WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Power Systems (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   How Do I Mount My Outrunner Motor ? (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39483)

CHELLIE 12-31-2010 08:54 AM

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLYildJ1X84[/media]

CHELLIE 12-31-2010 09:08 AM

putting the motor behind the firewall/motor mount should be better, because it should be stronger and IMHO will look better with a nice clean tight nosecone fit to the fuselage.

Also Welcome to Wattflyers DL8698 :)
<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> vbmenu_register("postmenu_774531", true); </SCRIPT>

DL8698 12-31-2010 09:14 AM


Originally Posted by CHELLIE (Post 774534)
Hi DL8689 here are a few ideas for you :)

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUBdAbq9t7I&feature=related[/media]


http://www.nitroplanes.com/ventus-di...sailplane.html
power pod

Hi, Chellie

Yes, I have considered the power pod method

The retractable pod looks a bit complicated to build. And a non retractable pod will probably not be good for thermalling with power off. That is why I chose the folding prop nose mounted method.

Not sure how well the DG1000 model thermals although it is based on a full sized glider which I'm sure thermals well, with its high aspect ratio wings.

CHELLIE 12-31-2010 09:18 AM


Originally Posted by DL8698 (Post 774539)
Hi, Chellie

Yes, I have considered the power pod method

The retractable pod looks a bit complicated to build. And a non retractable pod will probably not be good for thermalling with power off. That is why I chose the folding prop nose mounted method.

Not sure how well the DG1000 model thermals although it is based on a full sized glider which I'm sure thermals well, with its high aspect ratio wings.

Hi :ws: I found this thread on converting a large glider to E Power, hope it helps, Take care and have fun, Chellie

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_82...tm.htm#8237737

CHELLIE 12-31-2010 09:21 AM

I had a 2 meter glider that i used a power pod with, it worked great, I used a nitro engine, gee that was about 25 years ago :) hope you are able to find the info you need, there is not a lot of info on converting larger 3 meter gliders to E Power for some reason, Take care, Chellie

CHELLIE 12-31-2010 09:31 AM

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=694339&page=8

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...G?d=1197951010


http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...G?d=1197951010

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=694339&page=9

DL8698 12-31-2010 03:18 PM


Thanks for the links. This is more or less what I'm thinking of doing. Now I know it can be done this way.

And Happy New Year to All on Wattflyer... will be 2011 in about 45 min here in Singapore. :Q

FlyWheel 01-12-2011 04:38 AM

SNQ
 
What a Great thread, and just what I'm looking for too! I have already searched it, and this question has not come up yet, so here goes...

I am building an AeroCraft Miss Stik (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59723) And I have decided to use the recommended AXI 2212/26 brushless out-runner to power it. From the specs it looks like a good motor for this bird, however what I don't like is the recommended mounting location, which is on the cowling. This wouldn't be a problem except the cowling is only taped onto the front of the fuselage. To me this is no better that just taping the motor onto the plane and I see all sorts of problems arising from it*. So what I would like to know is (are?):
  1. Can this motor be mounted onto the firewall instead? if so:
  2. How is this done?
  3. May I assume an adapter of some sort must be bought?
  4. How long will the combination motor/adapter be (I have 1.25 inches to work with)?
Thanks in advance :$

*The problems I see with using only tape to hold the motor on are:
  • That setting up the proper thrust angles will be much harder,
  • That they will be harder to keep correct and
  • That every insignifigant little bump on the nose will throw them off.
I don't want to have to deal with all this :censor:, I would much rather have a solid mount against the firewall that will stay where I put it. Let the cowling be what it is meant to be; a covering for the motor.

CHELLIE 01-12-2011 05:13 AM


Originally Posted by FlyWheel (Post 777239)
What a Great thread, and just what I'm looking for too! I have already searched it, and this question has not come up yet, so here goes...

I am building an AeroCraft Miss Stik (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59723) And I have decided to use the recommended AXI 2212/26 brushless out-runner to power it. From the specs it looks like a good motor for this bird, however what I don't like is the recommended mounting location, which is on the cowling. This wouldn't be a problem except the cowling is only taped onto the front of the fuselage. To me this is no better that just taping the motor onto the plane and I see all sorts of problems arising from it*. So what I would like to know is (are?):
  1. Can this motor be mounted onto the firewall instead? if so:
  2. How is this done?
  3. May I assume an adapter of some sort must be bought?
  4. How long will the combination motor/adapter be (I have 1.25 inches to work with)?
Thanks in advance :$



*The problems I see with using only tape to hold the motor on are:
  • That setting up the proper thrust angles will be much harder,
  • That they will be harder to keep correct and
  • That every insignifigant little bump on the nose will throw them off.
I don't want to have to deal with all this :censor:, I would much rather have a solid mount against the firewall that will stay where I put it. Let the cowling be what it is meant to be; a covering for the motor.


It looks to be a simple motor mount bolted to the firewall from the pic. measure your motor with the cowl, so it fits right, if not you will need to find a motor thats not to long, better a fat motor than a long motor :)

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=601101&page=4

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...G?d=1166061293

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...G?d=1170021567

CHELLIE 01-12-2011 05:31 AM

here is another idea if you want to use a stick motor mount, use a 3/8" x 3/8" bass wood, if the mount is a little loose, wrap masking tape on the wood, with a little ca, that will make for a tight fit.

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...g?d=1189734911

FlyWheel 01-16-2011 03:24 AM


Originally Posted by CHELLIE (Post 777243)
It looks to be a simple motor mount bolted to the firewall from the pic. measure your motor with the cowl, so it fits right, if not you will need to find a motor thats not to long, better a fat motor than a long motor :)

I've read that thread, in fact I have a printed copy with me on my building board. The motor pictured in that pic is not an AXI, it's a Frio 10 http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=601101&page=4 (post #50).

However, I found the Axi home page, and yes, with an adapter plate/spindle it can be rear mounted, and it will just barely fit. Backwards! :D
http://www.modelmotors.cz/products/AXI221226_02.gif
http://www.modelmotors.cz/index.php?...e=26&line=GOLD

Turner 02-21-2013 01:56 PM

Here is a store bought option that lets you customize your mount from many different parts.

http://www.espritmodel.com/search.aspx?find=motor+mount

Gumby77 02-24-2013 08:27 PM

Need some brain power on this one.
 
1 Attachment(s)
What would you all do in this situation? The mounting bracket spread is too big for the firewall. I could get longer screws, put the bracket on the back side of the firewall and use the holes for mounting the bracket to the motor... Anyone have any other ideas?

hayofstacks 02-24-2013 11:49 PM

Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.

CHELLIE 02-25-2013 12:32 AM


Originally Posted by hayofstacks (Post 901867)
Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.

+1 :ws: Great Advice, Also you can cut off the holes on the X mount and drill some new holes closer in, it looks like the motor body tappers towards the rear, so it should not be a problem with getting the screws into the fire wall. Hope that helps, Chellie

Gumby77 02-25-2013 03:10 PM


Originally Posted by hayofstacks (Post 901867)
Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.


That is what I was originally thinking so it's great to hear. I'll post pictures of the workaround.


Thanks

pilot101 08-07-2014 10:12 PM

Chellie Will this work on foam board pushers? I need to strengthen my motor mount on my pusher .. Paul

CHELLIE 08-07-2014 11:43 PM


Originally Posted by pilot101 (Post 954717)
Chellie Will this work on foam board pushers? I need to strengthen my motor mount on my pusher .. Paul

Hi Paul :) On Foam Board, I normally use a square stick at least 4 inches long and epoxy it to the foam board, poke holes in the paper so the epoxy will get down to the foam, also you can epoxy some plywood to the foam board, also poke some small holes in the paper so the epoxy gets to the foam as well, hope that helps, Chellie

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3275/...e4f8313cbb.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3043/...268919d737.jpg

AEAJR 07-29-2017 08:01 PM

CHELLIE

You started this thread. And it is still loaded with good information. But some of the motors have changed and some of the mounts have changed. Certainly the GWS stick mounted brushed motors are not seen as often as they used to be.

Out runners are more powerful, smaller and now we have outrunners in a can.

Any new tips for people?

Anyone else have any tips to offer? Let's update this discussion.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:33 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05136 seconds with 7 queries