Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Foamies
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 11-26-2010, 03:56 PM   #1
Ron Miller

Friends: (0)
Default Harbor Freight Cub Upgrade

OK, a newbie here with what's probably a no-brainer for you guys who've been into electric planes for a while. Me, it's been 25 or so years since I was into RC, then with the glow engines.

I've been flying a HobbyZone SuperCub LP recently, getting back into RC planes. No problems, plenty of power, and I've been able to get it up and back down with only minor incidents, getting better thanks to practice and FMS!

I had a friend pick up a Harbor Freight Cub for me recently, powered by a brushed motor turning a 7X2 prop, and an 8.4 volt 600 mah nimh battery pack. It's about a 38" wingspan and around 16 ounces or so AUW. I've replaced the receiver with an AR6200 that came with my Spektrum 6 channel in order to rid myself of the weird transmitter that came with the Cub, and was about to upgrade the power system to the following:

Motor: Turnigy TR 28-26 1650 KV Brushless Outrunner
Battery: Turnigy 1300 mah 3S 20C Lipo pack
ESC: Turnigy AE-25A Brushless ESC

And, planned on running a 7X4 Prop with this setup. I'm pretty sure this would work, my AUW will be somewhere around 16-18 ounces with this as I'm figuring.