Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Hyperion Sniper II -Need Help Building

Old 08-25-2013, 08:24 PM
Rcpilet

Default Hyperion Sniper II -Need Help Building

I'll cut directly to the question for those who don't like to read.

How do ya build a light foamy?

I've got a Hyperion Sniper II ARF. It has a 39" (1000mm) wingspan. I need to build it LIGHT and it's my first time building a foamy.
http://www.hyperion-world.com/produc...uct/HP-SNIPER2

Now for the 4 chapter book:
I've been flying and kit building since 1998. I'm not new to building kits and not new to 3D. I fly gasoline and electric. Gave up on glow years ago. I've built about 50 wood kits, some fiberglass cowls, and even a few imported Dutch kits from the 80's that I dug out of a trunk at a garage sale several years ago. But I've NEVER built my own foamy before. I've got foamies. But I've always bought them already assembled or used. I know I can build it. I'm not scared of that. What I am missing is the knowledge of you guys that have built 40 or 50 foamies.

I need to keep this plane LIGHT. That is my biggest concern. I'm flying at 6000' (1800m) and every bit of extra weight is going to cost me in performance. I've been flying at this altitude since 1998 and I know all about wing loading, trust me. You guys that fly at sea level are frickin' SPOILED!!

So with that said, I've been doing my homework. I know it takes about 150-175 watts per pound to make me happy with a 3D plane.
Hyperion claims the plane will weigh 15oz (430g) RTF.
It has a wing area of 356sq.in (23dm sq.)
That puts the wing loading around 6.13oz per square foot. That would be nice and light.