Flying the Super Cub - Page 11 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Flying the Super Cub

Old 09-02-2008, 11:32 PM
  #251  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by jksecunda View Post
Tame is good. I will definitly buy the Decathlon 4 channel. I dont feel Im ready for wild aerobatics for some time. I think 80 mph is going to be too fast for me at ANY time. I dont react that quickly and really am flying for the enjoyment and think that kind of flying would be a tad stressful. I am also interested in building a plane (Telemaster).
Thanks for the info.
Forget buying a new plane, buy yourself a dx6i and convert your supercub over to ailerons/brushless setup... that way when you do make the move to a newer setup, you can do much more...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:34 PM
  #252  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default New FMS model for HobbyZone Super Cub

Hi folks,

Having recently purchased a used HZ SC from another flyer.

I have been having a great time flying my cub with a Rhino 1050 mAh LiPoly. The lighter weight battery over stock means cruising around and ROG at 1/2 throttle.

That said, I took some pictures of my SC and created an FMS flight simulator model for the Super Cub.

You can download the model from my website.



Please try it out with FMS and give me some feed back regarding how close it flys to the real thing.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:20 AM
  #253  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
Hi folks,

Having recently purchased a used HZ SC from another flyer.

I have been having a great time flying my cub with a Rhino 1050 mAh LiPoly. The lighter weight battery over stock means cruising around and ROG at 1/2 throttle.

That said, I took some pictures of my SC and created an FMS flight simulator model for the Super Cub.

You can download the model from my website.



Please try it out with FMS and give me some feed back regarding how close it flys to the real thing.

-- ggunners
3Q

1. Have you ever built an FMS simulatuion model before
2. How long did it take you to create this sim
3. What makes this different than other HZ supercub FMS sims


Clint
cbatters is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 03:04 AM
  #254  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
3Q 1. Have you ever built an FMS simulatuion model before 2. How long did it take you to create this sim 3. What makes this different than other HZ supercub FMS sims, Clint
1) Yes, several, see my web site.

2) This model took about 10 hours to create from taking pictures to complete 3D model and .par file.

3) This model is correctly modeled from actual photos and the FMS 2.8.5 .par file is accurately rendered from the 3D model. Almost all the other SuperCub FMS models are using the older FMS 2.7 .par file that does not provide accurate ground handling, multiple collision points and correct wind reaction.

FMS 2 alpha 8.5 (the latest) is required. For those with Vista, there are issues. Check the FMS Forum for work-arounds.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 03:34 AM
  #255  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

ggunners - nice rendering of the SC. Can you make a stock 3 channel version?
cjg is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 03:44 AM
  #256  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
1) Yes, several, see my web site.

2) This model took about 10 hours to create from taking pictures to complete 3D model and .par file.

3) This model is correctly modeled from actual photos and the FMS 2.8.5 .par file is accurately rendered from the 3D model. Almost all the other SuperCub FMS models are using the older FMS 2.7 .par file that does not provide accurate ground handling, multiple collision points and correct wind reaction.

FMS 2 alpha 8.5 (the latest) is required. For those with Vista, there are issues. Check the FMS Forum for work-arounds.

-- ggunners
THX - What do you have to change in PAR file to simulate COG behind COL?


Clint
cbatters is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 06:22 AM
  #257  
1320fastback
Member
 
1320fastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern occupied Mexico
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by jksecunda View Post
I was heavily leaning toward the Decathlon. There is a 3 channel and 4 channel. I was going to get the 4 channel cause I'm brave. I'm willing to take a chance. Is it a good chance I will do well, or am I getting into trouble with 4 channel?

Why not just convert the SC to 4 channels, its still simple to repair and most of the upgrades can be moved on to your next plane.
1320fastback is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:56 PM
  #258  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by cjg View Post
ggunners - nice rendering of the SC. Can you make a stock 3 channel version?
That is the stock 3 channel. Rudder on the right stick. If you want rudder on the left stick, edit the hz-supercub.par file, find the <FIN> and change the channel from 3 to 1.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:04 PM
  #259  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
THX - What do you have to change in PAR file to simulate COG behind COL? Clint
Move the CG toward the rear, negative number in the MAIN section of the .par file. The XYZ CG setting .03 meters back would be -0.03 0 0.

MAIN
0.71 //Mass [Kg]
0.0497 //Roll Inertia Moment Ixx [kg*m^2]
0.032 //Pitch Inertia Moment Iyy [kg*m^2]
0.0731 //Yaw Inertia Moment Izz [kg*m^2]
-0.00087 //Ixz [kg*m^2]
-0.03 0 0 //CGadjust, X,Y,Z [m]
0.21 //Height of Center of gravity [m]
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 03:35 AM
  #260  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
Move the CG toward the rear, negative number in the MAIN section of the .par file. The XYZ CG setting .03 meters back would be -0.03 0 0.
Many, many thanks for your contributions and quick response.



Clint
cbatters is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 04:11 AM
  #261  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Originally Posted by cjg View Post
ggunners - nice rendering of the SC. Can you make a stock 3 channel version?
Oops, when I tested this the other day I didn't load the HZ supercub you actually made, but an another version I downloaded previously.

Yours is 3 channel and emulates the HZ SC pretty well. It seems just a tad bit sluggish on the elevator and rudder. Perhaps that is because early on I moved my control connections in to make my SC more responsive.

Is there anyway to "tweak" the responsiveness of the controls?

Sorry about my earlier mistake....
cjg is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 05:27 PM
  #262  
TheDustyPagan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 138
Default

Is there a 4 channel (aileron) supercub fms model by any chance?
TheDustyPagan is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 03:58 PM
  #263  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by cjg View Post
Is there anyway to "tweak" the responsiveness of the controls?
In the FMS .par file for the model, use Windows NotePad to increase the deflection for the control surface to something higher (lower if negative) until it more closely approximates your actual model.

As an example you could try:

//Wing3 <STAB>
10 //Maximum Angle [deg] change to 16 (elevator)
//Wing4 <FIN>
-18 //Maximum Angle [deg] change to -26 (rudder)

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 04:20 PM
  #264  
ggunners
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 246
Default

Originally Posted by TheDustyPagan View Post
Is there a 4 channel (aileron) supercub fms model by any chance?
Yo Dusty!

Here's a 4 channel Super Cub.

Dropped dihedral from 6 degrees to 2 degrees. Added ailerons.
Rudder now on left stick with tail wheel. Ailerons on right stick.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 01:54 AM
  #265  
cjg
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
In the FMS .par file for the model, use Windows NotePad to increase the deflection for the control surface to something higher (lower if negative) until it more closely approximates your actual model.

As an example you could try:

//Wing3 <STAB>
10 //Maximum Angle [deg] change to 16 (elevator)
//Wing4 <FIN>
-18 //Maximum Angle [deg] change to -26 (rudder)

-- ggunners
TX I actually used 15 and -28 respectively and changed battery cells to 8, it closely approximates my SC with the linkage moved in from the stock setting with my 8 cell NIMH.

Great trainer. Can't wait to share it with a friend who is struggling to learn to fly!

Last edited by cjg; 09-16-2008 at 02:22 AM.
cjg is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 07:24 PM
  #266  
TheDustyPagan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 138
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by ggunners View Post
Yo Dusty!

Here's a 4 channel Super Cub.

Dropped dihedral from 6 degrees to 2 degrees. Added ailerons.
Rudder now on left stick with tail wheel. Ailerons on right stick.

-- ggunners
Thanks
TheDustyPagan is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:27 AM
  #267  
C130 Load
Member
 
C130 Load's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Formerly Chicago,Now Huntley,Il
Posts: 329
Default

Originally Posted by Sabrehawk View Post
it is one of the most misunderstood things about the air, and its mostly misunderstood of R/C flying
It is also the one of the hardest things to grasp when learning to fly real airplanes. When I was learning every time I tried to use the yoke to go up or down on final my instructor (A friend) would rap me on the knuckles with a ruler.
I soon learned to use the throttle.

BTW Great advice Sabrehawk.
C130 Load is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Panavia
Beginners
11
04-14-2008 06:22 AM
GreenAce92
ParkFlyers
11
12-05-2007 10:47 PM
phillipmorris
Beginners
0
09-20-2007 04:55 AM
IL2mSturmovik
Beginners
4
02-24-2007 07:21 AM
aircruiser
General Electric Discussions
7
09-26-2006 09:04 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Flying the Super Cub


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11829 seconds with 14 queries