Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 10-19-2018, 05:34 AM   #1
Stick Dude

Club: Ill try to become a member of a local rc club...
Friends: (1)
Thumbs up e-flight beginner here

I purchased a nice foamy Fokker dr-1 tri-plane e-flight kit. I love low and slow birds in general. I remember the Great Waldo Pepper, and the last scene of that show featured a Tri-winger vs a Sopwith camel fight scene. If I remember correctly the 2 gents played demolition derby in the air! So with the tri wing I will try to learn in almost no wind to get the feel of e-flight. I was looking on line for a bigger version of this bird, until I came across the electric stick. I ordered one to the happiness of my local rc hobby shop. I think Great planes sells the kits? I will slowly be adding the motor, electrics and remote control. First I must get used to the tri-plane, then I hope to join a local rc-club....

Attached Images
File Type: jpg gpma7500.jpg (9.1 KB, 188 views)
Old 10-19-2018, 04:36 PM   #2
quorneng
Super Contributor

Club: A lone flyer!
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award 
Friends: (6)

Stick Dude
Not knowing how experienced you are but I am pretty sure your electric Stick will be considerably easier to fly than your triplane.
Remember the full size was spacifically designed to have almost neutral stability. Great for an experienced pilot to do 'combat' manoeuvres but a novice is likely to have difficulty just getting it off the ground.