WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   WWI Era (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   WWI planes (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=259)

Cookie 08-20-2008 03:48 AM

degreen 60, it must be going around because I had the same problem with my little HET P-40 this morning. Three hand launch attempts and I finally got it right on the fourth try.

dbcisco 08-20-2008 04:23 AM

From what I recall, in WWI the Germans painted their planes all sorts of different coloor schemes. Did the Allies have the same tempra-ment?

Cookie 08-20-2008 04:33 AM

The Germans actually painted their planes in color schemes based on the squadron that they were in. Some painted the tail yellow so that if they saw another plane with a yellow tail they knew it was part of their squadron. If there was a mix of squadrons in the air, they could tell who belonged to their squadron. They didn't have radios, so they relied on color to differentiate. I don't recall seeing many photos of allied planes that had "fancy" paint work on them.

dbcisco 08-20-2008 12:10 PM

Started on the Sopwith.
Cutting the slots for the control rods and slipped with the hot knife:mad:.
Glad that foam is easy to fill in. It needed a paint job any way.

WWI Ace 08-21-2008 12:45 AM

You guys don't even want my red DR1 to come out!!! Steve

scalercflyer 08-21-2008 01:08 AM

Scared!
 
I ain't afraid Steve! :p> Bring it out! :p> My superior flying skills will win the day! :D Martin

degreen60 08-21-2008 02:20 AM

He is afaird to bring it out. I got the SE5a fixed and when up tonight looking for him.

scalercflyer 08-21-2008 03:29 AM

Look out!
 
Check your six Steve!!!! Martin

dbcisco 08-21-2008 03:34 AM

As long as he hasn't got a bomber or Zep, I'm safe at the factory:D

dbcisco 08-25-2008 06:59 AM

Got the Sopwith's fuselage together, filled the melted spot, sanded and painted it.

I am about to put the motor mount on but...

Stock mounting has no offset. Should I add some or will it fly well without offset?

Cookie 08-25-2008 08:10 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Add some offset. I glued a flat piece of light plywood to the front flat area of the fuselage where the motor mounts. Then I used the "radial mounting adapter" (see photo) motor mount that screws onto the back of the outrunner then attached it to the plywood, placing washers under the mount points so that the motor would have right and down off set.

dbcisco 08-25-2008 08:25 AM

That's what I thought. I am starting with 3 degrees right and down. I may use bass wood stock since this thing can use a little nose weight anyway. It will also let me screw on different motors without stripping out the holes, one thing I hate about foam and balsa. I already have some 3 degree basswood from the Jenny project.

Cookie 08-25-2008 09:14 AM

That should do it.

degreen60 08-25-2008 11:01 AM


Originally Posted by dbcisco (Post 462992)
I am about to put the motor mount on but...
Stock mounting has no offset. Should I add some or will it fly well without offset?

How much offset you need depends on how much thrust your motor has. Sence I do not use the stock setup on any of my planes I put the motor on then fly to find out if I need offset. If on WOT the planes tries to loop but glides good without power then I know I need down thrust on the motor. I try to set my motors so with WOT I have a slight climb.

Cookie 08-25-2008 03:53 PM

degreen60's suggestion would work too. Test fly it first and if it tends to bank left or wants to loop under full throttle, then you know that you need to add down and right thrust into the motor mount, depending on what it does.

dbcisco 08-25-2008 05:42 PM

I guess my idea of a plate epoxied on with an angled shim between plate and motor will work then. Because I can reach behind the firewall, bolts instead of screws would be a good idea.

Cookie 08-26-2008 01:07 AM

I use 4-40 screws with blind nuts. Use whatever size you can work with and use blind nuts because you can epoxy them in place and not worry about them falling out if you unscrew the bolts. Like mounting a wing.

7car7 09-02-2008 09:00 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, seems this thread is a great way to get everyones attention, :),
so I thought I'd show off my Albatros - it's ready to fly. (just need to brush up on flying my other plane first, been a couple months.)

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...d=1#post467648

I'll be puting more details on it, but it's basically ready to go.

Cookie 09-02-2008 09:28 PM

7car7, Looks GREAT !!!! I bookmarked your link for future reference.

dbcisco 09-02-2008 09:37 PM

Awesome! I don't think I would ever have the patience or talent to do anything that nice.

7car7 09-02-2008 09:56 PM

Thanks guys! I'm so nervous to fly it. I'm sure things will go fine, it's got a lot of things going for it to be better than it's original form.

This plane came in at OVER 3 ounces lighter than before, with LARGER wings, and I was using the wrong propeller for the motor I'm using. It should "float" compared to how it was at first. But I'm still shy about getting it in the air. I'll be choosing my largest field available, early in the morning, with NO ONE around. :<:

degreen60 09-02-2008 11:21 PM


Originally Posted by 7car7 (Post 467711)
Thanks guys! I'm so nervous to fly it. I'm sure things will go fine, it's got a lot of things going for it to be better than it's original form.

This plane came in at OVER 3 ounces lighter than before, with LARGER wings, and I was using the wrong propeller for the motor I'm using. It should "float" compared to how it was at first. But I'm still shy about getting it in the air. I'll be choosing my largest field available, early in the morning, with NO ONE around. :<:

And TALL grass to dump it into when you get into trouble. My hay field has saved my planes more than a few time.

Cookie 09-02-2008 11:37 PM

I've found that if I don't take pictures of one of my planes before I fly it, it crashes. If I take pictures first, then they fly good. Superstition? maybe. But you've got plenty of pictures of it, so go out and give it a try. Pick a nice spot to fly, take a couple of deep breaths to relax and fly it like you've been flying it for years. Oh, and make sure it's CG is correct both front and back and side to side.

**neons** 09-02-2008 11:48 PM

7car7
Beautiful job. I wish you good luck on the maiden. I hope to build another WWI plane over the winter and that is the one I want. The problem is they all have the most beautiful color schemes I have seen in my books. I hope you can get some one to do a video. If not, try this. I use a helmetcam or hat cam with a small camera That is how I get my videos. Works terrific.
Happy Flying,
**Neons** Bob

WWI Ace 09-04-2008 12:18 AM

Sorry I haven't been around much lately guys. I'm working 60-66 hours a week right now. I can't even find time to fly, much less build!! Oh well, I guess it'll slack up eventually!! I guess with so many people unemployed I have no right to whine. Keep me updated on what you guys are doing!! Steve

50+AirYears 09-04-2008 12:52 AM

When I was a few years younger, I could get a lot of building done after my wife went to sleep. Just didn't pay much attention to TV, wasn't on any websites (weren't any), worked my 50 to 65 hour weeks, and got along just fine on 5 to 5.5 hours sleep a day. Now, if I don't get at least 7 per day, I feel it. Add to that a couple hours per day on several wbsites, and occassional webcam visits with the grandaughter, I'm lucky to get an hour per day of building during weekdays and maybe 2 hours to 2.5 per day on weekends. Even most of my vacations are spent traveling to see that girl, so my productivity is down. And today I got word overtime at work is back on for a few projects got dumped on me. HAven't had any significant OT since 2006.

Oh, wll, I don't really have any more room for planes till a few more succumb to natural selection. Then I'll have more room.

Cookie 09-04-2008 08:12 AM

WWI ace, take some of that overtime and set it aside for another plane.

7car7 09-04-2008 06:08 PM


Originally Posted by 50+AirYears (Post 468392)
Oh, wll, I don't really have any more room for planes till a few more succumb to natural selection. Then I'll have more room.

I'm getting that problem right now too. I've GOT to make a hanger system in the garage (maybe a rope with a pulley) to haul them up out of the way. Right now I've got them sitting on the hood of a car I'm restoring, (hood is covered in foam and cardboard, so it's protected - currently on hold due to a huge outdoor project going on), but hope to be on the car again very soon - need to hoist the planes!

Cookie 09-04-2008 06:29 PM

I just tie a string looped and hang them from the rafters in the garage. I use nylon string, not thread, string. (Home Depot).

degreen60 09-04-2008 06:43 PM

I hang my planes with coat hangers.

50+AirYears 09-04-2008 07:22 PM

I did hang some planes from the garage rafters, but it didn't work out too well. I then screwed some vertical 1 X 3s to the garage inside walls and drilled some angled holes for 3/8" dowels to keep some of the wings and fuses off the floor, but I still have several planes, RC and CL, in the shed with the snow blower and other yard equipment and supplies, a bunch of RC, CL, and FF models in the garage on the rack, floor, and workbench, and another bunch of the above and model rockets in the house. Can't put planes in the garage rafters or house mini-attics because that's where most of my kit inventory is. Basement laundry room is full of tools and tool oxes, and only a couple CL and Rockets. Also several decades of model mags, plans, and article copies. basement Rec room valances have numerous 1/2A CL and a bunch of FF rubber power and gliders hanging, and the larger RC jobs are either standing against the walls or parked on the floor.

Kind of funny. The house was just the right size while the wife and I were raising a son, but now that he is out on his own, the house is just to small for the two of us.

Cookie 09-04-2008 07:46 PM

If you want to get really fancy, they make a device similar to a pulley that is spring loaded with a hook on it. Most people use them to put up hanging plants. You pull it down to water the plant then let it go back up to it's original position. That way, you can keep the airplanes hanging up higher so you don't bump your head on them walk you walk into them. ::o

scalercflyer 09-05-2008 02:39 AM

Degreens planes
 
Yeah I'll bet you hang them up degreen..... after they're full of Spandau bullets and too heavy to fly :eek::D:D!.......hahahahahah Martin

scalercflyer 09-05-2008 02:44 AM

Kits etc
 
Yes 50+ you are my kinda Guy..... kits, kits and more kits!!!! Mine are in the rafters above my basement shop (16 feet wide X 26 feet long!), all 32 kits!. BTW, I don't have enough! I'm just saving for my retirement!! Martin

WWI Ace 09-11-2008 01:15 AM

I hope all you guys are fine!! I'm still working crazy hours on top of the youngest just started football. Now I get off work at 5pm and he practices from 5:30-7:00 three days a week with games on Fridays and Saturdays. Oh well at least he enjoys it and thats really all that matters!! Will keep you guys updated. Steve

degreen60 09-11-2008 01:25 AM

Something broke on my eflight Jenny and it spiraled down into a tree. After I got it out of the tree one wing, elevators, and rudder were broken off the plane. I repaired the wing, made new rudder and elevators out of pink foam. I sanded the pink foam thinner and it is stiffer than the Jenny foam ones. To hide the repairs and fold marks in the fuselage and wings I repainted as a US Navy Jenny. As soon as I finish adding brace wire to the tail I will post a picture.

7car7 09-11-2008 03:54 PM

/\/\ Sounds like some great repairs, and a very cool (and rare it seems) scheme. Can't wait to see it.

Any idea what caused the plane to drop? I don't have a Jenny, but keep thinking I should get one some day before they're no longer available. I just keep all this info in the back of my brain for later!

degreen60 09-11-2008 05:05 PM


Originally Posted by 7car7 (Post 473599)
/\/\ Any idea what caused the plane to drop? I don't have a Jenny, but keep thinking I should get one some day before they're no longer available. I just keep all this info in the back of my brain for later!

I suppect the wing brace wire on the side that broke was not glued well enough at the center strut and let the wing fold in a loop. My brace wires were installed like the real plane in a double X on each side not like the model plans show so they need to be fastened at both ends of the middle strut. I used just a drop of white glue to hold the brace wire at the middle struts. This time I used a little more glue.

I still see the Jenny for sale for around $50.

7car7 09-11-2008 06:06 PM

How come white glue, and not CA?

degreen60 09-11-2008 06:40 PM

2 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by 7car7 (Post 473672)
How come white glue, and not CA?

I use white glue to attach my pull pull and brace wires. If I need to make a small change I take a cotton swab wet with hot water and hold against the glue joint. It will become soft and you can slip the thread.

Here are pictures of my Navy Jenny. I am thinking about making removable floats for it.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09639 seconds with 7 queries