Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Poor man's bank 'n' yank advice

Old 06-01-2011, 01:43 AM
  #1  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Unhappy Poor man's bank 'n' yank advice

Well, my greatest fears have come to fruition regarding my car inspection and bank account. The two have a very inverse relationship. So, my cart full of Super Cub upgrades at HeadsUp RC will have to wait at least another week or more. (See my rant on Off Topic Chit Chat, if you have nothing better to do)

So, I now have a clipped wing HZ Super Cub with no dihedral. It's my only flyable plane at the moment. It does fly, but is pretty much a dog without ailerons. It was suggested by a Wattflyer member to convert it to a bank and yank with ailerons and fixed rudder.

Anyone have a clever thought as to how to make a linkage with the stock servo to actuate ailerons instead of rudder?

Thanks,
Broke in Pennsylvania
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:19 AM
  #2  
zzlentz
Member
 
zzlentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ar-Kansas
Posts: 360
Default

Friend,money is no object at my house.(Cause there ain't none).
I know how ya feel.After losing last champ,it was rough.But it gets better.I have another Champ now and a Night Vapor.Plus the old Mini Cub that I never could fly,even when new.
Keep your chin up,nothing last forever.Even a Depression.

I have some mini cub wings i might could send,if they would fit the Super.
zzlentz is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:20 AM
  #3  
jungmann1
electron deficient
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 263
Default

I assume you are talking about moving the servo into the wing? IF that is the case, it is a simple matter to make up some torque rods to actuate both ailerons from one central position with the servo mounted on the bottom surface of the center of the wing. Would require a little surgery to lop off the trailing edge to make room for the bearings for the torque rods, but no big deal. john.
jungmann1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:47 AM
  #4  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

ZZ-thanks! Its not like we won't eat, but the RC budget is blown for a while. But I do know I can cut the car bill significantly by not just bending over!

So, torque rods with servo mounted in the wing, itself? I think I get it. The axis of rotation of the servo would be parallel with the wing. So the servo arm, at neutral position would be perpendicular to the wing and level, in line with the fuselage. Am I envisioning this correctly?

Thanks!
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:03 AM
  #5  
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 7,059
Default

Earth take a look at this thread look at baldpauls plane in the picture this will show what you have to do for torque rods.
My first foamie!
gramps2361 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:09 AM
  #6  
JZSlenker
Member
 
JZSlenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 206
Default

Hey Earth, where do you fly in Dallastown? Propbusters? My dad lives down there and I'm trying to get him involved with flying again.

No money and RC is a horrible combination that many of us find ourselves in. Hang in there.
JZSlenker is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:17 AM
  #7  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

Gramps- AHA! I got it! Thanks!

JZ-I fly in the field behind my house, at York Township Park, and at the school where I teach (Allen Middle School off the Slate Hill Rd exit of Rt 15 South near Camp Hill). The field at school is GREAT! I don't belong to a club and only have my little Super Cub in the air at them moment.

I know there are a couple of clubs in the area, but I don't know anything about them.
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:25 AM
  #8  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default

Also make sure there is zero slop in your linkage, too much and it causes flutter at flying speed, makes the a/c fly wobbly!!

have a good one
cr


here is a pic from my formosa manual, that uses single servo for 2 ailerons
kinda hard to see, two lateral thick wires glued into the ailerons, that make the linkage perpendicular to your servo arms, so no flex or slop can happen.

man that pic is horrible, let me try again...lol
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00234.JPG
Views:	148
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	148956  
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:29 AM
  #9  
K CLOSE
Huge Member
 
K CLOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dutchess Co NY
Posts: 542
Default

DuBro sells a "linkage kit" , but if you can bend wire it's easy enough to scratch build. The linkage in the wing should be in a guide tube (r/c car antenna tube works great and is cheap) and into your wing surface to it's center thickness. One 90* bend to the rear at the control surface and a second 90* bend to up (or down depending on how you look at it) and your good. Upper controls should look like Crimsons pic. I snagged one of the newly deceased F2G's wing for a second ref. photo.

PS- Flaperons are a no-no unless you run the control surfaces the whole length of the wing-all the way to the 'fuse. Otherwise they are "tipstallerons" apparently, and not really doable with no rudder anyway.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0325.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	148967   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0324.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	148968  
K CLOSE is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:35 AM
  #10  
jungmann1
electron deficient
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 263
Default

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35181

This should get you there. John.
jungmann1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:57 AM
  #11  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

Thanks, everyone!
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 04:08 PM
  #12  
K CLOSE
Huge Member
 
K CLOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dutchess Co NY
Posts: 542
Default

Well How did it go?
K CLOSE is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 08:53 PM
  #13  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

I saved myself about $1100 from the quoted price from the mechanic ($1400) by doing most of the work myself, so I ordered the stuff from HeadsUp. I initially only installed a single servo for the elevator, but wasn't happy with the aileron authority. So, I've gone to two servos, one for each aileron, and made new, larger ailerons from balsa. I need a new LiPo for the plane, as I stupidly left it plugged in overnight last week. I've been out of town camping with my wife the last four days, so the plane is grounded 'till I pick up a new battery. Thanks for asking! Hope to have it in the sky in the next couple of days!
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 12:38 AM
  #14  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Thumbs up It flies!

Finally got my Super Cub back in the air! It is a BLAST! I'm really happy with the increase in performance with the brushless motor. What surprised me is how quiet it is in the air now. I guess the gearbox added a lot of noise. The ailerons are nicely responsive after making them wider. I'm very pleased with the outcome!
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 01:48 AM
  #15  
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,308
Default

Sweet a savings of 1100 bucks thats awesome......wish I was flying, windy as hell here forever and I have two planes to maiden, almost three.
and yeah gears are loud!!lol

have a good one
cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 03:10 AM
  #16  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

I just got back in from flying on a fully charged battery for the first time. Holy crap! This thing is a rocket! It climbs out on takeoff and just keeps going up. And it still flies slow really well! It doesn't porpoise with power. I don't know how I got this lucky, but, dang! I am smiling like a lunatic right now!
earthsciteach is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 04:21 PM
  #17  
K CLOSE
Huge Member
 
K CLOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dutchess Co NY
Posts: 542
Default

Glad to hear it Teach. May all your mods go as well as that one!
Cheers
K CLOSE is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 04:57 PM
  #18  
earthsciteach
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallastown, PA
Posts: 958
Default

Hope so, but my last name is Murphy and that danged law kicks my butt regularly! Ha ha
earthsciteach is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
SmoothCruizer
Beginners
62
01-16-2011 08:58 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Poor man's bank 'n' yank advice


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.15426 seconds with 17 queries