Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Quick way to balance lipos

Old 01-01-2016, 10:47 PM
smitty4980

Default Quick way to balance lipos

I'm fairly new to battery charging and watched this video on you tube about charging a single cell in a multi cell battery to balance it quicker. It looked pretty reasonable to me until he showed how to charge any particular cell by moving his adapter to whichever cell you want to charge. Now I'm far from being an electrician but wouldn't one pin always have to be in the black wire hole? To charge the second cell wouldn't he need to make another adapter that would span three holes with the middle pin removed, and for the 3rd cell a wider adapter that would span four holes with the 2nd and 3rd pins removed?It seems like if he moved the adapter around like he shows in the video he would end up connecting positive to positive on all but the first cell. Am I missing something or is he? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIbHLacozFo

Last edited by smitty4980; 01-01-2016 at 10:49 PM. Reason: Add link to video
Old 01-01-2016, 10:52 PM
solentlife
Super Contributor

No because the balance plug pairs pins to give individual cells. The outer pins give total pack voltage.

Take a multi-meter and you will see exactly what I mean.

Nigel
Old 01-01-2016, 10:59 PM
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor

I've done this myself. One big risk is getting the polarity backwards!

Before buying my two Cellpro Powerlab PL8's I made up a charger that individually charged each cell on an A123 pack to exactly 3.60 Volts DC. Still have it, still works. I've also learned to never do that again! The Cellpro charger is so much easier.

Last edited by kyleservicetech; 01-01-2016 at 11:36 PM.
Old 01-01-2016, 11:01 PM
fhhuber
Super Contributor

Not going to even watch the video...