Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

New Member saying hello

Old 01-11-2008, 02:45 AM
shotgunsmitty
Thread Killer

Default New Member saying hello

I really didn't know where to place my first post, but as I'm a beginner this place sounded good. I figured I'd get the pad party out of the way before I start asking questions.

Anyway, a little about me, I've never crashed a plane! Okay, okay, so I've never built one, but I'm sure that both of those statements are about to change. I live in Alaska. Yes, we have snow. Yes, it's cold. Yes, there are native Americans here. No, we don't live in igloos...even this time of the year. Supplies are difficult to get here, as we are 100 miles from the nearest "big city" of around 30,000. Oh, and that would be by boat or by air, you can't drive there. Yes, it gets dark right now around 4pm...and in the summer in June it doesn't get dark. Yes, I've seen the Northern Lights. I think I've covered the most common questions, but fire away. It's not insanely cold, we haven't been above freezing for a few weeks now, and we've had record snow over the last few weeks. It did get all the way down to -2 the other day. Wind Chill? You don't want to go there. The city I live in is Skagway, google earth it if you're interested, and going down the canal, yes, that's a cruise ship. We're in Southeast Alaska, so our weather isn't all that terrible to be honest. Plus, we're at sea level. Which brings me to some of my first questions...or would you prefer I begin a new thread? I rather think I will, in the foamie section, since that's where my interests lie.

At any rate, I do appreciate any welcome that may be extended, and I would like to say thank you for being a very literate bunch of folks. It makes reading and learning so much easier when you don't have to decipher 80% of what's written. I put my Grammar Police badge away when I'm on here, too.