Castle Creations discussion All things Castle

HV 85 help please

Old 07-12-2009, 04:05 PM
Ricky401

Default HV 85 help please

Hi
I've got myslef an HV 85 ESC and an axi 2826/12 (soon to be upgraded to 4130/16) motor. I am using a 5s2p battery.

There are a couple of things that I cannot figure out (I am new to electrics by the way)

1) in the instructions it says if using >3s lip to remove the red lead formthe receiver connection. If i do this though it seems to stop it working altogether so at present I am trying to bench test it with this lead still on - but am using an independent battery for the receiver.

what should I do here?

2) I cannot get it to spin the motor up properly. I can get life out of it - but as soon as I try to increase the throttle a little bit it spins up then stalls. It seems to do this in a sequence though, ie if I up the throttle gradually until it first starts to move then leave it - it seems to go through 3 or 4 very tiny increases in the revs then stops dead. the red light then flashes on and off continually. If I reduce the throttle again to zero - it will intermittently make one flash and beep. I can use it again though bu t the same thing happens.

I don't know much about this but the mototr seems to be jumping a bit as though if it were a car engine the timing is out? I've played with the three standard timing settings on the motor but though it seems to smooth the jumping a bit - it still jumps and it still stalls.

I am using a futaba tx and the throttle is reversed as instructed.
any advicee would be most gratefully received as this is very frustrating.

thanks

Rick
Old 07-12-2009, 08:50 PM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

Originally Posted by Ricky401 View Post
Hi
I've got myslef an HV 85 ESC and an axi 2826/12 (soon to be upgraded to 4130/16) motor. I am using a 5s2p battery.

There are a couple of things that I cannot figure out (I am new to electrics by the way)