Pattern aircraft Discuss electric powered pattern aircraft in here

Samba experience.

Old 08-18-2005, 01:19 PM
Unbalanced prop
Watt, No fuel?

Default Samba experience.

I just got a Samba from nesail.
http://www.nesail.com/detail.php?productID=3245
Seems to be a very well constructed ARF with quality covering. I will probably start assembly this wekend. I am going to power it with a Hyperion 3025 8T motor. Does any one have experience with this plane and any suggested mods while I am putting it together? I will post pics of the assembly, if any one is interested.

Doug
Old 08-28-2005, 03:28 AM
UpToIt

Thumbs up Samba was great!

I got my Samba about 4 months ago and really enjoyed this great flying plane. Unfortunately, it just met it's demise last weekend.....pilot error.

My recollection of the build was that it presented only a couple of small challenges. First was the necessity of cutting into the far rear of the fuselage with an x-acto to make clearance for the large elevator surface. The elevator surfaces, joined by a cross member, had to be set back into the tail deep enough to prevent any conflict with the rudder throws. I made the rear of the horizontal stab/elevator slot into a Vee to allow plenty of room for the connecting cross member to move with the elevators. LN Models may have altered the ARF by now to eliminate this problem.