Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Getting started with a Flight Simulator - FMS

Old 10-14-2009, 02:00 AM
  #176  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

There is a "crash in tree" option.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 05:57 AM
  #177  
grubbyjeans
Member
 
grubbyjeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
There is a "crash in tree" option.

-- ggunners
and we all know that 'landings' are just 'controlled crashes'.
grubbyjeans is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 11:41 AM
  #178  
slimsim60
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Controlled crashes!! you ain't seen some of my landings then,lol.
slimsim60 is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 03:53 PM
  #179  
grubbyjeans
Member
 
grubbyjeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Originally Posted by slimsim60 View Post
Controlled crashes!! you ain't seen some of my landings then,lol.
grubbyjeans is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:02 AM
  #180  
Squeal82
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default USB Input not working

Hi,

I have a Twister RC Helicopter that came with a USB trainer cable. It is a 4 channel FM radio. I have plugged it in and Windows has recognised it as a HID Compliant Game Controller but when I open FMS and try to calibrate it, there is no response when I move the controller. There is also no responce when I use the Windows Device Manager test page to test the controller. Does anyone know if the trainer cable should just plug in and be able to calibrate or is there another setting I am missing? Could the cable be faulty?

Thanks so much!
Squeal82 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 10:58 PM
  #181  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,230
Default

Test Post
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 11:11 PM
  #182  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,048
Default

I'll do a test to.
gramps2361 is online now  
Old 12-06-2009, 12:46 AM
  #183  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 13,071
Default

tst
Don Sims is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 02:58 PM
  #184  
Bill Linske
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 424
Default

I have a pretty old flight simulator called RC Pilot. It's been working fine, but recently stopped working, the controller won't operate. I'm using Windows XP and seem to be having trouble with the XP drivers. Any thoughts?
Bill Linske is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 12:35 AM
  #185  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,822
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Linske View Post
I have a pretty old flight simulator called RC Pilot. It's been working fine, but recently stopped working, the controller won't operate. I'm using Windows XP and seem to be having trouble with the XP drivers. Any thoughts?
My first question is always, what did you chante.

Computers are pretty dumb things. If it worked yesterday it should work today. Unless you downloaded an update, or added a new piece of HW or SW or ..... changed something.

Any ideas?
AEAJR is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 03:39 PM
  #186  
Bill Linske
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 424
Default

aeajr,

Thanks for the info. I've moved on and ordered a new Sim from HobbyPartz for about $20.00. See if it works. I've had this one as a demo when I had my computer business over six years ago. Thought I could sell many RC Pilots, but didn't ( too expensive). It doesn't owe me anything and I don't want to fool around with it. I think it was done in by a Microsoft XP update.
Bill Linske is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 09:38 PM
  #187  
Voyager2lcats
Friend Across the Water
 
Voyager2lcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 2,109
Default

I recently loaded the FMS version 2.0, Beta 7.0 to my Windows XP desktop PC and had all kinds of problems getting it to recognize my GWS GWT4AII transmitter. I have a parallel port (remember that old big-pin printer port we no longer use?) connector for my transmitter. Here is a link to a post I found- miraculously- that solved my problems completely: http://home.arcor.de/wkracht/modellb...PPJoyHowTo.htm. I needed PPJoy so Windows XP can emulate the TX as a joystick. The key on this was that I need to set an IRQ (interupt) setting for the printer port to make it work, otherwise beat your head into the wall! This works. I hope it will help others like me. FMS is free and it is harder than real flying, so it is a great training tool!
Voyager2lcats is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 02:45 AM
  #188  
Ribcracker
Flight Junkie
 
Ribcracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 1,087
Default

Thanks for that! It takes some of the mystery and frustration out of these weird set-ups. I've tried beating my head against the wall and that hasn't done me much good. Maybe your fix will.
By the way, does anybody know if a RealFlight "Futaba" interlink controller will work with other sims such as FS One, Phoenix, or FMS?
Ribcracker is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:02 PM
  #189  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

For ClearView, FMS and RC Desk Pilot, if your controller can be seen and calibrated with Windows Control Panel, Game Controllers, it can then be used in each of those 3 sims. If the sim requires a dongle or special USB cable, then you need the special cable. -- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:48 PM
  #190  
Ribcracker
Flight Junkie
 
Ribcracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 1,087
Default

Thank you, ggunners, that's very helpful.
Many years ago I bought the FS One sim without the TacCon controller and quickly learned what a hassle it is to configure with my Hitec Txs. So I mostly used FMS but I had to switch cables to do it, e.g. I couldn't access FMS with the FS One cable.
I'd like to use a "dedicated" TX with the FS One sim that I could leave configured and TacCon controllers are no longer available. I sometimes see RealFlight controllers on eBay real cheap so I thought I'd try it.
It sounds like you're saying I could use a RealFlight controller as long as I can "adapt" it to the FS One cable (dongle). I hope that's right.
Ribcracker is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 01:59 PM
  #191  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

In theory, a RealFlight controller could be plugged into an FSOne dongle and all things would work. This specific configuration sounds less likely to end in success. See if someone else has done this first. If FSOne's dongle requires a raw RC transmitter trainer port signal, then this will not work. -- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:55 PM
  #192  
Ribcracker
Flight Junkie
 
Ribcracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 1,087
Default

ggunners,
Your timing is perfect. I was just about to pull the trigger on the RealFlight controller when I discovered that for $30 more I could get it with RealFlight basic software through Tower with free shipping. My dissatisfaction with the FSOne software is that it's too damb confusing. That's why I actually prefer FMS but I'd like a little more realism than that so the RealFlight basic should fill the bill.
What I'll prolly do is ditch the FSOne on EBay and live happily ever after.
I want you to know that you've helped me out in the past and surely thousands of other people have also benefited from your generosity and dedication to our hobby. So, thank you! You're a real credit to these forums...a valuable asset.
Peace,
rib
Ribcracker is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 03:08 PM
  #193  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,822
Default

THE FMS FORUM HAS LOTS OF HELP FOR YOU IF YOU ARE HAVING PROBLEMS GETTING FMS WORKING ON YOUR COMPUTER


how to get FMS to work with Windows Vista and perhaps windows 7
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


Tips for Windows XP and Vista
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html



Techniques for finding and fixing problems
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


Other Windows related topics
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


Hardware Interface issues
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


Add-on Models and Landscapes
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


Other general topics
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html


FMS Frequently Asked Questions
http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html
AEAJR is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stvjeep
Beginners - Helis
4
01-08-2008 03:42 AM
stvjeep
Micro Sized Electric Helicopters
1
01-07-2008 04:32 AM
cellsitegod
Flight Simulators
1
01-05-2008 01:45 AM
ShokWaveRider
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
11-16-2006 07:24 PM
KG4814
Flight Simulators
7
11-19-2005 10:09 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Getting started with a Flight Simulator - FMS


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.13053 seconds with 16 queries