Castle Creations discussion All things Castle

Help CC Phoenix 10 problem

Old 09-26-2011, 05:59 AM
  #1  
rc4j
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default CC Phoenix 10 problem

I successfully updated my phoenix 10 esc (firm ver 1.xx) to the latest firmware (3.xx), via castle link. Afterwards, it would recognize a 2S or 3S pack, but would fail to start motor on Auto Detect cell count, giving a 2 count beep/flash. If I set it to 6.0v cutoff, it would run the 2S, and if set to 9.0v cutoff, it would run the 3S. Wanting to be able to try either battery type with my setup, I resorted to going back to the original ver1.xx firmware. At the end of the programming steps, it gave an error saying the controller was not responding, and may need to be re-connected. Now the esc will not work with either cell count, and I can't get it to respond in an attempt to re-program it, either via castle link, or manually using the transmitter stick.
At this point, I'm not sure what else to try. Did I ruin this thing by going back to old firmware, or is there a way to correct it? Will I need to send it to Castle for repair???

thanks,
J.
rc4j is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:23 AM
  #2  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by j.williams View Post
I successfully updated my phoenix 10 esc (firm ver 1.xx) to the latest firmware (3.xx), via castle link. Afterwards, it would recognize a 2S or 3S pack, but would fail to start motor on Auto Detect cell count, giving a 2 count beep/flash. If I set it to 6.0v cutoff, it would run the 2S, and if set to 9.0v cutoff, it would run the 3S. Wanting to be able to try either battery type with my setup, I resorted to going back to the original ver1.xx firmware. At the end of the programming steps, it gave an error saying the controller was not responding, and may need to be re-connected. Now the esc will not work with either cell count, and I can't get it to respond in an attempt to re-program it, either via castle link, or manually using the transmitter stick.
At this point, I'm not sure what else to try. Did I ruin this thing by going back to old firmware, or is there a way to correct it? Will I need to send it to Castle for repair???

thanks,
J.
Don't know if CC corrected it or not, but I've run into two CC programmers where the programmers servo leads pulled slightly out of the connector.

That's probably not your problem, but its worth a look.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:34 AM
  #3  
rc4j
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

thanks, I'll check that.
rc4j is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:45 AM
  #4  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 2,000
Default

I have talked directly to CC before and found them to be very nice and very helpful.

They can give you a real solid answer, and help you fix it.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 08:33 AM
  #5  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

You're going to need to call Castle. Im pretty sure that once you up-grade from 1.XX firmware that you cannot go back - at least not all the way back.

I suspect you now need to send the controller in to get it repaired. Most likely they wil just give you a new one but there may be a nominal charge since you are out of warranty.

Call them to be sure.

Good luck!
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:51 PM
  #6  
rc4j
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks guys, I'll try calling them today.
rc4j is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 05:53 AM
  #7  
rc4j
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I spoke w/ Gregg in tech support today, and he said to send it in, and I would get a replacement since the problem was caused by firmware updating. That's outstanding customer service!
rc4j is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 02:01 PM
  #8  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Yep they rock and stand behind their product.
rcers is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
maverickma
General RC items For Sale and WTB
25
02-22-2013 03:48 AM
Grasshopper
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
1
08-21-2011 04:17 AM
Gee
Power Systems
20
04-14-2011 03:29 AM
Nitro Blast
General Electric Discussions
12
02-26-2011 02:59 PM
mclarkson
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
13
02-13-2011 12:45 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Help CC Phoenix 10 problem


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08595 seconds with 13 queries