JR,Sport,SX600,transmitter,as,Buddy,Box,for,SPEKTR UM,DX6i - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

JR,Sport,SX600,transmitter,as,Buddy,Box,for,SPEKTR UM,DX6i

Old 12-05-2008, 08:25 PM
  #1  
RD Gator
Member
Thread Starter
 
RD Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 37
Default JR,Sport,SX600,transmitter,as,Buddy,Box,for,SPEKTR UM,DX6i

Discussion - JR Sport SX600 transmitter as Buddy Box for SPEKTRUM DX6i

The Question's I have is In this article I found in a web search.(I have also posted the PHOTO & Article at the end of this post ) I have a SPEKTRUM DX6i & a JR Sport SX600 6-CHANNEL COMPUTER Radio .25 Crystal.

(1) Can I use the DX6i as the master & the JR Sport SX600 as the Slave By
doing it like in this article ?

(2) If so What more or less would it involve ? I need a buddy box Will this save me some $. I can't seam to sell the JR So why buy A buddy box if I can make one??

----------------------------------------------------------------------


HRMC Forums
HRMC Forums > HRMC Member Forums > Tales From The Workshop > Blade CX2 transmitter as Spektrum Buddy Box
Full Version: Blade CX2 transmitter as Spektrum Buddy Box
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ticket Collector
01-17-2008, 08:51 PM
I was trying to pick up a radio to use as a buddy for my DX7 set. Not many people are getting rid of JR radios, the ones on eBay are going for silly money

Anyway, I noticed that the E-Flite LP5DSM transmitter supplied with the Blade CX2 heli is a Spektrum unit and has a trainer socket

A trip to eBay got me one for 20 and I just had to work out how to get it to go. One of the first things I noticed was that the CX2 trannie is powered by 4 cells . Luckily connecting it to the DX7 doesn't blow it up However to get the buddy-box to respond I have to turn it on , yes that DOES mean it starts to transmit

I opened the unit up and found that the TX module is connected by a plug to the control board, I unplugged the data cable and like magic it stopped transmitting It doesn't even go into "binding mode" now.

I'll add a couple of pics and let you all know what happens after further tests. I'd like to point out that one of the more "radical" ideas (switching on the second tranny) was picked up on a US based forum (RCGroups I think).

The Buddy lead was supplied free with my TomTom The DX7 will be set as P-Link Master (or something like that) this means that there is no need to do any setting, trimming or programming on the slave unit.

So, when you finally smash up your CX2 heli's, don't throw out the tranny. Donate it to the club as a Spekkie buddy-box
Ticket Collector
01-20-2008, 12:30 PM
As promised, some more info and a few photos.

I've tried out the system, and it works great. All I had to do was make sure none of the channels were reversed (all the switches under the front panel down, the Blade has two switches up) and the trims are centered. The Buddy box then took all trim, reversing and mixing commands from the Master.

The Spektrum has to have the "Trainer" enabled and the Mode set to "P-Link" for the model you're training with. Plug the trainer lead into both radios and switch them both on

Setting up the LP5DSM Transmitter

[attachment=353] ( Photo at Bottom )
This is the radio, notice at the bottom left there is a cover, behind this is a bank of switches and an LED. Open it and set all the switches off (down) If you switch on the transmitter you'll notice that the LED flickers for a few seconds (this is "binding" mode) then stays on while transmitting.

[attachment=354] ( Photo at Bottom )
Turning over the radio, there are 4 screws, simply take these out and carefully lift off the back. There are cables connecting the back to the front, but they are long enough to allow it to open up:
[attachment=355]
I've circled the transmitter module in the picture (small, isn't it). Removing the plug from this is all that's needed to stop the radio from transmitting when you switch on.
[attachment=356] ( Photo at Bottom )

You can simply put the back on again and use it as a Spekky buddy box now (no doubt this would work for JR too). You'll notice that after switching on the buddy box the LED no longer lights up - this is because the transmition module is no longer getting any power or data sent to it

While it was in bits though I thought I'd have a look around though.
First thing I thought you'd like was if a radio supplied for a heli didn't have a ratchet throttle. So I took off the spring plate on the throttle:
[attachment=357] ( Photo at Bottom )
The spring has a 'V' pressed into it, this clicks into notches on the plastic quadrant, giving the ratchet effect. So to get rid of the clicks, I got rid of the 'V' - I put the plate on a flat surface and hit it with a hammer Subtle! To keep pressure on the throttle stick I then had to put a slight offset in the plate with a pair of pliers:
[attachment=358] ( Photo at Bottom )
Just make sure the offset is the right way
Depending on how flat your flat surface is, and how careful you are with the hammer, you might find you need to smooth the part of the spring that contacts the quadrant with a file to get rid of all the clicking (Yes, I had quite a bit of filing to do )
Refit the spring and check the action of the throttle, if it clicks, you'll need to file some more. If it feels too light, make the offset slightly deeper:
[attachment=359] ( Photo at Bottom )
Yes, the picture's slightly blurry, I think the caffeine was starting to kick in

I also spotted a little switch on the control board - "wonder wot that does then??" Well, switches are only ever fitted for one reason, so I flicked it to see what would happen. Not having a Blade heli - nothing
[attachment=360] ( Photo at Bottom )
I wasn't happy with that. So more investigation reveals that it switches the radio to Mode 1 Just a case of fitting the spring plate to the right stick (the one on the left when you're inside the box ) and moving the centring spring from the right stick to the left one -that job's a little fiddly, so I didn't do it. I don't want Mode 1 anyway.

So there you have it, Horizon Hobbies in the US are actually selling these radios new for $60. Unfortunately they aren't selling in the UK at the moment. They are appearing on eBay as folk trash their helis though They are also appearing for sale "New" as people switch their helis onto their own Spectrum radio.

The only other thought I had was regarding power for the unit. As I said it uses 4 AA cells, I've got 4 alkaline cells in it now. I did think about switching to rechargeable cells. It has a charging socket, so simply fitting 4 AA NiCads might do it. However, Alkaline cells are 1.5v each (4x1.5=6) NiCad are 1.2v each (4x1.2=4.8) there would also be the problem of fitting up a 4 cell charger with the correct charge connector. In the end I decided that without the transmit module connected power consumption should be low - anyway, I can get a load of AA cells on a card for a pound, not worth the hassle really.

Hopefully this info will help someone
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 353.jpg
Views:	592
Size:	105.5 KB
ID:	85748   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 354.jpg
Views:	521
Size:	133.6 KB
ID:	85749   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 355.jpg
Views:	757
Size:	158.0 KB
ID:	85750   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT356.jpg
Views:	617
Size:	137.1 KB
ID:	85751   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 357.jpg
Views:	497
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	85752  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 358.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	85753   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 359.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	85754   Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT 360.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	114.1 KB
ID:	85755  

Last edited by RD Gator; 12-08-2008 at 12:46 AM.
RD Gator is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 08:47 PM
  #2  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Spektrum and JR Txs are supposed to be compatible. You should just be able to plug the two together without doing all that messing about. Doesn't that work ?

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:12 PM
  #3  
RD Gator
Member
Thread Starter
 
RD Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 37
Default I Know What you saying.LOL.

I did some more looking around on the web about this and most of the clubs are starting to deal with DX6i trainer thing . Like you say it should be no problem with the JR sport SX600 . But the DX6i will not work with the JR sport 400 buddy box.
I will now have to get the wright trainer cable . Using the JR is a last ditch thing . I was going to sell it and look in to geting a buddy box .
As you can see I am new at all this .I have my 3 planes & TRex 450 se v2 useing Spektrum RX's I need to get in to a club but comeing up with AMA & Club fees.Is Hard To bad the VA. won't pay for it.(Hi) RD

Last edited by RD Gator; 12-05-2008 at 09:33 PM.
RD Gator is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 12:22 AM
  #4  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

One of the quirks of the DX6i is that only another DX6i can be used as a buddy box. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid of Spektrum.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 09:41 AM
  #5  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
One of the quirks of the DX6i is that only another DX6i can be used as a buddy box. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid of Spektrum.
Are you sure ? Mine seems to work as master with an old JR Max66 as slave. The information I've seen from Horizon say it should work with most JR Txs except some of the very simple 4-ch ones.

What JR/Spektrum Txs have you tried that don't work correctly ?

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 12:51 PM
  #6  
RD Gator
Member
Thread Starter
 
RD Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 37
Default Clubs

This is were hands on in a club would help a newbie like me they would all-ready have a working buddy box in the group Hi. I can't fly yet but have the desire too and the Hobby of RC. Heli's & Planes's in my blood from when I was a kid. NOW as a SR Old man LOL. I am Playing catch up now they didn't even have computers then only control line RC would have been very rare thing . I don't have the money to get in a club and AMA & have all the toy's Too. So I get on this computer and ask stupid ?? But I Am A SR & and can fall back on that alone. And a Wife That will kill me at any moment now if I buy just one more thing off of EBay or RC Universe. I Just think it's to have Plane's in the Bathtub and hanging from the celling . too bad the VA won't pay for some of this MAYBE I COULD GET A BALL OUT>>
RD Gator is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 03:17 PM
  #7  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
Are you sure ? Mine seems to work as master with an old JR Max66 as slave. The information I've seen from Horizon say it should work with most JR Txs except some of the very simple 4-ch ones.

What JR/Spektrum Txs have you tried that don't work correctly ?

Steve
There are many of us flying Spektrum in our club. One member, Bill B has the DX6i. We've tried many other radios you would expect to be compatible with JR type ports including the DX7, X9303, DX6, XP8103 etc. The DX6i would only work when Bill went and bought another new DX6i. When he first told me of this I was incredulous. I even said "It should just work with any JR radio..."

If you folks have found a way to do this with something other than another DX6i then that is grand.

Oh, and here is another quirk I forgot about with the DX6i. This is from page 78 of the manual:

Trainer
The DX6i offers a Trainer function that allows the transmitter to operate as a master or slave. The trainer switch is located on the back left of the transmitter.

MASTER
The transmitter can be used as a master but the slave transmitter must have the same programming (i.e. reverse, travel adjust, dual rates, mixes, sub trims, etc.) as the master.
That's just silly IMHO.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 07:56 PM
  #8  
RD Gator
Member
Thread Starter
 
RD Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 37
Default SOOoooooooooo ?????

This is some of what I have found out today.

and On another web page I have found out ? and I have come to this conclusion .


----------------------------------------------------On another web page----------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In addition to fuel and battery issues...
My instructor is away for a couple of weeks and He is the onlyinstructor I've been able to buddy box with... ( my DX6i as master his jr as the slave )
Theres NO info from spektrum on this feature.
I just bought a JR to Futaba cord and we couldnt get it to work. ( most of the instructors use futaba )
The original cable I bought from LHS was for the coaxle heli that comes with a DX6 transmiter. It didnt work.
I ended up using a regular stereo 1/8 plug I had laying around.
The difference in all the plugs seemed to be if the tip was mono, stereo or one even looked like a triple plug???

I looked at a Buddy box online from JR that says it will work with spectrum for $39.... who knows?

or I could look for a used jr box.

whatever I do, It looks like I wouldnt know if it works untill I buy it and try it....

I realize once I'm soloing it wont be an issue but I wouldnt have gotten the spektrum if I'd have known my buddy box options would have been so limited...

THings arent so bad, I am flying once a week and progressing well.
I'd like to get out twice a week and my own buddy box would help that.
Or a hookup to futaba would work.

Steve
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
You need to use a Spektrum or JR computer radio with battery to buddy box with the 6i. Our club training program had trouble figuring this out. The popular JR Sport S400 buddy box is not compatible.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your Dx6I will only acknowledge another computer radio. (Took a call to horizon to answer this one) The Dx6I is almost totally silent re buddy box setups. Gross tech writer oversight. Once you plug into another computer radio the matchup should be automatic.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, I got the opposite answer when I called Horizon. I have a DX6i and I ordered the Alpha 40 Trainer which comes with a DX5e. I was told by Horizon that the DX5e can be used as a buddy box with the DX6i. He said they had done it there with no problem.

I wonder which answer is correct?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm thinking of buying another DX6i as I need another receiver anyway and the 2nd box would be a backup and buddy box.
But due to the lack of support I see from Spektrum I hate to support them by buying another product from them.
From what I see you wont know if anything will work until you buy and try..
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
According the the DX6i manual, the DX5e (a non-computer radio) should not work as a buddy box. Horizon is probably excited for somebody to buy both so a customer can tell Horizon if they worked together or not.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i have the dx6i and i hook up my parkzone radio that came with the trojan to use as the buddy box with no problems.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To reiterate, and relate my experiences. You must have a computer radio to buddy box the DX6i, the manual states this.

I tried a JR Quatro and had no luck. So I hooked up my JR 6102 and it works flawlessly.

I am told, though I cant be sure, that the DX7 does not have this limitation so I assume this is a case of we got what we paid for..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You may be right, although the manual is kind of vague on this. It says that the slave "must have the same programming (i.e. reverse travel adjust, dual rates, mixes, sub trims, etc.) as the master". I'm wondering if this applies ONLY if the slave is a computer radio. I've heard of situations where a non-computer slave TX was hooked up to a DX6i with no problems (someone at my club has done this). I also read somewhere (can't remember where) that if the slave is a non-computer radio it must have it's power turned off. If it is a computer radio it must have it's power on, which might explain why the programmed settings would have to be the same.

Anyway, I'm getting the Spektrum RTF of the Alpha 40 more for the RX than the TX so I can bind it to my DX6i. If the buddy box options works, that's just a bonus.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That's the first time I've ever heard that any of the Parkzone radios even have a buddy box jack on them, tubamike78!

Our club bought two new SX400 buddy box sets from our LHS and I gave them to Nathan King (our flight training director and club secretary) to use for Spektrum/JR systems. Nathan took them home and tried using them with his DX6i both powered and unpowered with no success at all.

My befuddlement stems from wondering why a JR SX400 buddy box system wouldn't be compatible with the DX6i but a Parkzone ZX-10 radio would work? Considering Horizon sells the ZX10 from the T-28 Trojan RTF seperately for only $30, that's pretty handy information!

Did you have to have the power switched on or off to use your ZX10 as a buddy box? When you use the ZX10 as a buddy box, does the DX6i do the mixing and reversing, or do you have to alter the servo reversing on the ZX10?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I looked in the manual for one of the planes that came with the DX5e (can't remember which plane), and it stated clearly in there that the DX5e is buddy box compatible with all of JR and Spektrum radios.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the buddy box jack is located on the left side of the radio on the zx10 radio. the power switch is in the off position, but the radio automatically powers on when i connect it up to the dx6i radio. i'm not sure on the reversing and that since the trojan and electristar that i use as trainers are same. i'll give it a try with my stryker and see if i have to change anything on the zx-10 or not. my guss is that it uses the settings from the zx-10 radio because the dual rates switch operates just fine.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The info is much appreciated, tubamike78. We thought we were going to have to find a second DX6i, DX7, or JR SX600 and duplicate the student's programming settings before we'd be able to buddy box them. Using a ZX10 transmitter would be much more simple.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Slave always has power off, even with computer radio, or so I was taught and every buddy box system I have read up on indicates.

The power "comes on" when you plug in the trainer cord, (at least mine does, all three radios I have work this way) but it does not power up the transmitter RF circuitry. So your computer control system is then on, and ready to interface with the master radio's transmiter circuit, but you arent sending an extra RF signal out to screw someone elses day up.

I plug in the following order:

1: Master TX turned on range checked etc. Take aircraft off and get it ready for student pilot. (If student is doingtakeoffs, then once range check is done proceed to step 2)
2: Student plugs into his box, power switch OFF, and then into the master while the instructor maintains positive control of the aircraft. (Actually we've done this in both sequences, the slave then master and master then slave, it doesnt seem to matter with my outfit)
3: When the student and the instructor are ready, (hopefully) the instructor pulls the trainer switch and it all works..
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is not the case with a number of JR/Spektrum buddy box systems. The buddy box requires its own battery and must be powered on in order to work. How each radio interacts with various other buddy box options doesn't always seem consistent from model to model, however, and our club is trying to figure out all of the details in order to best assist new pilots with JR/Spektrum radio systems.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Interesting,

I have only the following three JR / Spektrum radios

DX6i
6102
Quatro

Each of these does indeed require a battery in it to work as slave. However; each DOES power up for me by simply plugging in the trainer cord, (I very nearly ran my battery dead by leaving the trainer plugged in when I was using my Quatro TX for the FMS simulator).

I apologize for assuming all would do the same, since I've no actual experience with them. I simply assumed all JR / Spektrum would work in a similar fashion.

I am one of very few who uses JR / Spektrum at my club, (More are buying Spektrum but I'm the only one with practical experience). That said, I would be very interested in a synopsis of the final details you and your club determine if you would be so kind as to pass it along sir. (Since we all know the manual is clear as concrete in some areas
RD Gator is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 09:11 AM
  #9  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
That's just silly IMHO.
I guess you're referring to the fact that the slave needs to be programmed correctly to fly the plane ? Since that works in exactly the same way for every other relatively low-end transmitter I've ever seen I can't see anything particularly silly about it.

OTOH it's nice that the more expensive models of Tx have some improvements in this area but IMO if anything is silly it's expecting all the same advanced facilities on the low cost models of Tx as on the higher cost ones. They have to keep something in reserve to persuade you to pay out all that extra money .

On the Dx6i to JR buddy box question, I wonder if they've changed the firmware at some point to make it work ? My DX6i is a fairly recent one and seems to have no trouble. Of course I'm using it with a 35Mhz JR Tx rather than the US-standard ones I guess you're trying but that shouldn't make any difference, the trainer signal should be identical. Odd .

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 04:15 PM
  #10  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Originally Posted by RD Gator View Post
<snip>
I am one of very few who uses JR / Spektrum at my club, (More are buying Spektrum but I'm the only one with practical experience). That said, I would be very interested in a synopsis of the final details you and your club determine if you would be so kind as to pass it along sir. (Since we all know the manual is clear as concrete in some areas
There is a lot of information to ponder there Gator.

Since it's winter now not much flying is going on here at our club. I will be happy to relate any info I can when I can. I personally do not own a DX6i but can likely borrow one. I personally fly the JR X9303 2.4GHz and the XP8103 72MHz radios.

As for the DX7, it had no trouble being slave to an XP9303.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 09:14 PM
  #11  
RD Gator
Member
Thread Starter
 
RD Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 37
Default Thank You.

I would like to Thank You All for keeping this post going. I realise just how big and involved each step of RC Is when progressing Up in the radio aspic alone.
I did make a friend who go's by LAUGHING STILL or Ron. He lives near hear in Gainesville FL very Good pilot. Heli's & Plane's Works and Builds them. He Will help me when he has the same time that I have off. But I would like to be able to do and fix some of this my self LOL.
I know more about my DX6i now .User Manuel's are good but they can only cover so much It's users in the field that have the best Info . RD

Last edited by RD Gator; 12-08-2008 at 12:48 AM.
RD Gator is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 09:02 PM
  #12  
rohdem
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Dx6i with CX2 transmitter

So has anyone tried using the DX6i as master with the CX2 transmitter as the slave? Does it work without modification. I have both transmitters and it would be handy if I could use the CX2 transmitter as a trainer.

Thanks,
Mike
rohdem is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 12:28 AM
  #13  
drueter
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default Spektrum DX5E Master / JR S400 Slave DOES work...

I read in my DX5E manual that the radio can be either master or slave, and is compatible with ANY JR radio.

I purchased a JR S400 (as a buddy box: no crystal or battery)--plugged it in, and nothing happened. It did not work. BUT THEN...

I installed a battery in the JR S400 (but left the power off), connected it to the DX5E, and the trainer feature worked just fine.

So in my limited testing, the Spektrum DX5E Master DOES WORK with the JR S400 as the Slave, as long as there is a battery installed in the JR S400.
drueter is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:46 AM
  #14  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,801
Default

You are correct, drueter, you must have a charged battery in the JR transmitter you are using for the slave box. It does not have to be turned on, but it has to be there.

Also, welcome to Wattflyer.

Last edited by Rabbitcreekok; 11-22-2009 at 05:08 AM.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RD Gator
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
2
12-04-2008 04:20 PM
Pconn5
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
18
08-22-2008 01:45 AM
Forge
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
10
06-22-2008 02:10 PM
Battlestu
General Electric Discussions
0
06-20-2008 07:59 PM
ILVSMOG
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
2
07-22-2007 06:43 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: JR,Sport,SX600,transmitter,as,Buddy,Box,for,SPEKTR UM,DX6i


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08967 seconds with 22 queries