Pattern aircraft Discuss electric powered pattern aircraft in here

Commander EP 40

Old 04-22-2013, 02:30 PM
  #26  
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,933
Default

What another free...Hey Hawk something aint right! Congrats my friend. I need your luck. Wanna go to Vegas you pay and I will play using your luck?
Fishbonez is offline  
Old 04-22-2013, 05:15 PM
  #27  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Fish,

I wish I was so lucky in Vegas. The casino's see me coming and start drooling like dogs chasing a raw T-bone ! There's a great story behind this cause I almost bought a used SV that day. Fully equipped with good stuff for $300.00

Now' it's off to Hitec. I'll still go with the Commanded EP eventually. Looks really good and very affordable. The Mosa II flies on rails.

Cheers,

Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 04-22-2013, 06:06 PM
  #28  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

I can't knife edge... the Commander knife edges for me with almost 0 aileron correction (hard to program the radio for that low a mix.. need 1/10's of a %) and the pitch to the canopy is so low it takes 600 yards to be noticeable.

Just roll 90 deg and apply opposite rudder...

Just about need to put in air brakes to slow down for landing. I'll program in a mix to push the ailerons up letting me hold the nose high and present the belly as an air brake. This will also make the plane stick once the wheels are on the ground.
Also going to try a 12X6 E APC (lower load than the 11X8 original) to see if that helps with braking. It certainly doesn't need more speed.

I like the airplane more every time I fly it.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 04-23-2013, 12:40 AM
  #29  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

I'm P.O'd at Nitroplanes. After successfully placing an in stock order for the Talon BL the other day, I get a a notice that it's backordered 4-6 weeks. Told them to refund my money and I'll look for something else.

Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 04:20 PM
  #30  
take2flight
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

[QUOTE=fhhuber;906835]

"Spun the motor up and at appx 1/2 throttle there was a loud bang out of the motor and the Castle Thunderbird 54 ESC smoked. "

Huber, were you running this on 3 cells? The T-bird cannot take more than 3s as far as I know. If you were trying 4 cells you smoked the T-bird without help from the motor!
take2flight is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 05:19 PM
  #31  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

I've been running 4S on T-bird 54's for years. Never any trouble pulling up to 50 amps.

You have to watch the RX and servo load on it above 15 volt input or it goes into thermal shutdown.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 05:42 PM
  #32  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
I've been running 4S on T-bird 54's for years. Never any trouble pulling up to 50 amps.

You have to watch the RX and servo load on it above 15 volt input or it goes into thermal shutdown.
Some report some success others have them smoke. I would never run them past specifications that way in my stuff.

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:48 AM
  #33  
riot3d
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I've always wanted to experiment with fuse & wing fences, so I installed them to the Commander. So far, very favorable!

Adrian
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1455.JPG
Views:	130
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	169928   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1456.JPG
Views:	143
Size:	109.7 KB
ID:	169929   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1458.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	106.8 KB
ID:	169930   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1465.JPG
Views:	129
Size:	83.2 KB
ID:	169931  
riot3d is offline  
Old 08-09-2013, 11:10 PM
  #34  
riot3d
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Added some winglets & T wing to test aerodynamics!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1511.JPG
Views:	138
Size:	91.4 KB
ID:	170200   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1513.JPG
Views:	149
Size:	110.7 KB
ID:	170201  
riot3d is offline  
Old 12-03-2013, 04:59 AM
  #35  
bacibear
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Bad news...

The 2 planes my friends received have both had motor failures.
Both had magnets shift.

One's magnets shifted in flight while he was making a run through the AMA Sportsman Pattern sequence. Loud screech from the motor and he promptly shut down the throttle for landing. Appears to have 2 magnets shifted and chipped.
This plane was using a Dynam 40 amp ESC and Sky LiPo 3300 mah 4S 20C (recommended is 40 amp ESC + 4S 3200 mah LiPo) Stock prop supplied with the package deal (Plane, motor, servos)
just the one flight on the airplane.... it was doing well until the motor started screaming.

Second didn't even pass a motor run-up test on the ground. Spun the motor up and at appx 1/2 throttle there was a loud bang out of the motor and the Castle Thunderbird 54 ESC smoked. Motor grinds badly when hand turned and appears to have on magnet broken.
Stock prop that came with the combo deal as above.

2 bad motors out of 3 planes...

My motor hasn't been pushed past 2/3 throttle yet...

I ran into similar failures with Turnigy motors and it turned out they were using low temp hot melt glue (120 F to melt) to hold the magnets in.

*************

Love the foam airframe... Not sure the package deal is such a good deal.

Looking at Tacon motors from Nitroplanes.com as replacements. They have a reasonable reputation and they have a motor that is the same size as the one in this package deal with slightly higher kv and 20% higher watt rating.
This is the closest motor I have found so far.
The airframe can be purchased for about $100. The Commander has a "front mount" for the motor, so the motor must have the drive shaft sticking out of the same end it is mounted. The mounting screws are 25mm apart. Based upon my experience with HobbyKing SK motors, I installed the SK3 3548 - 700 Kv, 665 watts. Had to put 6 ounces of lead in the nose with 3300 4S batteries. Flew around at about 1/4 throttle. Gobs of power. Will report back after more flights.
bacibear is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
schusterjo
General Electric Discussions
0
10-09-2011 03:25 AM
v_dub1968
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
0
06-12-2011 02:40 PM
Hose Man
Beginners
7
03-23-2011 01:57 PM
KenSue
Power Systems
2
01-20-2011 10:09 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Commander EP 40


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10158 seconds with 20 queries