General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Another Apprentice Bites The Dust

Old 08-18-2015, 05:28 AM
dereckbc
Super Contributor

Default Another Apprentice Bites The Dust

Sorry if this is long. Perhaps some of you might remember when I joined about 2 years ago when I took up the hobby again after a 35 year weekend off. Anyway my first topic was reporting a crazy unexplained crash occurred with a Apprentice S 15e. Many thought pilot error because I was a beginner, and that was understandable. I reported:

Was flying straight and level at a normal 1/2 throttle. I was just doing laps around the field practicing when out of the blue the plane went crazy. I mean violent hard snap roll, Twist-N-Turn-Crash-N-Burn. Panic button did not do a thing as I had ample altitude to push it many times before impact. Bottom line is plane went STUPID. Anyway the problem was a known defect of Receiver Brown-Out. The BEC circuit was undersized and would Brown-Out sending. HH did the right thing and replaced it.

So anyway today while at the field there is this one newby that has 2 of the dang Apprentices. Don't ask me why, I don't know. Anyway he was flying one today just making laps around the field, then Pow, the plane went ape-chit Twist-N-Turn-Crash-N-Burn.

I told him I knew what I think happened, but also stated that was discovered early in the release phase 2 years ago when I bought mine. That is when he told me it was his first one he bought two years ago.

I have now personally witnessed 2 Apprentice plane crashes caused by RX Brown-Outs.
Old 08-18-2015, 03:24 PM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

Well that's not good.

It amazes me how companies tend to let stuff like that go. It's easier, and probably cheaper, to replace units when customers complain and bring it to their attention than it is to replace and revamp the entire product line.