Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-28-2007, 02:40 PM   #1
Sam_K

Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot 
Friends: (0)
Default What exactly does Mode 1 / Mode 2 transmitter mean?

Hi all,

Complete noob to RC here, I've had a Silverlit X-Twin for about two weeks and have been bitten by the RC flyer bug pretty hard.

Been doing a lot of reading on the Internet and have come across a few mentions of Mode 1 and Mode 2 transmitters.

From the limited info I've read, my understanding is that Mode 1 has the throttle on the right stick and Mode 2 has the throttle on the left stick of the controller.

Can someone please explain to me (or provide a link that explains) exactly what the differences are between Mode 1 and Mode 2 controllers?

Also, is the mode something that is hard wired into your typical controller or is the mode typically changeable by the user? I notice that the sales info for a lot of transmitters doesn't mention what mode they are so I am thinking it can be selected by the user during set-up?

I personally prefer Mode 2 (throttle on the left stick). Are there any surprises I should look out for when choosing a transmitter? Or can I typically expect to have any recent model of controller operate in mode 2?
Old 04-28-2007, 02:49 PM   #2
Murocflyer
WAA-08 Pilot #1

Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Globetrotter Pilot  AV Contest  AP Contest Winner 

Sam,

Check this out here.