E-Flite Fokker D.VII 250 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WWI Era Discuss all your favorite WWI warbirds here!

E-Flite Fokker D.VII 250

Old 01-01-2010, 01:40 AM
  #1  
barmonkey
Member
Thread Starter
 
barmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 688
Default E-Flite Fokker D.VII 250

Look what E-Flite is bringing for 2010! Another red Fokker!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	EFL1975-450.jpg
Views:	402
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	117052  
barmonkey is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:30 PM
  #2  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

It has brace wires on the wings.
degreen60 is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 04:01 PM
  #3  
scalercflyer
Super Contributor
 
scalercflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,312
Default

OH NO..... OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO................. Marty
scalercflyer is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 02:41 PM
  #4  
WWI Ace
triplane test pilot
 
WWI Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 1,600
Default

I thought Fokker built those wings strong enough that they wouldn't need wires!! LOL!! Well you can always paint it to look however you want. Degreen does it all the time and it isn't a problem. My guess is they picked a color scheme that would be very easy to see for orientation purposes. Steve
WWI Ace is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 03:56 PM
  #5  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

Too bad they did not make the wings in lozenge pattern. That would have made it easy to change to a lot of other planes by just repainting the fuselage. Well get the printer fired up and go buy some sticker paper. If I get one of these I will add CF rods to the wings so it won't need the brace wires. Lets face facts, they pick a color scheme that will sell and most people think of a Fokker being red. If someone close gets one of these I may just have to add a gun to my "fish" even though it is a training plane.
degreen60 is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:00 PM
  #6  
dcwwcp
Member
 
dcwwcp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 128
Default

well udet is a fairly well known german ace, so another german ace with a red plane is just plain more apt to sell planes.

personally I've been looking at this scheme lately:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	fokker D.VII max holtzem.jpg
Views:	479
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	117179  
dcwwcp is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:18 PM
  #7  
barmonkey
Member
Thread Starter
 
barmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 688
Default

That's a whole lotta lozenge!
barmonkey is offline  
Old 01-03-2010, 12:03 AM
  #8  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

Originally Posted by dcwwcp View Post
well udet is a fairly well known german ace, so another german ace with a red plane is just plain more apt to sell planes.

personally I've been looking at this scheme lately:
Looks like sticker paper time. Make stickers like I did for my flying fish. Should be easy, scan in the shape of the fuselage and wings. Lay lozenge pattern over them. Print and trim to fit.
degreen60 is offline  
Old 01-03-2010, 02:41 AM
  #9  
scalercflyer
Super Contributor
 
scalercflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,312
Default Lozenge

Here's is a look at my GWS sorta Pfalz. I printed the lozenge onto a 8 1/2"x 11 paper off of Aerodrome rc site and using diluted glue, pasted the lozenge onto my fuse. 1 year later and it's still on. Marty
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.jpg
Views:	352
Size:	146.3 KB
ID:	117253   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0006.jpg
Views:	391
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	117254   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0007.jpg
Views:	423
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	117255  
scalercflyer is offline  
Old 01-03-2010, 02:45 AM
  #10  
Hotch
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Must have seen my repaint.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	dvii1.jpg
Views:	418
Size:	68.1 KB
ID:	117256   Click image for larger version

Name:	dvii2.JPG
Views:	436
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	117257  
Hotch is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 03:55 AM
  #11  
IndyJones
Member
 
IndyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 109
Default

Has anyone built one the Eflite Fokker DVIIs yet? I started on mine last week-end but unfortunately, I've slightly bent the spoked housing on my brand new Eflite Park 250 motor when I tried to reverse the shaft. I followed the instructions carefully, but the shaft wouldn't budge. When I tapped it a bit with a "small" hammer per the instructions, the spoked housing that the shaft sits inside of bent a little, so now it's ruined. Sad to say that Eflite was no help. I emailed them and they do not sell the housing separately and they don't do repairs.


Update: Ok I bought another Eflite Park 250 today and tried again. The shafts just won't budge for me... even after adding a little heat to the tip of the shaft as the guy from my local hobby shop suggested. Guess I'll give up and use the stupid rubber bands to hold the prop on.

Last edited by IndyJones; 05-29-2010 at 10:07 PM.
IndyJones is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:02 AM
  #12  
scalercflyer
Super Contributor
 
scalercflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,312
Default Substitute motor

Check this out Indy. Slightly heavier and more powerful than the eflite 250. Price is nice too. I bought 2 of them! Marty

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...ushless/Detail
scalercflyer is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:40 AM
  #13  
IndyJones
Member
 
IndyJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 109
Default

Originally Posted by scalercflyer View Post
Check this out Indy. Slightly heavier and more powerful than the eflite 250. Price is nice too. I bought 2 of them! Marty

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...ushless/Detail

Thanks for the info! I got replacements from EFlite and I am now able to reverse the shafts without any problems. Not sure what the issue was with the originals that I bought.
IndyJones is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 03:17 AM
  #14  
wattman
Member
 
wattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chandler ,Indiana
Posts: 410
Default

Did you push the shaft out the front from the back or visa versa ?
When the shaft is swapped is the "prop saver removed / gone " ?
Is a vise needed to do the change out ?

Any helpful tips and how to do it ?

Thanks
wattman is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 05:52 AM
  #15  
wattman
Member
 
wattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chandler ,Indiana
Posts: 410
Default

Nevermind ............I removed the clip from the back , and hammered and worried the shaft foreward till the clip [remounted on the rearmost slot for it ] was seated on the bearing , and retightened the two propsaver screws and installed the provided prop mount that came with the motor on the now lengthened shaft out front of the motor now .
The shaft sure didn't move easy to start with .
Now with the motor installed in the provided motor mount , and with a 3/32 plywood spacer under the motor mount , it fits and works fine , in consideration that the carbon tube wasn't used , FINE
I sure like the fact that EFlite has a wood re-enforcement inside the wheels for the FOKKER DVII , with a really bright light you can see it , along with its lighting holes to reduce weight , they weigh 4 grams , nice , they are stronger wheels now than what came with the SE5a . And yes I have already ordered , repainted and installed them on my SE5a now .And they are working well on pavement with quite a few landings and touch and go's now .
Assembly continues on my Fokker DVII , , yes I am so slow .
wattman is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 01:08 PM
  #16  
scalercflyer
Super Contributor
 
scalercflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,312
Default SE5a

Hey Watt, Guys, I used a Blue Wonder on mine without having to use the dreaded tube. Works fine. Marty
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail
scalercflyer is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 04:12 PM
  #17  
wattman
Member
 
wattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chandler ,Indiana
Posts: 410
Default

Maiden flight of my EFlite Fokker DVII early this AM with NO wind , yea
Assembled exatly as the manual reads and with the suggusted gear , and its tail heavy .
Blade CX2 coaxe heli donated the AR6100E receiver and the 2 S60 servos .
So late last night I grabbed a weight that seemed right , sticky taped it on and it flys at half throttle , I like it , its easier to see in the air than the SE5a or the Sopwith Pup , so it may help me at Sunset patrols
Now I need to get some more of the 2s 800 mah lipos that I had for my CX2s helis , the 4 batteries I have do not allow for many flights with my 3 slow flyers if I take all 3 to the park .

Happy with my slowflyers and no wind , beautiful morning
wattman is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 07:17 PM
  #18  
scalercflyer
Super Contributor
 
scalercflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,312
Default

Originally Posted by wattman View Post
Maiden flight of my EFlite Fokker DVII early this AM with NO wind , yea
Assembled exatly as the manual reads and with the suggusted gear , and its tail heavy .
Blade CX2 coaxe heli donated the AR6100E receiver and the 2 S60 servos .
So late last night I grabbed a weight that seemed right , sticky taped it on and it flys at half throttle , I like it , its easier to see in the air than the SE5a or the Sopwith Pup , so it may help me at Sunset patrols
Now I need to get some more of the 2s 800 mah lipos that I had for my CX2s helis , the 4 batteries I have do not allow for many flights with my 3 slow flyers if I take all 3 to the park .

Happy with my slowflyers and no wind , beautiful morning
It's all good Watt! Enjoy them. Marty
scalercflyer is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 04:12 PM
  #19  
enemyace19
Beware the hun in the sun
 
enemyace19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Levittown NY
Posts: 72
Default

Ok Did a video this morning I think shes a bit tail heavy still. But I will fix that before next flight. D [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eA0Cs4PyEwM[/media]
enemyace19 is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 04:59 PM
  #20  
wattman
Member
 
wattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chandler ,Indiana
Posts: 410
Default

Another great sloflyer video , my d7 was tail heavy also , and there seems to be postive stabilizer incidence on mine ?
I think I glued in negative top wing incidence with my cabanes ?
Anyway was a bit unhappy with my building abilitys , but , the other day , my D7 seemed to handle the wind that came up , so much better than my SE5a ? Anyone alse think their DVII handles wind better than the SE5a ?

Of course both the Eflites , SE5a and DVII go with me everytime to fly , and trying to become more at ease with my Spad 13 from Electrifly , and that isn't happening
Luckily , have been doing Dawn and Sunset patrols
wattman is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 05:33 PM
  #21  
degreen60
Flying Fish
 
degreen60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomfield, Indiana
Posts: 1,995
Default

Going to have to arm my Eflite Nieuport 17 Flying Fish and take those DVII down.
degreen60 is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 05:43 PM
  #22  
enemyace19
Beware the hun in the sun
 
enemyace19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Levittown NY
Posts: 72
Default

Originally Posted by degreen60 View Post
Going to have to arm my Eflite Nieuport 17 Flying Fish and take those DVII down.
Ach, mein Freund mitbringen Vögelchen heraus zu spielen!!! lol
enemyace19 is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 04:01 AM
  #23  
wattman
Member
 
wattman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chandler ,Indiana
Posts: 410
Default

Have been able to fly a lot of early morning , and late evening patrols with the Fok DVII , lots of great flights , racking the flight hours up .
Late patrol tonight , and there is a sudden lack of power , flight timer has not gone off ?
As it drops down in height and I bring it on down to land , as it passes it has something dangling from the front end ,
and upon landing nicely , I walk to it and find the motor has come out of its mount and wrapped the wires around and around VERY tightly , and the motor is really really HOT .
Well its dark and late when I get home , and I have not checked anything out yet , will get to it in the morning .
Thank goodness these 250 size slow flyers are such good flying planes , and I was able to safely land it as normal as I could .

It will just be the SE5a and Pup on patrol in the morning
wattman is offline  
Old 07-09-2011, 04:34 PM
  #24  
HobbyJumper
Member
 
HobbyJumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southern Ontario Canada
Posts: 351
Default

Exact same thing happened with my Jenny. Another case of the dreaded carbon-fibre tube perhaps?

Originally Posted by wattman View Post
sudden lack of power , the motor has come out of its mount and wrapped the wires around and around VERY tightly
HobbyJumper is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 02:05 AM
  #25  
Nieuport Fly Guy
Member
 
Nieuport Fly Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 334
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyJumper View Post
Exact same thing happened with my Jenny. Another case of the dreaded carbon-fibre tube perhaps?
Speaking of the carbon-fiber tube problem...I just received the E-flite fokker...and while I am waiing for the park 250 motor to arrive...I realized I have a 300 series motor from heads up.

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail

Would this motor be too much for the Fokker? I would firewall mount and bypass the dreaded tube? Or should I just be patient and wait for my 250?

Appreciate the help! Alan
Nieuport Fly Guy is offline  

Quick Reply: E-Flite Fokker D.VII 250


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14877 seconds with 19 queries