WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Power Systems (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   How Do I Mount My Outrunner Motor ? (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39483)

tom1968 10-10-2008 04:58 PM

Yes, right/down thrust works the same way with electric power as with nitro or gas.

Conveluted condor 10-10-2008 05:23 PM

Whats the formula /rule of thumb to acheive proper offset? I don't believe it's built in to the firewall on this arf.

Dr Kiwi 10-10-2008 06:02 PM

I dragged out some high school math from the '60's and found that for a 50mm wide firewall or motor mount plate, to get 3 degrees right offset, the left side needs to be ~2.6mm forward of the right. Obviously, for downthrust, the top edge needs to be ~2.6mm ahead of the bottom edge.

50mm*sin 3 = 50mm*0.052 = 2.62mm

Conveluted condor 10-10-2008 06:10 PM

So 3 degrees is the magic number? Regardless of motor torque? Thats it? I feel silly. I've built a number of kits and they all have the offset pre arranged when the fire wall is installed. Now I know. Thank you. Hopefully I can get this hot rod in the air before the snow flys and I have to mount ski's. lol

Dr Kiwi 10-10-2008 09:05 PM

I don't know if 3 degrees is "the gold standard" but it is a number I've often seen mentioned.

CHELLIE 10-10-2008 09:53 PM


Originally Posted by Conveluted condor (Post 488228)
Do you need a offset angle for torque on outrunners like you do with nitro motors? I'm retro fitting my GP super sportster with a Himaxx out runnerIt came with the mount but I had to build a stand off box to get the shaft to the end of the cowl. I don't know about if offset is reqired or not before I afix it to the fire wall. Help!

Hi, The General Rule of Thumb with Electrics, is to use the same down thrust and right thrust that the MFG. recomends for a Nitro plane, and fine tune from there, Hope that helps, Chellie

celticflyer 10-27-2008 01:22 AM

YES

CHELLIE 12-05-2008 01:17 AM

Here is a little info on the bell motors, to help to keep them from spinning in the motor mount, and breaking the wires, hope that helps, Chellie

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail

MOUNTING OPTIONS: A firewall mount and aluminum stick mount with heat sink are included, along with two prop nuts and a washer. Always check the tightness of all motor set screws and motor mount screws when installing motors. The motor set screws require a 1.5mm Allen wrench.
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1251/...0c495383a5.jpg
Some experienced flyers who post on the 'Wattflyer' forums suggest using a little 'JB Weld for metal' to secure the aluminum stick mount to the motor tube. This prevents it from working loose and spinning in the mount. Be very careful not to get any on the shaft and bearing though

Ellis1 12-05-2008 02:25 AM

Here's my HZ Super Cub Mount
 
3 Attachment(s)
Here's a simple mount using plywood and SS bolts and nuts. The thrust angle is infinitely adjustable.

Ellis

CHELLIE 12-05-2008 03:21 AM


Originally Posted by Ellis1 (Post 517064)
Here's a simple mount using plywood and SS bolts and nuts. The thrust angle is infinitely adjustable.

Ellis

Great Idea Ellis :ws: Thank you for adding to the Thread, Take care, Chellie

Kraft71 12-11-2008 04:26 AM

I'm new to electrics myself, but I don't think the type of motor (glow or elec.) would influence whether or not you need an offset. I think that would be a function of the airframe design, since the P effect is what makes offset necessary in the first place. Some airframe designs are more sensitive to offset than others, with tail draggers being the worst in my experience. I am putting a degree or two in the Cessna Cardinal I'm outfitting now. It's my first electric attempt, so we shall see how successful I am.

Merry Christmas!

Gale.

CHELLIE 12-11-2008 04:29 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 521183)
I'm new to electrics myself, but I don't think the type of motor (glow or elec.) would influence whether or not you need an offset. I think that would be a function of the airframe design, since the P effect is what makes offset necessary in the first place. Some airframe designs are more sensitive to offset than others, with tail draggers being the worst in my experience. I am putting a degree or two in the Cessna Cardinal I'm outfitting now. It's my first electric attempt, so we shall see how successful I am.

Merry Christmas!

Gale.

Hi Gale :ws: what type of motor, esc, prop and lipo are you using on your cessna cardinal, Inquiring minds would like to know :D ;-) take care, Chellie

Kraft71 12-12-2008 06:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
At this point, I am using an Emax CF2812 purchased from "HongKongFluie" on Ebay. Got an APC 7x5 electric prop and a couple of 11.1Volt, 2000MAH lipos to begin with, and an assortment of ESCs also acquired cheaply from Ebay Hong Kong providers. So far I have been lucky, and all of the vendors shipped promptly and the merchandise has been just as advertised. I am sure I will eventually get burned. Just won a nice Castle Phoenix 25 though, so may use that. Also bought a "Watts UP" wattmeter on the Bay and when it gets here, I will attempt to determine the best set up. LIke I say, I'm new to all this electric stuff, so have bunch to learn. The airframe is a Midwest Cessna Foam Cardinal I have had since the 1970s. ( 46" span, 290 sq. in. and 23-35 oz. ) Designed for .049 to .15 glow. These haven't been made in years, but they were among the very early original ARFs. Bought two, and used the original with a Kraft brick 3 channel with an OS 15 up front. Flew it on small fields and "schoolyards" for years. Still have the wing! With a .15, it was a strong performer. Added a hardwood spar to the wing for extra strength. Since I still have it, it must have worked, huh?

Fashioned a motor mount out of 1/8 lite ply, and got it installed last night. Still have to paint the moulded foam airframe, and install the radio. (Spektrum 7 probably, using full 4 channels )

I have downloaded a software program called "Motorcalc" I am sure all are familiar with except me. Mentioned it to the Electric guys at my local hobby shop (Graves RC) yesterday though, and they seemed to doubt it's accuracy. Anybody got an opinion? (Before I pay for it!)

Will update.

Here's the first Cardinal with the OS .15.

CHELLIE 12-13-2008 05:09 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 522209)
At this point, I am using an Emax CF2812 purchased from "HongKongFluie" on Ebay. Got an APC 7x5 electric prop and a couple of 11.1Volt, 2000MAH lipos to begin with, and an assortment of ESCs also acquired cheaply from Ebay Hong Kong providers. So far I have been lucky, and all of the vendors shipped promptly and the merchandise has been just as advertised. I am sure I will eventually get burned. Just won a nice Castle Phoenix 25 though, so may use that. Also bought a "Watts UP" wattmeter on the Bay and when it gets here, I will attempt to determine the best set up. LIke I say, I'm new to all this electric stuff, so have bunch to learn. The airframe is a Midwest Cessna Foam Cardinal I have had since the 1970s. ( 46" span, 290 sq. in. and 23-35 oz. ) Designed for .049 to .15 glow. These haven't been made in years, but they were among the very early original ARFs. Bought two, and used the original with a Kraft brick 3 channel with an OS 15 up front. Flew it on small fields and "schoolyards" for years. Still have the wing! With a .15, it was a strong performer. Added a hardwood spar to the wing for extra strength. Since I still have it, it must have worked, huh?

Fashioned a motor mount out of 1/8 lite ply, and got it installed last night. Still have to paint the moulded foam airframe, and install the radio. (Spektrum 7 probably, using full 4 channels )

I have downloaded a software program called "Motorcalc" I am sure all are familiar with except me. Mentioned it to the Electric guys at my local hobby shop (Graves RC) yesterday though, and they seemed to doubt it's accuracy. Anybody got an opinion? (Before I pay for it!)

Will update.

Here's the first Cardinal with the OS .15.

Hi Kraft. the cf2812 is a nice little motor, but it wont be enough power for your Plane, may i suggest using this motor, and a 40 amp esc, this ESC has a 3 amp bec that will carry the electrical load of 4 servos, it will give you all the power you need, hope that helps, Chellie


http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...r_(Eq_AXi_2808

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...eed_Controller




Input Voltage : 7.4V~11.1V (2~3S Li-po)
KV : 1400 rpm/V within 10%
Nb. of turns :22 Delta
Max. efficiency current : 10~15A
Current capacity : 22A/60s
Internal Resistance : 76 mohm
No Load current @ 7V: 1.19A
Dimensions : 35mm X 30mm / 1.38in X 1.18in
Shaft diameter : 4mm / 0.16in
Weight : 77g / 2.72oz
Number of poles/magnets : 14
Recommended model weight : 600~1300g / 21~45oz
Power equivalent : .12,2stroke


<TABLE width=520><TBODY><TR><TD>HXT 35-30-B 1400kv http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ges/5stars.gif
Tony McMichael

</TD></TR><TR><TD>I tested this motor in a 650gr. built-up cessna with a W.S. 41" with a HXT D9 2200ma 3 cell LiPo. First prop which motor recomends 8-6, I used a APC E prop-

W.O.T. readings
start volts= 12.2
Amps= 30.9
V. drop= 10.8
Watts= 345.8
RMP= 10,822

50% throttle readings
start Volts= 12.2
Amps= 11.5
V. drop= 11.5
watts= 134
RPM= 8200

Next I tried a APC 8-4 E prop

W.O.T. readings
start Volts= 12.4
Amps= 21
V. drop= 11.1
watts= 246.5
RPM= 12,831

50% throttle readings
start volts= 12.4
Amps= 9.7
V. drop= 11.6
Watts= 112
RPM= 9,966

The paper work that came with motor claims 340 watts and can take 30amps, and they DID meet there goal.
I have 2 of these motors and this is an excellant motor with a excellant price and would recomend it to every one!
Awesome batteries also I might add!!!
Thanks again UH!!

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Kraft71 12-13-2008 10:40 PM

Hey Chellie.
Thanks for the good advice. I'm livin' and learnin'. I have a Mystery Pentium 40 Amp controller also and these other two motors:Mystery 3632-3500 and a KA22-20L Kv1050. Any chance of using this set up, since I already have it? I have just been accumulating a little gear, not really knowing what applications it would be suitable for. Appreciate your opinions. Thanks.

Krafty

CHELLIE 12-14-2008 12:15 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 523145)
Hey Chellie.
Thanks for the good advice. I'm livin' and learnin'. I have a Mystery Pentium 40 Amp controller also and these other two motors:Mystery 3632-3500 and a KA22-20L Kv1050. Any chance of using this set up, since I already have it? I have just been accumulating a little gear, not really knowing what applications it would be suitable for. Appreciate your opinions. Thanks.

Krafty

Hi Krafty :ws: the Mystery 3632 3500kv is to much rpm, you can only use a very small prop with it, or it will draw a lot of amps, the KA22-20L 1050KV is Perfect, direct drive, get a 3mm prop adapter for it, a 8" or 9" prop with a 4 to 6 pitch, should be fine, as it will take up to a 11x5.5 prop

the Mystery motor 3500 kv is good for a heli or you can use a gear box with a 3 to 1 reduction ratio, and use it in a plane, or you can mount a prop adapter to it with about a 4.7 x 4x2 APC prop, and use it Direct drive in a Funjet, or a wing. Hope that helps, Chellie

http://www.rc-sailplane.com.au/acces...l.php?accID=51

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...for-3mm/Detail

http://www.apcprop.com/cgi-bin/store...inc=6a&product=+

Kraft71 12-14-2008 01:51 AM

WOW! You're good! Thanks. Guess it's time to let the smoke out of this stuff and see what happens.

Merry Christmas

Krafty

CHELLIE 12-14-2008 01:57 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 523249)
WOW! You're good! Thanks. Guess it's time to let the smoke out of this stuff and see what happens.

Merry Christmas

Krafty

I have learned all of this info right here on Wattflyers, I am just passing on what I have Learned from Others :D Take care, and Happy Holidays to you and Yours, Chellie

Kraft71 12-15-2008 01:43 AM

HI Chellie,

Checked out your YouTube. Nice Katana. That you with the long red hair?? You're a chick!?? Shiver me timbers! Fooled me. How'd you get into modeling?

CHELLIE 12-15-2008 04:11 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 523755)
HI Chellie,

Checked out your YouTube. Nice Katana. That you with the long red hair?? You're a chick!?? Shiver me timbers! Fooled me. How'd you get into modeling?

Hi Kraft :ws: Yes I am Female ;-) I have been involved with Model Aviation since i was about 12 years old, I am 54 now, thank goodness i dont look my age :D Rc has keep me looking young :p> I love this stuff, my father bought a pt 19 cox control line plane, and I loved that so much, i never left model aviation, Take care, Chellie

Kraft71 12-16-2008 03:20 AM

This hobby never ceases to amaze me, nor the people in it. I have met the nicest people in my 50 years of modeling. Wish I could fly as good as you! You go girl! Keep giving me that good advice! Got my watt meter today. Have to play with it a bit and learn how to use it. How about the Motorcalc software. Any opinion?

Krafty

CHELLIE 12-16-2008 03:32 AM


Originally Posted by Kraft71 (Post 524439)
This hobby never ceases to amaze me, nor the people in it. I have met the nicest people in my 50 years of modeling. Wish I could fly as good as you! You go girl! Keep giving me that good advice! Got my watt meter today. Have to play with it a bit and learn how to use it. How about the Motorcalc software. Any opinion?

Krafty

Since you have the Wattmeter now, I dont really think you need Motorcalc :ws: with bigger planes, keep your Motor KV at about 1000, with small foamie profile planes, a kv of about 1500kv seems to work fine, and if you want to go fast :D a inrunner motor of about a 2845 with a 2700 kv will work great for like a FunJet, Stryker delta, or a good size wing, with a 6x4 apc prop on a 3 cell Lipo or a 5x5 apc prop on 4 cell lipo, I have a FunJet doing 103 mph ;-) just ask a lot of Questions like i did :p> and there are great people here that are very willing to help you out, Take care, Chellie

NAME: CHELLIE
SPEED: 103.00 MPH

PLANE: Funjet
MOTOR: 2845 HXT 2700kv
ESC: 80 Amp Turnigy
BATTERY: 4 cell LoongMax 2500mah 30C
PROP: 5x5 APC

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26852<!-- / message --><!-- edit note -->

LectricPlane 01-04-2009 10:14 PM

BL Motor Mount
 
4 Attachment(s)
Here is one I just put together for my PZ Spit.
Pics below.

12mm Balsa rod push formed into a 10mm hole in the ply firewall, the rest is reasonably clear in the pics, I think.

The through mounted balsa standoffs make it easy to set the angle and length.

Can't wait to get it in the air!

Destroyer of airplanes 01-04-2009 10:58 PM

3 Attachment(s)
This is how I did it on my GWS P-40. This system makes it simple to set the down and right thrust and precisely align the spinner and cowling.

Paul:D

CHELLIE 01-05-2009 01:21 AM


Originally Posted by LectricPlane (Post 536980)
Here is one I just put together for my PZ Spit.
Pics below.

12mm Balsa rod push formed into a 10mm hole in the ply firewall, the rest is reasonably clear in the pics, I think.

The through mounted balsa standoffs make it easy to set the angle and length.

Can't wait to get it in the air!


Originally Posted by Destroyer of airplanes (Post 537010)
This is how I did it on my GWS P-40. This system makes it simple to set the down and right thrust and precisely align the spinner and cowling.

Paul:D

Hi Lectric Plane :ws: Hi Paul :ws: nice Looking motor mounts, Thank you for sharing, Chellie


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:31 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05300 seconds with 7 queries