Turnigy 5a and ap02 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Indoor & Micro Electric Planes Talk about indoor & Micro electric powered flight here

Turnigy 5a and ap02

Old 07-23-2010, 04:40 AM
  #1  
Billmanak
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 46
Default Turnigy 5a and ap02

I am having a problem setting this up. The motor won't start up anywhere near the bottom of the stick, and there is a long delay. Once it starts, it runs a couple of seconds then stops and will not restart. I have noticed the light on the AR6400 blinking which I think signifies low voltage. When the motor stops, it goes back to solid.

I am not sure if it's a timing issue or what. I am hoping somebody with more experience can point me in the right direction.

Thanks
Billmanak is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 12:47 PM
  #2  
philipa_240sx
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,046
Default

I vote for power issues... low battery voltage. Stock ParkZone and E-Flite 1S lipos don't have a very high C rating. You could try a test using a single cell from a larger 2S pack. Just hook up via the balance connector.

BTW, I hope you are not using the internal BEC to power the AR6400. The BEC is rated for 5V, the AR6400 is only designed to run on 1S lipo up to 4.2V. The setups I have seen run parallel leads from the battery to the ESC and RX. Only the - and Signal wires are connected to the AR6400.

Finally, does the Turnigy ESC have throttle programming?
philipa_240sx is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 11:22 PM
  #3  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default Throttle setting?

Originally Posted by Billmanak View Post
I am having a problem setting this up. The motor won't start up anywhere near the bottom of the stick, and there is a long delay. Once it starts, it runs a couple of seconds then stops and will not restart. I have noticed the light on the AR6400 blinking which I think signifies low voltage. When the motor stops, it goes back to solid.

I am not sure if it's a timing issue or what. I am hoping somebody with more experience can point me in the right direction.

Thanks
Check where the throttle setting is, the "idle" set should be all the way down. Some ESC's, GWS especialy will not let the motor start some times.

>>
ragbag is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 12:04 AM
  #4  
Billmanak
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 46
Default

Well I've fought with it some more, and still can't get it to calibrate to the throttle or enter programming mode. I pulled the positive wire (w/diode) off the 6400 to ESC connection and am using two batteries for now. One to power the rcvr and one 30c batt for the esc.

Checked the Hobby King site for some help, and now it says at the very bottom of the description not to program with radio. They still left up all the features you are supposed to be able to program though.

Looks like I'll have to order a programming card and wait another month for it to arrive.
Billmanak is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 12:08 PM
  #5  
Real Gambler
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Originally Posted by Billmanak View Post
Well I've fought with it some more, and still can't get it to calibrate to the throttle or enter programming mode. I pulled the positive wire (w/diode) off the 6400 to ESC connection and am using two batteries for now. One to power the rcvr and one 30c batt for the esc.

Checked the Hobby King site for some help, and now it says at the very bottom of the description not to program with radio. They still left up all the features you are supposed to be able to program though.

Looks like I'll have to order a programming card and wait another month for it to arrive.
Sadly, I think there's some sort of delay coming out of the AR6400 which gives us a hard time, programming an ESC. Best way to program a ESC for it, is to program it on another receiver! Then, once programmed, plug it back to the AR6400
Real Gambler is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 07:11 PM
  #6  
philipa_240sx
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,046
Default

I always buy programming cards with new brands of ESC's. The throttle method of programming sucks.
philipa_240sx is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:55 PM
  #7  
Billmanak
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks for the suggestion Gambler. That was just the ticket! Seems to like soft timing, and a hard start up mode. Now to finish my micro nutball.
Billmanak is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
aviatordave
WWI Era
406
05-09-2011 03:13 AM
cdis
Power Systems
30
03-09-2009 08:08 PM
rheumatical
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
2
02-18-2009 03:52 PM
intruderwithin
Batteries & Chargers
10
10-06-2008 09:23 PM
panzerd18
Power Systems
1
11-12-2007 05:15 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Turnigy 5a and ap02


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09371 seconds with 15 queries