WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Beginners (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Aircraft reccomendations for new flyers (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26384)

carld2002 11-05-2007 09:20 PM

Aircraft reccomendations for new flyers

I am looking to buy a r/c plane in the next couple weeks.

I have pretty much decided on electric flight because it will allow me to fly pretty much anywhere.

I have $80-150 to spend.

I do not have much experience with r/c aircraft but I do not want a trainer for these reasons:

-I am going to university next year and will have no money to upgrade to a better one for a few years.
-I am a real world pilot and therefore, I may be able to apply alot of it to r/c flying.

For those reasons, I would like recomendations for an experienced flyer. I want the best aircraft for the money, not the easiest to fly.

I am asking for your reccommendations for aircraft that fit into these categories:

-Must have ailerons, elevators, and preferably rudder (though rudder is not necessary.
-Must have potential for aerobatics, plus have the capability to be fairly fast

-The more controll surfaces, the better.

-The ability to take off and land by itself is much, much prefered.

-I do not care if it is a kit or a prebuilt... I have experience with model kits and I think that I could do a kit without any problems (Might even prefer a kit for the fun)

-For the $80-$150, It must include everything I need to fly it.

Also, two questions: Can you explain to me the advantages and disadvantages of ducted fan over normal engines?

Can you explain what the difference is between the channels? example: 2ch, 3ch....

Thank you

Liquidity 11-05-2007 09:56 PM