PhoenixV3 simulator - My heli not included. - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

PhoenixV3 simulator - My heli not included.

Old 02-24-2012, 08:42 AM
  #1  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default PhoenixV3 simulator - My heli not included.

I have just bought The Phoenix simulator and Spektrum DX6i transmitter.
I was hoping to learn to fly my CH X4 series co-axial heli but as this heli is not one included in the simulator, and it's radio cannot be used with the simulator, I am unable to even start learning to fly.
Money wasted here?
Please, can someone advise.
Barrymore is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 05:43 PM
  #2  
startazz
Member
 
startazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich,Norfolk UK
Posts: 228
Default

I don't think you have wasted your money at all but if you stick at his hobby you will soon realise you will have saved money in the long run,because you would of saved money from all those crashes we all have at the start.

I think you will find most 4 ch co-axial heli's fly just about the same ( most of mine do) so don't worry about flying one thats not 100% the same as yours but if you can pick one thats close to the same sort of size you will be good to go.

You should be able to get most radios to work with that sim,most of my old ones do and there not all 2.4ghz,just trying typing your radio name and the flight into google search engine and you might be lucky and find a set-up gide on this forum or another one.

Hope this helps in some way and good luck,you will soon learn how easy they can be to fly.
startazz is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:36 PM
  #3  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Keep in mind, despite what the sims tell you, none of them will replicate a models behaviour exactly. Especially, you can't simulate the pucker factor. Just pick one that's similar and you'll do just fine.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 09:07 PM
  #4  
bbqflyer
Member
 
bbqflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 119
Default

as for radio, did you get the version of phoenix w/o radio? If so, you'll have to buy a spektrum/jr radio and make sure you have the cable to connect the radio to the computer. As for the software, most of the coaxials handle the same as any other. I also have both phoenix and Real Flight, and for heli's phoenix beats it hands down!
bbqflyer is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:30 AM
  #5  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default

I bought both together. Tried to program radio then connected it and tried to calibrate it. I selected a co-axial heli but by simply shifting the throttle lever up, the heli lifts up vertically. My real heli moves around in circles before it lifts off, by which time it's run out of space and I have to cut throttle.
Barrymore is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:15 AM
  #6  
startazz
Member
 
startazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich,Norfolk UK
Posts: 228
Default

Originally Posted by Barrymore View Post
I bought both together. Tried to program radio then connected it and tried to calibrate it. I selected a co-axial heli but by simply shifting the throttle lever up, the heli lifts up vertically. My real heli moves around in circles before it lifts off, by which time it's run out of space and I have to cut throttle.
Sounds as if your real heli might need a bit of trim on the left or right trim tabs if it's going in circles that much,try to add a bit of opposite turn when you try to take off,maybe someone can explain it a bit better than i can but i hope you understand what i'm trying to say.

I've brought a couple of good co-axial heli's from Hobbyking before that need to slight bit of trim to stop them from going in circles,once i trimed them they were good to go.

Good luck and keep us all posted on whats going on,if possible try to let us know whats going on in more detail.
startazz is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:34 AM
  #7  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default

I have many questions, but shall take one thing at a time.
By the way, my real heli has it's trim switches set as best as possible.

Question 1: When programing my Spektrum radio, do the trim switches need to be activated when calibrating with Phoenix Sim? or
are these only used on a real heli?

Question2 :
The radio's manual's says to set all programable switches to default, but I
do not know which are programable or what the default setting is.

Question 3: Some setup items are very confusing like pitch curves, gyro rate settings, different mixes, etc. Can someone please help this newbie.
Barrymore is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 12:14 PM
  #8  
bbqflyer
Member
 
bbqflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 119
Default

Barry, I agree with startazz, in the sim the heli is doing what a balanced and trimmed out heli should do. Yours may need some adjusting yet, but again sim world and real world do not always reflect each other. As for your questions,

1. Your switches can be used in the sim if you program them to be, but to start leave them in default position which leads to question...
2. default on a spektrum is in the up position, or away from you. You will also denote a little sticker next to switch with a 0 and a 1. 0 is the default.
3. Some setups can be confusing, in which I wouldn't start changing a lot of things unless the manufacturer tells you to. Also, find a heli pilot at your LH or club and talk to them about how to setup your heli correctly. As you know you'll find a lot of setups on the internet as well, but be aware, a setup may be good for one person, may not work so well for another.

Last edited by bbqflyer; 02-25-2012 at 12:15 PM. Reason: bad spelling
bbqflyer is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:37 PM
  #9  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for the advise. I must just add that if I select a coaxial heli in
"beginners" list in the sim, the engine throttle lifts the heli vertically, no problem, no sideways or circular movement around the floor.
This is easy, but with my real heli, not.
The trim switches were set by attaching a pole to the training gear and this enabled me to easily adjust vertical and horizontal drift.
Barrymore is offline  
Old 04-06-2013, 09:16 AM
  #10  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default

I have the SH 8830.
Over a year has now passed.
A year ago I took my helicopter to a model shop where an expert set the trim switches

and got the heli to hover in the shop, yet I am unable to control it outdoors.(no wind)

The problem is that the tail keeps on moving around thereby changing the flight direction.

This creates a problem in a restricted environment.

I've stopped blaming myself and suspect that the problem possibly relates to a cheap servo.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
Barrymore is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 12:11 PM
  #11  
Barrymore
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default SH 8830

I've just taken my SH 8830 to a specialist at a hobby shop.
He tested it and confirmed that it is not me, the pilot, at fault.
He found that it was not "remembering" the trim settings and
confirmed that after a few minutes it lost power because the
motor was over heating.
Time to dump this rubbish.
Barrymore is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
krazikev
General RC E-Heli Talk
14
12-20-2011 09:24 PM
phillipmorris
Beginners - Helis
10
12-02-2011 04:49 PM
crxmanpat
Helicopters- Electric For Sale & WTB
2
11-29-2011 09:30 PM
ehirobo.com
Micro Sized Electric Helicopters
0
12-20-2010 02:50 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: PhoenixV3 simulator - My heli not included.


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11650 seconds with 15 queries