General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Servo Extensions?

Old 11-04-2006, 04:47 AM
  #1  
HAL9000
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Default Servo Extensions?

Can you use a servo extension wire between the ESC and the receiver?
HAL9000 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:51 AM
  #2  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,754
Default

I have, and have had no problem Hal.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:53 AM
  #3  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Hi HAL,

I sure hope so. I just opened my 52" P-38 that came in today and was looking at the instructions. It calls for extensions since the receiver is in the center pod and the two ESCs are out in the booms with the batteries. I also have to use a Y connector to hook 2 ESCs to one receiver.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:56 AM
  #4  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,754
Default

Yup same situation Tom, different plane. My Super Airliner esc are in the wing, needed extensions and a y also to hook it all up.

Acutally the proper term in my lingo is a siamese connection, 2 into 1. A y is 1 splitting into 2... as in fire hose
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:56 AM
  #5  
HAL9000
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Default

the only difference i see in the wires is it seems the wires for the esc are a little thicker. Do the servo extension wires allow for the BEC?
HAL9000 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:58 AM
  #6  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,754
Default

that may just be the brand Hal. Mine appear to be the same size...
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 05:01 AM
  #7  
HAL9000
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Default

cool thanks guys for the quick replys... dont you guys have better things to do on a friday night then work on planes?
HAL9000 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 05:07 AM
  #8  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

What do you mean? It's too dark to fly so we have to build. Are you actually implying there is life outside of RC??
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 05:08 AM
  #9  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,754
Default

hehe... laptop on the workbench!


HEY WAIT A MINUTE... what are you doing Hal??? LOL
firemanbill is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 12:28 AM
  #10  
Gary Hoorn
Chesepeake Bay RC Club
 
Gary Hoorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 127
Default

Hal,
Others have given you an answer. I have noticed that generic extensions which cost less seem to have a heavier gauge wire than say the expensive JR ones. In any case they all work. I have been using extensions wherever needed for some time.
Gary
Gary Hoorn is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:10 AM
  #11  
Gohmer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 631
Smile

I have had no problems using extensions there. I recommend a long enough one to wind around a JR RF filter.
Gohmer is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:25 PM
  #12  
Crash
New Member
 
Crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 12
Default

Has anybody tried hooking up three ESC's to a receiver? How would this be wired?
Crash is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 11:08 PM
  #13  
cyclops2
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,957
Default

ESC's pull almost no current to operate at any speed.

So, yes, you can put + 50 ESC's into a receiver.

BEC power for the servos can be a problem. The BEC is on the ESC way out in the wing somewhere. The receiver is in the middle.

4',6' 8' of extension is going to drop a lot of volts if you have BIG STRONG servos with large loads. You want to be VERY sure that with any amount of trim added to any channel it does not ever cause the servo to EVER, EVER, hit a mechanical stop. That split second bind will cause massive voltage drops on the wires from the BEC regulator. A PCM could see it as interference and go to lockup for a few seconds. When it clears, all would be back to normal from your jiggling all your levers around excitedly.

Pray you are not straight up or down at lower heights.

I would recommend a complete ground test at all servo trim settings on each channel to avoid this from happening in the air.


As a after thought. The plane is probably so big you should have NO problem in justifying a seperate battery pack for the receiver and the servos.
20C--30C-- and higher C's with BIG servos and LARGE surface loads are ASKING for BEC line voltage drops to screwup a plane needlessly.
cyclops2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lymph
General RC E-Heli Talk
8
08-16-2008 09:08 PM
Rick Marshall (Thud)
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
4
04-14-2008 06:20 PM
Forge
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
04-03-2008 11:23 PM
Warden
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
09-09-2006 12:22 PM
Grasshopper
Batteries & Chargers
8
06-05-2006 08:13 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Servo Extensions?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10470 seconds with 13 queries