I am learning about the electric stuff but all ways need more info thanks for the advice.
Mazin is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 03:22 PM
  #137  
doc11
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Where do I find the BP-21 and speed control you are talking about?? Doc in PA.
doc11 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 03:29 PM
  #138  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Balsaproducts.com
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 03:37 PM
  #139  
doc11
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Sounded familiar, Went blank for a second. Thanks Doc
doc11 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 04:19 PM
  #140  
Crash Test Dummy
Super Contributor
 
Crash Test Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sugar Grove
Posts: 2,748
Default

Originally Posted by Mazin View Post
Thanks... I know I had been really pusshin the pack and it showed but will definiatly got to the higher cont cells. How many do you think I could use? with the control i have it says 20 amp but will handle 25 so if I could do like 22-24 amps I would be thrilled. I am learning about the electric stuff but all ways need more info thanks for the advice.
Higher cell count/voltage= more RPM
Higher Mah=more current
Larger Batteries will be able to supply AMPs better than smaller batteries. The Stryker comes with a 2/3rd's A-Cell pack a 4/5th's A-Cell pack will be able to supply 20 to 30 AMPs without beating the pack up and it will give longer life.

As far as your speed control, I wouldn't push it to 20 AMPs or more. The 25 AMP rating is for bursts only. What kind of ESC are you running?

CTD
Crash Test Dummy is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 03:37 AM
  #141  
Chewman
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 10
Default

Stupid battery question - I have 3 each of 6 cell 7.2 volt batterys out of a Commander. Would I be able to use them in the Stryker for slow flying or would it damage the motor.
Chewman is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 02:35 PM
  #142  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

The 6 cell was an option on a Stryker, you would need the 6 cell prop if still availible. And why would you want to fly a Stryker slow? LOL
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:39 AM
  #143  
Mazin
Creating Havoc as Usual
 
Mazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks for the imput Crash. I'am running the astro 020 and esc I think its a castle Creations esc but not sure the motor and esc was all in one. I have one more question (for now lol) Can you give me some conversions like; volt, amp, mah, etc. I would really value that knowlege. Astro 020 803z (zagi) is the motor im running. So far my bird really screams.
Mazin is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:12 PM
  #144  
Chewman
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks Glacier Girl, I am still learning to fly the Stryker and flying it slower just lets me keep a better visual on it.
Chewman is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:27 PM
  #145  
crast test dummie
Batteries not included!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 384
Default

Originally Posted by Mazin View Post
Thanks for the imput Crash. I'am running the astro 020 and esc I think its a castle Creations esc but not sure the motor and esc was all in one. I have one more question (for now lol) Can you give me some conversions like; volt, amp, mah, etc. I would really value that knowlege. Astro 020 803z (zagi) is the motor im running. So far my bird really screams.
I'm not sure what you are asking for, [conversions?].

CTD
crast test dummie is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 02:52 AM
  #146  
Chewman
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 10
Default

Center of Gravity question on Stryker. When I put the 7 cell all the way into the front of the battery compartment my Stryker is slightly nose heavy. When the battery is "in position" in the lower battery compartment with the detents holding the battery tight it is very tail heavy to the point of stalling. Any one else experience this or is everyone just stuffing packing in to hold the battery in place in the forward position.
Chewman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:14 AM
  #147  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

Chewman,
Every bird is different. The way the foam is molded can cause one to be completely different, weight wise, from the next. Do what is necessary to balance your bird.
My very first one,the Gen1 fuselage was nearly 3 oz off. With the battery in the front compartment, I had to add weight to the nose to get it balanced.
Glacier Girl is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:04 PM
  #148  
doc11
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Thumbs up Readings and info

Does anyone have any readings for there setups, Volts, Amps, Prop size and type and the motor used?? This would help all of us a great deal. I always see My F27 or? gets 75mph with a bp-18 and 8x4 prop, but that does not give enough info. So if anyone has some goodies Please share. Have a great holiday. Doc in PA.
doc11 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 02:28 AM
  #149  
Duster52
Member
Thread Starter
 
Duster52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Newport, Arkansas
Posts: 138
Default

doc11, I gave everything I have on my plane in the very first post on this thread. The only thing I didn't mention was that I was pulling 11 amps on the bench. Maybe others will chime in.
Duster52 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:56 AM
  #150  
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,161
Default

I'll chime in.
Mega 16/25/4,CC35,Ultimate Ubec,PolyQuest 4s3100 12c /4s1800 20c,APC 8x6 Prop, specs as follows,
28.4 amps,33.3 thrust, 82.8 speed
With the same set up and a Graupner Cam Speed 7x7 prop.
22.3 amps, 23.4 thrust, 102.7 speed
I also built a speed version
Mega 16/25/3,CC60,Ultimate Ubec,PolyQuest custom 6s4400 pack
with the GCS 7x7 specs as follows,
59.1 amps, 47.6 thrust,146.6 speed
Glacier Girl is offline  

Quick Reply: F-27 Stryker


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10164 seconds with 16 queries