WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Beginners (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   new-be ?? (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65972)

x-nitro 03-04-2012 03:45 PM

new-be ??

hey guys and gals !! stay with me here { new-be} first thing , im a 20 yr veteran to r/c planes/heli's,,,but ALL nitro :blah:..i have a few questions on this battery stuff..im leaning towards the Great Planes Performance Series® Extra 300 SP ARF..ive done alot of internet reading on this plane and seems to be great..and alot of electric planes /motors/batteries..MOST planes only require ONE lipo batttery,,why does this set up require 2 ? can i do a one battery set up ? im also going with the hitec optic sport w 4-hs485 deluxe servos [always been a hitec fan] Never have had radio failure or n e thing !! im also wondering--the set up on the great planes page is callin for a 15x7 e prop ??
really ?? i really prefer tons of power vs alot of speed--15x6=14x6 ??
im also lookin at the blitz rc work G4 quad intelligent charger, just in case i HAVE to use 2 batteries :( thanks for ur time and help me ditch this nito @#$T !!!:D:D

xmech2k 03-04-2012 04:45 PM

Welcome to WF, x-nitro! I'm still somewhat new to this electron business myself, and some experts will hopefully help out here, but I'll give my thoughts for a starter.

Without digging into the instructions for the plane, I saw they are asking for 2 3-cell batts. My guess is they need them connected in series to up the voltage and get the required power from the motor. It may be possible to use a single 6-cell battery, but in rare cases, there might not be a space big enough for that.