Help w/ altitude control on Blade 400? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

E-Flite Helicopters Discuss E-Flite helicopters in this forum such as the Blade CX, Blade CX2, Blade CP Pro and all other E-Flite rc helis.

Help w/ altitude control on Blade 400?

Old 01-22-2009, 12:36 AM
  #1  
rgf1046
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Help w/ altitude control on Blade 400?

I have a blade 400 that I have been hovering now for a few days and feel like it's set up fairly well. I am using a DX6i Tx and my question is, the difference between it gaining altitude rather quickly and dropping too quickly seems like it's less than 1 click on the left stick - it's really hard to maintain a consistant hover height. I put 0 pitch on the blades at mid-stick, Norm throttle curve is 0, 50, 80, 90, 100. Norm pitch curve is 45, 48, 50, 75, and 100. Not sure if those have any effect on this but thought I'd let you know where I was set at. Any thoughts on what to look at?
Thanks.
rgf1046 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 12:59 AM
  #2  
birdDog
Charging....
 
birdDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Too close to Chicago.
Posts: 2,433
Default

Not sure about the DX6I but on the DX6 I removed the back panel on the transmitter and removed the detent or steel spring that ratchets on the throttle stick. Others have placed a small piece of heat shrink tubing or fuel line over the rachet arm (this way keeps a little tension on the stick). This will give you a WAY smoother throttle for heli flying.
birdDog is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 01:03 AM
  #3  
rgf1046
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Never thought about it being a mchanical issue with the transmitter, but that makes sense. I guess that's why the heli version of the DX6i has the smooth throttle stick. I am using my Tx that originally was used for my planes, and it clicks. I'll try and see if I can do what you did. Thanks.
rgf1046 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:58 AM
  #4  
capt. crash
is cooler than you
 
capt. crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 366
Default

I would have to agree with that comment as well, on my heli DX6i it really does take just the smallest hint of a bump to change altitude significantly, and i've seen how big the ratchets are on the plane versions, so if everything else is perfect that would be more than enough to screw stuff up. Here's to hoping it's your only problem!
capt. crash is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:21 AM
  #5  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Removing the ratchet action from the left stick should help some. Remember simple physics play here too. Takes more energy to climb than to descend the same distance as gravity is pulling against you.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 05:38 AM
  #6  
rgf1046
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I adjusted the metal detent strip on the back of the throttle so it is smooth now. I'll fly tomorrow and see how it does. Thanks.
rgf1046 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 07:11 AM
  #7  
rgf1046
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Helped a lot, thanks!
rgf1046 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 07:31 AM
  #8  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Excellent!

Most radios sold in a helicopter specific version have the ratchet action disabled on the throttle stick. I'm used to even flying my planks with a smooth throttle stick these days.

Twmaster is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 07:38 AM
  #9  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

you can reverse the strip that ratchets, and bend it backwards a little and put it back on upside down, that will allow you to be able to still adjust the tension, and take the ratchetting motion out...

Do you have a pitch guage, (if not get one) if its too sensitive, change the pitch settings from +12 -12 to something a bit lower like +10 -9 That should help alot for learning....

also make sure to fly in idle up, otherwise the tail can get away from you....

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 06:36 PM
  #10  
Alpha_&_Omega
Too many birds
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey!
Posts: 54
Default

did you set you mid stick to zero with the throttle hold on, or the motor disconnected? the dx6i has 3 different pitch curves. i used to set my hold curve to my normal mode curve so that i would not have to disconnect the motor, so defiant check that. also, check your high stick an low stick are at your desired end points in stunt mode. if not you may need to adjust the pitch setting on your swash mix.

personally I fly with 10, 0, -10 in stunt and 10, 0 , -5 in normal.
Alpha_&_Omega is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Alpha_&_Omega
E-Flite Helicopters
4
01-11-2009 08:32 PM
MARKZR7
E-Flite Helicopters
1
12-17-2008 03:04 AM
Shadow
Beginners - Helis
2
09-11-2007 08:04 PM
Laszlo
E-Flite Helicopters
12
09-01-2007 12:46 AM
rlipp69
Beginners - Helis
2
04-28-2007 04:59 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Help w/ altitude control on Blade 400?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.06520 seconds with 15 queries