My very first scratch build and design - the JSF F-35 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft Discuss and share your scratch built or kit built aircraft as well as building techniques, methods, mediums and resources.

My very first scratch build and design - the JSF F-35

Old 08-01-2008, 12:29 PM
IFlite
Innovator

Default My very first scratch build and design - the JSF F-35

Hi guys, I've just joined this forum, and thought I should share my latest project, -my first ever scratch-build. The design is my own, I've simply drawn inspiration from pictures on the web of the JSF F-35.

I've been flying electric aircrafts for a couple of years, and thought it would be great to design and scratch-build my own. This plane was originally meant as merely a prototype, but i decided to put a motor and electronics in it and see how it flies. The next version of the plane will be made of EPP, but since EPP isn't available here (Norway), I've ordered it from the US, and the shipping takes a while. Therefore, this prototype is made from Depron, which is kinda nice, but a bit brittle and will easily break as I'm sure you all know. At least Depron is readily available and cheap here in Norway.

Except for my F-27c Stryker, I've never had a jet-fighter-like plane before, so I decided to try to copy the JSF F-35. I really like it's shape, looks kinda sexy. I measured all the angles and surfaces of the plane's profile, and cut it out from Depron. Then I glued a 4mm carbon fiber tube down the middle from its tail to its nose.